We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good customer service”
Review of Hotel Wilder Mann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Wilder Mann
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Booked a room very late online. Surroundings were very nice, Passau is a great town. We were met by a very friendly receptionist. Gave us a room overlooking the courtyard. Room was a bit small and outdated but ok. In the morning there was no hot water. We had no time to await repair and had to leave. Without asking we were offered a discount on our room. That was a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elstwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Many of the other buildings in town are still under renovation, but Wilder Mann appears to be fully restored. The location is good, but parking will be a problem for guests with vehicles. Spaces in town are hourly only; we were directed to a lot across the river for 4 E per day, a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Breakfast is excellent. Our room was tiny.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emkay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Hotel Wilder Mann has a perfect location. In the center of "Old Town", 50 meter from the Danube. It is an historical place and has been a guesthouse for centuries. A lot of famous people have stayed there, "Sissi" may be the most known.
Apart from the location, another highlight is the breakfast room,on the top floor with a wonderful view of the Old Town. The breakfast by the way is excellent with a lot of options.
There are 49 rooms with different sizes and prices. We stayed at a the cheapest (80E) ant it was quite small, but considering our short two days stay.It was OK!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

after the June 2013 flood we were afraid our stay would have to be cancelled due to the damages caused by the water. instead we were more than surprised to find the three upper levels of the hotel in perfect shape while passing through the ground floor merely showed the damages that the Danube and Inn rivers had left behind. the hotel is trying its best to recover from the aftermaths of the flood and has successfully invested in room design and staff to make you feel comfortable. both our room and the value for money buffet breakfast suited our needs perfectly. once there is no flood the location is probably the best in Passau.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ventus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

While we had a large and comfortable room in this riverside property, it was clear that the June flood had not been totally restored. Furniture was stacked in hallways, the Wifi did not work and the front desk person was less than competent. While we had guaranteed the room with a credit card, upon checkout no card would work with their machine (I had seen this happen early with a German customer). The front desk lady demanded cash only and wouldn't call anyone to fix the problem because it was Sunday. Thank goodness I found an ATM in Passau that was open on Sunday to get additional Euros.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that faithfully recreate the 19th century ambiance of the property. Our la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichWoodinville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed for two nights, the hotel is in a lovely old building, part of it is the glass museum, our room was small but ok, bathroom needs a fan.
Free, fast Internet, parking nearby at €8.40 for 24 hours (you can unload your car in front of the hotel) breakfast was ok (€ 7)
In walking distance of lots of restaurants by the Danube.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin-Felixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Passau was the starting point of our cycle along the Danube to Vienna. Hotel is located in a series of old buildings which have been restored. Famous glass museum is situated on ground floor near reception desk. There is a range of rooms available, we would appear to have been in a basic double which was small but clean and adequate for one night stay. Bathroom very small and basic with poor ventilation. Location of hotel very good for sight seeing, within walking distance of all main places of interest. Breakfest is available in hall on top floor so view over roof tops of Passau. There is a very good buffet breakfest with plenty of choice. The staff in hotel were very pleasent and helpful. We had no problem leaving bikes in hotel while we walked the town.

Room Tip: Just make sure which type of room you are getting when making reservation. There is no bar in hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residenz Passau
Hotel Residenz Passau
#1 of 24 in Passau
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centro Hotel Weisser Hase
0.3 mi away
Hotel Passauer Wolf
Hotel Passauer Wolf
#6 of 24 in Passau
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koenig
Hotel Koenig
#4 of 24 in Passau
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
#2 of 24 in Passau
150 reviews
0.7 mi away
IBB Hotel Passau City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilder Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilder Mann

Address: Am Rathausplatz | Schrottgasse 2, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Price Range: £71 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wilder Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Wilder Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing