We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice central hotel”
Review of Hotel Wilder Mann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wilder Mann
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A very nice hotel right in the center of the old town
Connected with glass museum located just next to the Town Hall and the River.
Very nice old style hotel, still a moisty earthy smell (the city was flooded last year)
Room was good, big (superior room), with old style beed and a small winther garden to sit in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Danreichardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Wilder Mann
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel has a friendly staff who are assisting with whatever questions/wishes come up. The room was clean and because it's in a centuries old building, small. It looked on the inner courtyard and never noticed any noises coming inside from other rooms or from the streets.

The breakfast is at the restaurant on the top of the hotel with an excellent view on the Passau Castle, the neighbouring City Hall.

The hotel is located in the heart of the city, next to the City Hall and across from the river from the Passau Castle. I didn't notice any parking facilities. It's worthwhile to park your car at the "Bahnhofstrasse" parking house (4,80 EUR/24 hrs in June 2014) from where you can get to the hotel with a shuttle bus service (included into the parking ticket, doesn't run on public holidays) or on foot (ca. 15-20 minutes walking time).

You shouldn't forget to visit the co-located glass museum.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fotos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

A beautiful hotel at a great location. Rooms are traditionally decorated, but Wifi works perfectly. No real lobby if that's what you want. The small double is small, because the bead is large by European standards. Pay more, have a larger room. If I don't stay at this hotel the next time in Passau, I'll still have my breakfast in the last floor diner - a beautiful room with beautiful view. Parking isn't easy in this cramped old town, but 5 minute's walk to 4 € a day parking is not too much exercise.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb over your partners feet to the wall side of the bed, not book the che...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oobubuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Booked a room very late online. Surroundings were very nice, Passau is a great town. We were met by a very friendly receptionist. Gave us a room overlooking the courtyard. Room was a bit small and outdated but ok. In the morning there was no hot water. We had no time to await repair and had to leave. Without asking we were offered a discount on our room. That was a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elstwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Many of the other buildings in town are still under renovation, but Wilder Mann appears to be fully restored. The location is good, but parking will be a problem for guests with vehicles. Spaces in town are hourly only; we were directed to a lot across the river for 4 E per day, a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Breakfast is excellent. Our room was tiny.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emkay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Hotel Wilder Mann has a perfect location. In the center of "Old Town", 50 meter from the Danube. It is an historical place and has been a guesthouse for centuries. A lot of famous people have stayed there, "Sissi" may be the most known.
Apart from the location, another highlight is the breakfast room,on the top floor with a wonderful view of the Old Town. The breakfast by the way is excellent with a lot of options.
There are 49 rooms with different sizes and prices. We stayed at a the cheapest (80E) ant it was quite small, but considering our short two days stay.It was OK!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

after the June 2013 flood we were afraid our stay would have to be cancelled due to the damages caused by the water. instead we were more than surprised to find the three upper levels of the hotel in perfect shape while passing through the ground floor merely showed the damages that the Danube and Inn rivers had left behind. the hotel is trying its best to recover from the aftermaths of the flood and has successfully invested in room design and staff to make you feel comfortable. both our room and the value for money buffet breakfast suited our needs perfectly. once there is no flood the location is probably the best in Passau.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ventus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residenz Passau
Hotel Residenz Passau
#1 of 24 in Passau
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Weisser Hase
Hotel Weisser Hase
#3 of 24 in Passau
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
#2 of 24 in Passau
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DORMERO Hotel Passau
DORMERO Hotel Passau
#6 of 24 in Passau
103 reviews
0.7 mi away
IBB Hotel Passau City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koenig
Hotel Koenig
#4 of 24 in Passau
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilder Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilder Mann

Address: Am Rathausplatz | Schrottgasse 2, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Price Range: £70 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wilder Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Wilder Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing