We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Trinity, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautifully Located”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

The hotel is a pleasant walk across the historical 'Old Stone Bridge' over the Danube to the wonderful old town of Regensberg. The room was comfortable enough, its best feature being a nice large well appointed bathroom but the carpet looked distinctly in need of cleaning. It lacked closet space and there was no safe in the room. The lobby bar was very small and impersonal, giving the hotel more of a business feel. The breakfast was good with a lot of choice but the service from two disinterested young girls on our last morning somewhat let the hotel down. The bar was lacking in choice and hot chocolate undrinkable!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor which was noisy so I would suggest asking for a higher floor. Also we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expat34655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    176
    73
    11
    5
See reviews for
56
148
23
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I have a spacious corner suite on the second floor, with attractive views over the Danube, the Stone Bridge, and the Cathedral. It has a king-size bed, a sofa with chairs and table in the living area, and two modern televisions with plenty of channels available. The brown carpeting and upholstery really look about due for replacement, but are clean and serviceable. As for the bed, it's just fine. The bathroom is modern and immense, with shower, corner bath and two washbasins. There is also a separate WC, with bidet and another washbasin. There are plenty of nice towels.

I sleep well despite occasional noise from the bar on the ground floor, where there seems to be a late-night birthday party going on. (The atrium-style architecture of the building is not wonderfully good for sound insulation, but the amount of noise in the hotel is not high anyway.) The buffet breakfast next morning is generous, with friendly service, and is excellent value at 8 Euros. Most of my fellow-guests look like business people.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fermi-Dirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin/San Antonio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just got back from a week stay on business at this hotel. Service was very good (I do think 4-star worthy), and when I left my car lights on in the garage, they recognized me at the front desk and helped me avoid a problem. The location is a blessing and a curse- its cool to be so close to the Old Stone Bridge, but you have to traverse two islands to get to it. Very narrow streets make it a challenge to come and go by car. If I was touring the town, this would be great, but we had to drive to work each day, and this added a bit to the trip time. Parking was adequate, just be ready for typical tight European parking (let passengers out first, fold in the mirrors). The breakfast buffet was great- everything from breads and cereals to hot eggs and wurst. I stayed in a more economical interior room, and it was average. The rooms could use an update on the carpeting. My room was pretty noisy. I was always hearing folks clump up and down the stairwells, even though I was not next to one.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

First, the location is great. Right next to the bridge leading directly into the old town. The check-in was efficient and the complimentary glass of wine or beer was a nice touch. However, the windows in the bar area were dirty and streaked - looked like they had not been cleaned in weeks. We had a room with a river view on the first floor. The rooms are clean but in need of an update - the furniture is old and tired. The carpeting was faded and stained. Yuk! For 144 EU per night we expected something much, much better. Breakfast in the morning was a pleasant surprise, but an additional 8 EU each. Regensburg is an interesting town which we would like to visit again, but we would not recommend this hotel. Whoever gave this hotel 4 stars needs to reevaluate their criteria.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequenttraveleurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Let me start by saying my room was on the third floor. I was there on the last week of July for five nights when daytime temps were over 33 degrees Celsius. With no AC and even a room with a river view....it did not help. From a suggestion by a colleague, I propped open the door and opened the window across the half for some cross ventilation, something you could not even imagining doing here in North America.

Now as for the four stars: My room - OK, nothing spectacular...bathroom fine. Everything was clean and made up every night. Now it appears that the first and second floor rooms may be a little different the the third floor....just a guess as the interior halls are completely different then the third. But based on my room, no way four stars.

Breakfast area was great. Able to sit on the patio each of the five mornings I was there. Wonderful view of the old city and river and the staff in the restaurant was very helpful. Much variety of food choices. Bread and rolls were simply wonderful.

Alta Linde next door...WHAT A PLACE! Must go to have a good time with great food and beer.

Cons:
internet - fee every day to use the WiFi

parking - maybe...maybe 25 spots underneath the Hotel....many more rooms so chances are good that you will not get a spot. Park on the street, sometimes a mile away

lift - Only three floors but the very scary - but it did not break down during my stay though

riverview - Biggest complaint - beautiful view during the day. But the youth of Regensburg knows how to enjoy themselves in the evening, and I mean every evening into the wee hours of the morning. With the window wide open every night, heard laughing, singing, discussions and the dropping of beer bottle across the river every night...typically until 2:00am but one night at 4:45am. With the added heat, very difficult to get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: City view is nice, but do not stay on third floor if hot temperatures outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RomeoShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Overall stay ok, rooms Ok, but NO air-conditioning. It was very hot in the room.
Very little flexibility from the reception on checking out from hotel at 3 pm. Very expensive. Good breakfast. Superb view over the Donau and the old city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river Donau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrifro66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

Very nice, modern rooms with good beds and a nice bathroom. Warning: there is no air conditioning, but I was here during some cool days in July and this wasn't a problem. If it is warm, request a room with a river view for more cool breeze. My favorite part of the hotel is the rooftop terrace which has a great view of the old Regensburg skyline. I highly recommend this hotel for your visit to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidrleenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
#1 of 48 in Regensburg
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
#12 of 48 in Regensburg
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Regensburg City
Ibis Regensburg City
#4 of 48 in Regensburg
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bohemian Hotel
Bohemian Hotel
#9 of 48 in Regensburg
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Park Hotel Maximilian
1.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Regensburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg

Property: Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
Address: Muellerstr. 7, 93059, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Regensburg
#4 Business Hotel in Regensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aussergewohnliches Hotel mit eleganter Einrichtung im Stil des Art deco der 1930er Jahre. In traumhafter Lage direkt am Ufer der Donau auf einer kleinen Insel, ruhig und zentral. Mit einzigartigem Postkartenblick uber die Donau auf die Steinerne Brucke, die Altstadt und den Dom. Best Price Garantie auf der SORAT Webseite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorat Insel Hotel Regensburg
Sorat Insel Regensburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing