We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of the Dom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is directly across the street from the Dom. Booked about a month in advance and received a wonderful room with a view of the Dom. Stayed Friday-Monday. Friday night was pretty loud as the younger crowd sits on the steps of the Dom and drink. Just lots of voices and car sounds. Saturday and Sunday nights were much quieter.
You can walk to anywhere in town from here. There was an incredible Farmers Market Saturday morning right next to the hotel. It was a great way to see what the locals sell.
Our room had a king bed, on the top floor, wonderful shower and space to lounge.
Breakfast was plentiful and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask to be on an upper floor. If you don't want any noise ask for a quiet room, but be prepared t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

The old town of Regensburg is charmingly small, and easy to walk everywhere from this very nice hotel. The hotel is directly across from one side of the massive Regensburger Dom, a landmark of this city. We wanted a queen bed, but got two beds side-by-side, as that was what was available when I booked. The room was surprisingly large. Plenty of closet space, a desk, mini-fridge, and a nice bathroom. The blackout curtains were most welcomed, as I was exhausted after a week of work in Frankfurt. There is a bar / restaurant downstairs. The night we checked in, there was only one young woman on staff. She not only checked us in, but served us a drink, while we used the free wifi available in this lobby space. We did not spend the extra money on having breakfast included, as there are some some amazing donut shops / bakeries in town serving great coffee and with amazing looking donuts and other confections! And there are small stores in town where you can get a great piece of fruit, as well.
The staff at ACHAT Plaza hotel was friendly and helpful. The location was great for us, and an easy 15 minute walk straight-on from the train station. Given the chance, we'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corsagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Centrally located in Regensburg this hotel is clean with nice spacious rooms. The breakfasts were good and during February the hotel rate was reasonable. The staff were courteous and helpful. This is a good business hotel in Regensburg.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Sangeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I spent 6 nights on a recent business trip. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was 15Euro but it was a large buffet. Parking is in a public garage three clocks away for about 15E per day. Room was basic but had a refrigerator. You are on the Dom And the cathedral is directly in front of the front doors. Easy to walk everywhere in the Old Town.

Room Tip: I suspect rooms are most quiet on the backside of the hotel and on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bandman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. It's in a great location across from the beatiful cathedral, and a short walk to the quaint old town and river area. We only booked a standard double room, but to our surprise the room was quite large by European standards, with all the amenities including a wonderful Nespresso machine. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful showing us the map and things to see, and they also helped us to mail some postcards the day we left. Regensburg is a wonderful town to walk around, with many cafes, restaurants, and shops.We had lunch and beer at the Regensburger Brewery - highly recommended.. Definitely don't miss the old Wurstkuchl tavern along the river, with the best bratwurst and sauerkraut I've had in a long time. If we ever get back to Regensburg, we would not think of staying anywhere else other than the Achat Plaza!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhlllyPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a very nice, modern-designed hotel, located on the main city square. It is German-clean and offers nice little perks, like Nescafe coffee machine, little chocolates and bottled mineral water. The only thing to complain was that the receptionist couldn't help me to understand local parking rules.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel has almost everything. Good room, very good service, close to lots of eating places and within easy walking distance to everywhere in the city. Situated near the Dom, it seems people don't recognise just how good it is. (The bells didn't disturb us at all as we were on the other side of the building and the windows triple glazed). Altogether the best location in Regensburg.

Two downsides: The shower was poor and over the bath and the breakfast was not included. We chose to walk across the square for breakfast which added to our city experience.

We were there on a Sunday so made a point of attending mass in the Dom to hear the well regarded Cathedral choir. We found the acoustics so bad we left. Instead we should have stayed at the service in the Alte Kapelle just across the square where the voices and the acoustics were excellent.

Room Tip: Because this is an old palace, not all rooms are serviced directly by the lift. Some steps can be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tambo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
#2 of 48 in Regensburg
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Park Hotel Maximilian
0.3 mi away
Bohemian Hotel
Bohemian Hotel
#7 of 48 in Regensburg
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
#1 of 48 in Regensburg
777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
#8 of 48 in Regensburg
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchner Hof
Hotel Muenchner Hof
#5 of 48 in Regensburg
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom

Address: Domplatz 3, 93047, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Price Range: £104 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing