We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth The Money”
Review of Hotel Wilder Mann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wilder Mann
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
266 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Money”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Granted, the empress Sissi stayed in this hotel twice and the location is great but, even with a view of the Danube and the Veste Oberhaus, a small, cramped room with a shower barely big enough to turn around in (and I am slim) is not worth the EURO 118 (96 room+14 breakfast+8 parking) that my wife and I paid. Especially when you consider that the mattress on the bed was probably once slept on by one of Sissi's sevants and the WiFi was very slow. A more realistic price for the room we had would have been EURO 50.

Room Tip: Be ready to pay a hefty price if you want a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TourGuide-KEVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    60
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
54
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A very nice hotel right in the center of the old town
Connected with glass museum located just next to the Town Hall and the River.
Very nice old style hotel, still a moisty earthy smell (the city was flooded last year)
Room was good, big (superior room), with old style beed and a small winther garden to sit in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danreichardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel has a friendly staff who are assisting with whatever questions/wishes come up. The room was clean and because it's in a centuries old building, small. It looked on the inner courtyard and never noticed any noises coming inside from other rooms or from the streets.

The breakfast is at the restaurant on the top of the hotel with an excellent view on the Passau Castle, the neighbouring City Hall.

The hotel is located in the heart of the city, next to the City Hall and across from the river from the Passau Castle. I didn't notice any parking facilities. It's worthwhile to park your car at the "Bahnhofstrasse" parking house (4,80 EUR/24 hrs in June 2014) from where you can get to the hotel with a shuttle bus service (included into the parking ticket, doesn't run on public holidays) or on foot (ca. 15-20 minutes walking time).

You shouldn't forget to visit the co-located glass museum.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

A beautiful hotel at a great location. Rooms are traditionally decorated, but Wifi works perfectly. No real lobby if that's what you want. The small double is small, because the bead is large by European standards. Pay more, have a larger room. If I don't stay at this hotel the next time in Passau, I'll still have my breakfast in the last floor diner - a beautiful room with beautiful view. Parking isn't easy in this cramped old town, but 5 minute's walk to 4 € a day parking is not too much exercise.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb over your partners feet to the wall side of the bed, not book the che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oobubuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elst, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Booked a room very late online. Surroundings were very nice, Passau is a great town. We were met by a very friendly receptionist. Gave us a room overlooking the courtyard. Room was a bit small and outdated but ok. In the morning there was no hot water. We had no time to await repair and had to leave. Without asking we were offered a discount on our room. That was a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elstwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
210 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Many of the other buildings in town are still under renovation, but Wilder Mann appears to be fully restored. The location is good, but parking will be a problem for guests with vehicles. Spaces in town are hourly only; we were directed to a lot across the river for 4 E per day, a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Breakfast is excellent. Our room was tiny.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emkay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Hotel Wilder Mann has a perfect location. In the center of "Old Town", 50 meter from the Danube. It is an historical place and has been a guesthouse for centuries. A lot of famous people have stayed there, "Sissi" may be the most known.
Apart from the location, another highlight is the breakfast room,on the top floor with a wonderful view of the Old Town. The breakfast by the way is excellent with a lot of options.
There are 49 rooms with different sizes and prices. We stayed at a the cheapest (80E) ant it was quite small, but considering our short two days stay.It was OK!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residenz Passau
Hotel Residenz Passau
#1 of 24 in Passau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Weisser Hase
Hotel Weisser Hase
#3 of 24 in Passau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
#2 of 24 in Passau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Passauer Wolf
Hotel Passauer Wolf
#5 of 24 in Passau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koenig
Hotel Koenig
#4 of 24 in Passau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.7 mi away
IBB Hotel Passau City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilder Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilder Mann

Property: Hotel Wilder Mann
Address: Am Rathausplatz | Schrottgasse 2, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wilder Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Wilder Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing