We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel am Peterstor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel am Peterstor
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

You get what you pay for. Very reasonable cost but my husband and I were tripping over eachother. Bathroom was just barely ok but clean. Small, small room. The really bad thing was that they turn off their phones and we wanted to reach them. They are REALLY REALLY RIGID ABOUT ENTRANCE TIMES AND the front desk person was rude. However, the breakfast was very good although you had to exit the hotel through a back door to get to the breakfast room. We had a terrible view from our room, but that was not the most important feature. They do have a nice elevator. We do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: From what we could see, they were all the same. Average to poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldinnorthcarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    26
    18
    12
    11
See reviews for
7
36
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

pretty good value: inexpensive for a hotel in this area. but the good was outweighed by the not so good when we got a room facing the back and two clubs that were unbelievably LOUD from about 11 pm til the very wee hours. (i was too tired to even check the clock by the end of it)

front facing rooms are much quieter, but do offer street noise in the early morning.

hotel staff varied from nice and friendly to quite unpleasant - a request for a bar of soap was answered with a grumpy "we do not supply soap", altho another desk clerk did hand us a little wrapped bar. soap, no big deal. not sleeping, very big deal

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan y dena r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gambrills, MD
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

If you want to stay at a clean, convenient hotel in the Old Town area of Regensburg, for a bargain price and without frills, this is the place. Our rooms were small but spotless and perfectly adequate, the staff was courteous, the location was fantastic. We arrived before the reception area was open, so stored our bags in the train station lockers, less than a ten-minute walk from the hotel. My window overlooked the street, and with the window closed I could hear no street noises. A typical German breakfast was available as well. Regensburg is a beautiful city and I would happily visit there again, and stay at the Hotel am Peterstor.

The Tourist Information office in Regensburg was very helpful. One of our group had spent time years before in Regensburg and remembered a particular statue, but not its location. I emailed the TI office and the next day they responded, with the location of the statue.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilysmom2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

Overall a very nice hotel, good location and price, about 10mins walking to Hauptbahnhof and Regensburger Dom. The room was bigger than i expected for a 48euro double room, and with attached bathroom.
But the reception is closed from 11.00 to 16.00, so when we arrived there at about 14.00, we had to put our luggage in another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances0822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2008

The Am Peterstor advertises itself with pride as a hotel that has trimmed the fat to keep costs down - but without sacrificing the essentials - which are, I believe, clean rooms, crisp linen, comfy beds, ventilation and a nice bathroom with penty of hot water. The Am Peterstor ticks all the above boxes, and they throw in a TV , wardrobe, desk and chairs as well.

Reception is only open at certain times and it's there to take payment, welcome you, and provide a free map of the city. I got the impression that they prefer not to have to deal with incessant tourist-type questions, though they did suggest the possible location of an internet cafe. English is spoken.

Breakfast is not included but for an extra 5 euros you can take it in the Italian Restaurant next door (I didn't). The restaurant is also open for dinner, and has tables out the back in the very plain courtyard.

Guests get keys to the front and back doors (more convenient for people with vehicles) so you can come and go as you please. The location is good - a 10 minute walk from the train station and about the same to reach the Dom and the heart of the old city.

It cost 37 euros for a single room and was exactly what I wanted. If only there were more hotels in Europe like it.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — nothing I can think of.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank nitarudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Regensburg
Star Inn Hotel Regensburg
#30 of 48 in Regensburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Regensburg City
Ibis Regensburg City
#4 of 48 in Regensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Roter Hahn
Hotel Restaurant Roter Hahn
#26 of 48 in Regensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Altstadthotel Am Pach
Altstadthotel Am Pach
#20 of 48 in Regensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central Regensburg CityCentre
0.2 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
#11 of 48 in Regensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Peterstor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Peterstor

Property: Hotel am Peterstor
Address: Froehliche-Tuerken-Str. 12, 93047, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel am Peterstor 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel am Peterstor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing