We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Roter Hahn
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Reviewed 13 June 2013

All things good about this hotel...location, clean, yummy breakfast, parking (although a bit steep at 15 euros). Only complaint is their wifi. Had to sit in the lobby for access although they advertise free wifi. Couldn't get it in our room. Spectacular city, nice staff and accommodating...

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank TheRaininSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

The hotel is located directly in the historic center of the city, very close to every attraction and to bus stops. Every point of interest in the historic center can be reached by food. Nice coffee bars and restaurants are located nearby. Parking is limited, due to the location. My single room was small, but cosy and clean. As usual, the room was cleaned every day. It was very quiet because the room faced the yard. For that reason the view was not stunning, but ok. The staff was very friendly and always helpful - a change of the reservation, check-in and check-out was no problem. Most of the staff was young but professional. I really liked the hotel's atmosphere - a mix of tradition and modernity. The breakfast buffet was small, but offered a very good variety. It was very "vegetarian friendly" and everything tasted so delicious! Thumbs up!

This hotel is definitely worth a big recommendation!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punkcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel is not very big, but the rooms are large and in pretty good shape. The resturant on the main floor was great. I think the best thing about this hotel is the location. it is located right in the middle of plenty of shopping and walkways to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Last year we hosted our wedding reception at the Roter Hahn restaurant. We were a smaller group of about 15 persons and really enjoyed the privacy of having the upstairs balcony section pretty much to ourselves.
The atmosphere was great, and the table was elegantly set. The restaurant is clean and has a flair of excellence which our guests enjoyed. The staff was very helpful in selecting a menu and setting up our section according to our wishes. I was very impressed and please how they let us try the wines and select a good one. All of our family and friends complimented us on the dinner.
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a lovely evening - whether it be a wedding reception or just a couple enjoying a glass of wine together.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dontri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Great hotel in the heart of Regensburg. Nice room although the partying students in the adjacent appartment building kept us up most of the night.
Very cozy and high quality restaurant which served a delicious dinner and buffet breakfast.
Excellent value for money. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedgulden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I'd never heard of Regensburg - a medieval city on the Danube. I'd clearly been missing something it being a UNESCO world heritage site. The hotel was right in the middle of the old town close to the visitor attractions like the old stone bridge and the dom.

The hotel was super. Our room had old beams running through it and looked out on the cathedral. Sadly it was noisy at night, even though the hotel looked out on what looked like a quiet narrow street. Maybe we got the wrong night.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Motty001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had a lovely time at this hotel: it is ideally located in the old town of Regensburg with lots of good restaurants, cafes and shops nearby (the ice cream shop at the end of the lane is especially good).
The rooms are spacious and clean, but be aware that the lift only goes to the second floor: we were situated on the 5th floor, so the baby's buggy had to stay in the 2nd floor lobby. The beds were exceptionally comfortable, but we did have one slightly sleep deprived night at the weekend when there was a lot of noise from the pub in the street below.
The restaurant is quite expensive, but worth every penny, as the food and choice of wines are excellent, and the waiting staff are very helpful and were happy to suggest which wines would go best with our food.
Regensburg is a beautiful place, and I can't imagine a better hotel to use as a base for exploring it than the Roter Hahn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monty-Hawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Altstadthotel Am Pach
Altstadthotel Am Pach
#15 of 48 in Regensburg
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bohemian Hotel
Bohemian Hotel
#7 of 48 in Regensburg
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchner Hof
Hotel Muenchner Hof
#6 of 48 in Regensburg
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Altstadthotel Arch
Altstadthotel Arch
#24 of 48 in Regensburg
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kaiserhof Hotel
The Kaiserhof Hotel
#20 of 48 in Regensburg
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
#16 of 48 in Regensburg
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Roter Hahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Roter Hahn

Address: Rote-Hahnen-Gasse 10, 93047, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Price Range: £88 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Roter Hahn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Roter Hahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing