We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic and Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Goldenes Kreuz
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This establishment is over 500 years old so there is your classic component. In bed, you look up at these ancient massive beams which are beautiful. Our room was huge and facing the beautiful square. Christina was charming, sweet and very helpful. Breakfast is served in the restaurant downstairs, and you can order what you want and seconds if you like. There is a lift, so no back breaking climb. You can drive there to drop off luggage and Christina will give you instructions on parking 5 mins away at a discounted rate.

It's hard to fault except that it was 35 degrees but we were given a well utilized fan. Some people may prefer a cooling system but with such high ceilings, it may not be worthwhile.

We'd definitely go back and stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OKAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel has so much history that they could fill many books. The rooms are are differently furnished with furniture ranging from the Baroque to Biedermeier. The beds are comfy, the ladies at the reception extremely friendly and the bathrooms very nice and super clean. The location couldn't be more central: right on Haidplatz. Breakfast is served in the cafe (you have to exit the hotel and go next door) and you can choose whichever breakfast you want or mix and match from the different set menus. If you come by car you can park inside the hotel.

Room Tip: get a room towards the back: quieter and in the summer cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt_Dina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Ok. Let's do the negatives. Make sure your clearly state the quantity of nights you need. Forget the 'to' and the 'from' and maybe even the 'until'. These guys completely misunderstood our dates which resulted in us being transfered to another (more expensive and worse) hotel across the Haidplatz where we were told that " we will meet the difference" which would wind up being a 9 euro contribution to a situation that cost me in excess of 60 euro......But hey, that's where "lost in translation" can land you...Did I remonstrate ? Nope. I couldn't be bothered but it does show that caveat emptor is alive and well lurking behind every service-smile.

On the practical side: this is NOT a hotel. It's a range of apartments rather nicely and grandly decorated. We had two rooms and the bathrooms were just lovely. The ability to come and go may well suit those that prefer anonymity. If you like the idea of hotel staff, a bar, room service and a club sandwich at midnight, then this is not for you.....But generally , it's a nice relaxed tasteful place to be.....

Prices are reasonable given the competition (avoid the Arch hotel across the way like the plague....). The breakfast is essentially taken in a very mittel-klasse, relaxed cafe at ground level where ladies-that-lunch pop in. The selection of grub is ample, the staff very pleasant and, most essentially, it provides an atmosphere a million miles away from that stilted, morgue-like ambiance you get in many bourgeois or up-market hotels where couples seem incapable of exchanging conversation beyond "pass the milk"....afraid to talk above a whisper unless you're a Texan who's just sold a drilling company to Texaco......Yehaaaaaaa.......

In conclusion: clarify your nights booked, don't bank on permanent parking (the little courtyard can't possibly cope with everyone ) and don't expect 'full hotel services': then your 'House & Home' perusing amour will be more than comfortable.....and you'll be happy.....

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CiboCiboCibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a good value and is in an excellent location for exploring Regensburg. There are 9 rooms on the 2nd(3rd to Americans) floor. The manager was most helpful and welcoming. Our room had a canopied bed, sofa, and bottled water was provided daily. The bath was modern. It is conveniently located on Haidplatz within easy walking distance of sites in the old city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginiatravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

not a chain - and delightful as a result. Beautiful historic building in central location. Service great. Room was quiet, light and clean. Would not hesitate to return. Breakfast in cafe downstairs was plentiful. Do not look anywhere else. Book well in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank London_Travellers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Wonderful Hotel in the main historic square, quite, large rooms, full breakfast in a beautiful room, nice people. I reccomend it even if it's not a budget hotel but with a good quality-price rate: it values all we have paid!!
possibilty of parking in the courtyard for few euros.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paolab516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

A gem of a hotel in Regensburg. Great location, beautiful character building, nice clean rooms & love that its non-smoking!! The reception was incredibly helpful and flexible on check-in and check-out. The hotel was quiet (we had a courtyard room) and clean and both my daughter & I thought it was excellent value for money. The best part is that it is non-smoking, and for Canadians that are used to that standard in hotels -it was so appreciated. I would absolutely recommend it and it would be my first choice if I was back in Regensburg.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fredda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
0.3 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
#16 of 48 in Regensburg
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bohemian Hotel
Bohemian Hotel
#7 of 48 in Regensburg
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
#2 of 48 in Regensburg
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Park Hotel Maximilian
0.2 mi away
Hotel Muenchner Hof
Hotel Muenchner Hof
#6 of 48 in Regensburg
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
#8 of 48 in Regensburg
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldenes Kreuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldenes Kreuz

Address: Haidplatz 7, 93047, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Price Range: £114 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Goldenes Kreuz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing