We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful riverside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delightful riverside hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A satnav is useful, if not essential, to find the hotel. Very helpful staff & an impressive lobby & bar area. Loved the location; our room had a superb view of Danube & the old town across the river - which was only a short walk away. Our room was very impressive - spacious & modern, very attractive. But we wondered what it might be like in summer as there were no signs of fans of air conditioning. The restaurant was closed the evening we were there, but the receptionist directed to us to Alte Linde, a riverside restaurant just a minute or two away which was very good. Breakfast was in an attractive room with a good range.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    168
    73
    10
    4
See reviews for
53
142
23
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed for work for 3 days - great location on the island looking over the city. Restaurant sits on the river so in the sun nice to eat outside. When travelling with work I like to use the gym - they have a running machine and bike - that's it!. May aswel run along the river outside as much better. Food was good - barman also friendly and helpful - cheap compared to Ams also! Rooms were ok if a little basic

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi di Modena, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Spent two nights for business. Overall a good stay. The room was OK. Personnel very kind and friendly. Check in and check out OK. The Hotel is located nearby the old city center. Very good breakfast. The only complaint is that the Hotel Garage is not for free although located in the Hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigi_Claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunshan, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed one night for business. Check-In and check-out was fast and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. Sleeping quality was very nice. Breakfast was ok. The only thing which I would complain about a little is, that even you are a hotel guest, they charge you for the car parking in the parking garage. If I am in this area again, I would chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobtown55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I've been here 4 times and it is always a paceful place to be after a working day. Breakfast is OK, rooms next to the river have very nice view. This not exactly a family hotel like in Mexico or US but if I can take my family there I will stay in the same hotel

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qualityevaluatormx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is in a good location, a short walk over the stone bridge and you will find yourself in the old town of Regensburg. It is also a good choice if you are travelling by car, as you can park in the underground garage for a fee (about 11 euros when we stayed there). Many other hotels in the town do not have an option for parking. Rooms are spacious and the beds are large and reasonably comfortable. We wanted a room with a view of the Danube, however we were told that we had to pay an extra 30 euros for this, which we declined to do.

One aspect of our stay which was less impressive was the bathroom - it wasn't something you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. The shower over the bathtub in particular was cramped, cold and overly powerful with a flimsy shower curtain which resulted in the bathroom floor being soaked. When we attempted to mop up the floor with the towels provided, they came up covered in hair and other dirt from the floor, which led us to assume that the room had not been thoroughly cleaned before our stay.

Overall I'd rate this hotel average, as the room was generally decent and the staff were friendly, however I don't think the 4 star rating is justified. I've stayed in 3 star hotels that were far more impressive.

I'd certainly recommend visiting Regensburg itself - the old town is beautiful.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view of the Danube and were told this would cost 30 euros extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel of choice for Business trips (need a SatNav to find it). Straddles the Danube and is great for walks in to town over the Old Stone Bridge. Couple of good Beer Gardens next door. Underground parking at a cost. Rooms are very good, whole place is clean and well managed. Bar is good and popular (makes a change!). Breakfast is superb. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
#1 of 48 in Regensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bohemian Hotel
Bohemian Hotel
#9 of 48 in Regensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
#6 of 48 in Regensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Regensburg
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Park Hotel Maximilian
0.3 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
#11 of 48 in Regensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg

Property: Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
Address: Muellerstr. 7, 93059, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Regensburg
#4 Business Hotel in Regensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aussergewohnliches Hotel mit eleganter Einrichtung im Stil des Art deco der 1930er Jahre. In traumhafter Lage direkt am Ufer der Donau auf einer kleinen Insel, ruhig und zentral. Mit einzigartigem Postkartenblick uber die Donau auf die Steinerne Brucke, die Altstadt und den Dom. Best Price Garantie auf der SORAT Webseite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorat Insel Hotel Regensburg
Sorat Insel Regensburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing