We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice place, but don't plan on parking there!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spitzberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Spitzberg
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really nice place, but don't plan on parking there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

My children and I stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed this hotel. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Germany. The room was very spacious and clean. Location was within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. My only complaint was the parking. They advertised parking on site; there is an underground garage beneath the hotel. However if we stayed again I would definitely not park there and would rather pay more to park elsewhere. The spaces were so narrow once I got my car in I could barely get out of the car. The morning we left someone else was also trying to get out. She had a bigger car than mine and it took her over 10 minutes of inching back and forth to get out of the spout and out of the garage. If you are arriving by train or bus this is a fine place to stay, but I would advise against parking there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeezerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    36
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
39
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
198 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here on 4th June 2011 for one night. The hotel has been carefully modernised with good quality fittings and is spotlessly clean. It's a five minute walk to the railway station and ten minutes to the centre of town where there are lots of restaurants. Our room was on the first floor at the back and was a decent size with a small balcony. All in all it's a nice small hotel and good value at 77e for the night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Got off to a bad start as Expedia had somehow managed to book me 4 rooms - 3 more than I actually needed. However the English-speaking staff accepted that this was down to Expedia and gave us a nice room on the ground floor, just behind reception. Room was clean and modern, in fact it looked like it had been done up recently. Twin beds pushed together, a bit on the low side but comfortable. Shower/wet room rather than a bath. They didn't have the plug adaptor that the hotel's information brochure promised, but otherwise all fine for a long week end. Breakfast was good - nice choice of cereals, excellent bread and lots of cold meat etc. also a hot option for the hungry. The underground car part wasn't for the faint-hearted: pillars and hard-to-see corners and steeply banked parking spaces. Our rental Jag caught the rough end of one of the pillars, so if you plan to park here, go for the insurance upgrade!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here on our last night of a cycling tour along the Danube, so the hotel was booked as part of the package. Of all the places we stayed, Passau is the most commercialised, probably due to the large number of tourists arriving on cruise boats on the Danube. This gave the town a "cheap" feel (I expected to find "kiss me quick" hats in the tacky tourist shops). The hotel is situated about 10 minutes from the town centre along a busy road, It looks traditional from the outside, but inside it is very modern. The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped. The bathroom was a little on the small side, although it was spotlessly clean, with a wonderful shower. Downside- no air con or fan, even though it was very hot (July). Breakfast was excellent- lots of choice, friendly, efficient service. The hotel has a small bar with a PC and internet connection. The staff were lovely, very helpful. The evening receptionist recommended a few restaurants for dinner, and made us a reservation. If you have to stay in Passau, the Spitzberg is a very good choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

We spent one night in Passau on a weeklong trip to Germany. We found Hotel Spitzberg online and booked through the website. Parking is available for most cars in a small underground garage. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly. One staff member even poured us a beer from the small bar when we arrived back to the hotel late at night, even though the bar was technically closed. Breakfast is very good. Our room was clean and quiet, despite the fact that we had one facing the main road. It is ~10 minutes from the downtown area by foot.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missterious33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed here as part of a cycling holiday following the Danube. This hotel has an underground car park so bikes can be stored without any problem. The family running this hotel have gone for a very contemporary look and feel here. The reception has a minimalist appearance with modern furnishings. There is also a small bar where guests can receive their complimentary glass of champagne.

The rooms themselves continue with the contemporary feel. There is a flat screen TV on the wall with BBC World available. Wireless Internet is also available but the coverage was a little patchy. It worked better depending where you stood in the room. The beds were very firm but comfortable and the bathroom was also very clean. There are no room keys but instead plastic cards that are waved over the door handle which then let's you in. There is also a fairly large safe in the room and well stocked mini bar.

The breakfast was taken in the restaurant area which again was bright and kitted out in a white faux leather look. Lots of choice with regards to the food; eggs, cheeses, meats, cereals, breads, orange juice, fresh and dried fruit and a good choice of teas and coffee.

With regard to the location, it was quite central. It took us around 5 minutes to get into the centre of town. Overall an enjoyable stay with nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passau hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Weisser Hase
Hotel Weisser Hase
#4 of 24 in Passau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Residenz Passau
Hotel Residenz Passau
#1 of 24 in Passau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Wilder Mann
Hotel Wilder Mann
#6 of 24 in Passau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
IBB Hotel Passau City Centre
0.6 mi away
Hotel Passauer Wolf
Hotel Passauer Wolf
#5 of 24 in Passau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.1 mi away
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
#2 of 24 in Passau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spitzberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spitzberg

Property: Hotel Spitzberg
Address: Neuburger Str. 29, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spitzberg 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Spitzberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing