We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wifi let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Regensburg City
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wifi let down”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A good hotel let down by the wifi I stayed for 5 days and only on the Saturday when there weren't the volume of business people using the wifi did it work as it should. The restaurant is mainly pizza based but ok. The hotel is on the banks of the canal and there is a very pleasant walk along the canal towpath into the town Regensburg is a beautiful To visit for work or play?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    289
    90
    18
    13
See reviews for
77
240
47
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The roadworks made getting to the hotel a challenge, but this is not the hotel's fault.

The room was ok and fairly standard for an Ibis hotel. But what starts off as an affordable hotel starts to mount up when you have to pay €7 for parking, then wifi access, then €10 each for breakfast. We didn't bother with breakfast and managed to get something for less than half the price elsewhere.

It is an easy 15 minute walk in to the city and the location is fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexPianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
517 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The hotel is located just over the railway bridge about a 10/15 minute walk from the old town. The rooms were of a good standard, clean and the bed was comfortable. There is secure parking for 7 euros a night, WIFI is free in the reception and dining area but not in the bedrooms. The breakfast was excellent with plenty choice of hot and cold food. A good decent hotel for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Had to spend a night in a clean and comfortable affordable hotel (65 euro for a double room) and this one did its job very well...!!!! The hotel has very friendly staff, a restaurant with very good food ( we were so tired that we took a chance and ate in the hotel and were very satisfied ) parking just behind the hotel although not free...very close to train station and 15 minutes walking distance from city centre...and a mall across the street were we had breakfast the next morning and were able to find a few things we needed! Ps : free internet in the lobby area, tv with international news channels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, AL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I had never stayed at an Ibis hotel before and did not know much about the chain. The Regensburg City left me with a good impression of the hotel, itself, and the Ibis chain. This hotel was within walking distance of the train station but far enough away to be shielded from the noise and view of the tracks. And, biggest plus of all, it had excellent air conditioning during a heat wave that tormented the town during out two-night stay in late July. Being across the street from an air-conditioned mall was also a big plus for that time of the year.

The hotel was simple, clean and attractive outside and in. The reception was friendly and professional, as were the rest of the staff. My only disappointment with the staff was that no one was able to advise us about buses to the Old Town; we ended up using taxies, which turned out to be a cheap mode of transportation, anyway.

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the place. It was much cleaner and better maintained than some much more expensive places I have stayed in. We requested and received a no-smoking room, which, again, unlike some places I have stayed in, did not have a trace of cigarette smoke. Little things like that me a lot to my wife and me. Speaking of little things, our room was among the smallest doubles I have ever had. In part, that was because of the large, comfortable bed, which took up two-thirds of the room, so I cannot object too much.

The only other drawback was that I could not get wifi to work on my iPad and eventually gave up and used my iPhone to keep up with the news. For a few minutes use a day, that was not a big deal for me. In fact, the cleanliness and comfort of the place, and the AC more than offset the little drawbacks I mentioned. Not only would I consider staying there again, I will consider Ibis hotels in other towns in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
1.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
#1 of 48 in Regensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
#2 of 48 in Regensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Regensburg
Star Inn Hotel Regensburg
#30 of 48 in Regensburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
ibis Styles Regensburg
ibis Styles Regensburg
#10 of 48 in Regensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Regensburg
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Park Hotel Maximilian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Regensburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Regensburg City

Property: Ibis Regensburg City
Address: Furtmayrstr. 1, 93053, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Regensburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Regensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Regensburg City 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Regensburg City hotel is located close to the historic city centre of Regensburg, 300 m from the main railway station, 3 km from the theatre district and 4 km from the Gewerbepark business district. Book one of our 114 rooms and benefit from use of our restaurant, a terrace area, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours and private undercover pay parking as well as 5 meeting rooms for your seminars and conferences. Business guests will appreciate use of WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Regensburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Regensburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing