We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a stop-over.”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good for a stop-over.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very clean rooms. Bathroom more than okay. Spotless. Breakfast so and so. Swimming pool and sauna available = nice. No thrills at all. Noisy highway in the background. The city is only 5 minutes away by bus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wouter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
27
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We only stayed one night here, which is a shame as it was really nice. The room was excellent with a minibar fridge, breakfast was huge and we had a lovely meal in the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was easy to find the hotel off the autobahn and it was an easy 5 minute drive to the old city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaver055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,192 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Last year I reviewed the Hotel Apollo and gave high marks for the comfort of the hotel. During my recent stay I experienced that the positive points of the hotel, on which I based the 4 points rating, are still in place: Nice, airy, clean comfortable rooms, a spotless bathroom with a roomy shower, ample towels, polite and dedicated service of the staff, plenty free parking behind the hotel, public transport, which brings you to Regensburg city center in 15 minutes, on easy walking distance and Thurn and Taxis beer on the right temperature. But, what I deemed to be an incident during my previous stay and therefore didn't find it necessary to mention then, was the erratic hot water supply in the shower. During my recent stay I experienced again the discutable pleasure of alternating piping hot or freezing cold water while taking a shower. I have to conclude that Hotel Apollo is having a structural problem with the the hot water supply. Not been able to take a shower without continuously having to fiddle with the water controls and even then having to jump aside to escape a freezing stream of water, really subtracts from the comfort of a stay. So I have to dock Hotel Apollo one point on the rating to “Average”.

Room Tip: Maybe a room close to the hot water boiler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

it seems regensburg in summer has a limited room availability, and relatively high prices. the apollo scored well on the booking engines, and looked the best available under 55e per room.
the location is in a very quiet residential suburb between university and clinics. however bus #6 stops at the end of the street, and takes you into the old city via the rail station in 15 - 20 minutes.
reception was small, but staff friendly and helpful. the bar is really just drinks service to the hotel restaurant, and so lights go out at 11pm. ( good local beer very fairly priced ).
i had a very nice double room for sole occupancy, and it seemed very recently refurbished.
the bathroom likewise, but very compact. everything was very comfortable, and kept spotlessly clean.
the hotel has really excellent leisure facilities, and again impeccably clean. the indoor pool was about 10 metres long, and had its own dedicated changing cabins, lockers and towels. there was also a sauna loctaed off the pool, and a fenced garden area to relax on lounge chairs ,weather permitting.
breakfast was mainly cold, but with an excellent and imaginative selection including smoked salmon, trout and mackerel.

however the management seemed to run the hotel for their benefit, rather than the guests. the tiny old lift only went to the second of 3 floors, and was closed from 11pm to 6am ( 3pm to 6am on sunday/monday ....). all service stopped at 11pm, and guests have to carry their keys, and gain access from the rear door. sounds of heavy tread or ladies' heels on marble floors were much noisier, if that was the reason. understandably the sauna was only fired up late afternoon, but making sunday on request seems churlish.

my main beef was on pricing. when i requested an extension, i was told there was no problem for the room, but the rate would be about 25% higher, due to a mistake in seting up the rate i had via booking.com. this was confirmed after receptionist checked with owner, even though i could see on computer screen that several rooms were still available. so on principle i went to the aggravation of finding another hotel, and wasted time and effort that could have been spent
exploring more of this beautiful city.

with a more guest-orientated administration and the right price, this would be a very good choice despite distance from old city.

Room Tip: third floor has no lift and lower sloping roofs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at Apollo for one night, on the way from Dortmund to Bucharest. The hotel is a very good choice if you are after a comfortable stay at reasonable rates, with easy access to the city center. The hotel offers free parking, an indoor pool, excellent choice of dishes for lunch / dinner (also priced reasonably) and a very rich breakfast. If you are interested in a short tour of the city center (Unesco heritage, very nice by the way), you don't need to keep away from the great Bavarian beer - leave the car and just take the bus (no. 6), the bus stop is just 50 meters away and it's only a 15-minute bus ride to the city center. The staff is very helpful, everyone speaks English (unfortunately we do not speak German) and is more than happy to help with any information you need.

The rooms are large and comfortable, guaranteed to offer a good night's sleep. Our room faced the beer terrace / garden and, as you can imagine, people don't have their beers in absolute silence, but as soon as we shut the window we couldn't tell that people were having fun just 2 stories below. The bathroom was large and equipped with a very nice shower and double vanity, so it fitted our needs perfectly. All in all, it was a great choice and we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We used Regensburg as a base to explore Bavaria including Munich. We stayed at the Apollo for a week in a suite and the rates were outstanding. The hotel was certainly more affordable and more convenient with a car than the hotels in the center of Regensburg. It is a modern hotel located in a quiet neighborhood and offers a delicious and plentiful breakfast in typical German style, ample free parking, and free wi-fi in the restaurant area. The hotel even offers lunch and dinner except for Sundays. We sampled their dinner on the night of our arrival and enjoyed it very much. The rooms were very clean and amply supplied. The hotel, however, is located about 2.5 miles from the center of Regensburg. Fortunately, a short walk to the bus stop and a ride on the #6 conveniently brings you to town center with a stop at the train station if you're headed elsewhere. It can be costly, however, if you are commuting to city center frequently (2 Euros one way). But, one can purchase affordable passes at a tourist information center. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and we would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank physicsgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,192 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

After staying in Hotel Apollo I can only be positive about the experience: Free ample parking on the premises, a comfortable, clean room (a specialty of German lodgings of course), a good extensive buffet breakfast, a garden, where you can enjoy a beer (brand Turn und Taxis, very good) or dinner. The hotel is 4 kilometers from the center of Regensburg, but close to the University. There is an excellent public bus service to Regensburg historic center.

Room Tip: For non-smokers: Request at the time of booking a non-smoking room; the
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Atrium im Park Hotel
Atrium im Park Hotel
#15 of 48 in Regensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Regensburg City
Ibis Regensburg City
#4 of 48 in Regensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ratisbona
Hotel Ratisbona
#32 of 48 in Regensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel-von-Heyden
Hotel-von-Heyden
#2 of 2 in Tegernheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.6 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Regensburg
Star Inn Hotel Regensburg
#30 of 48 in Regensburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
#1 of 48 in Regensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: Neupruell 17, 93051, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing