We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petite Hotel Orphee
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Reviewed 14 January 2010

The Orphee seems to be some sort of French institution in Regensburg. There is the Grand Orphee (grosses Haus) and the Petit Orphee (kleines Haus), just around the corner. Both very central in Regensburg's old city. Our room at the "kleines Haus" was very nicely decorated in turn of the century style (but with a modern bathroom). A fantastic breakfast is served over at the famous restaurant in the grosses Haus, 1min walk away.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheHanoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2009

We spent one night at the Petite Hotel Orphee in early December as part of a trip to the German Christmas Markets with friends. We've been to Regensburg before and stayed twice at the Bischofshof next to the cathedral but they were booked this time so we had to branch out and are glad we did. The location of the Petite Orphee was actually better ... right in the center of the old, mostly pedestrian town and perfectly situated for walking to stores, restaurants and the markets.... in fact, we had one right outside our door.

Check in is around the corner and down the next street but was easy and very quick, and it felt as though we had our own apartment at the Petite Orphee. The landings on each floor had their own sitting areas, also decorated, which worked well when we were waiting for friends or visa versa. Our friends were in the least expensive room the hotel offers and it was surprisingly large... the bathroom was downright spacious, especially for an intown European hotel. Our room was a smidge more and was huge, with views over the little square below the hotel building and a cleverly hidden bathroom entered through the wardrobe. The room came with water and a small bottle of wine, as well as a very nice breakfast the next morning served in the restaurant (which looked like it had been transported from Paris) at the Grand Hotel Orphee.

Parking is down through town at a local garage but the hotel gives good directions and it is easy enough to get there and back. The walk is 5-10 minutes but through old Regesburg and not a hassle. I would reccomend stopping to check in and drop bags first, and then park and walk back so you can enjoy the old city center.

Overall, great location, pleasant service, good value and nicely decorated rooms. We were surprised at how nice everything was for the very reasonable rate and would gladly return.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsAimClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We stayed in the small house of the Orphee for only one night. The room was very nice with antique furniture. Due to the furniture and the old house you have a unique athmosphere.
The room was to the back of the house, in fact the only thing I didn´t like was the view from the room which was into a very small backyard. The room and bathroom were very clean and the breakfast also very good. You get a la carte breakfast. The hotel is in the middle of the historic center of Regensburg, the perfect place to start every visit. The car can be parked in a parking lot some streets away for 6 € per 24 hours. There is no parking lot directly in the historic center. The orphee restaurant which is in the main house (just around 3 min away) is also very good. The breakfast is served in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anteria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stayed here based on a recommendation from our travel book, Lonely Planet-Germany. It was a little hard to find, and the booking area was a street over, which was confusing and we spoke over intercom to get a hole of someone. But the nice receptionist really helped us. We were pleasantly surprised by the room, and found it charming. We ended up in a room with two singles. The breakfast over at the Grand Orphee location a street over was great and we enjoyed looking at artwork out on the courtyard wall, which seemed to be in the style of Ludwig Bemelmans, "Madeline" illustrator, and was entertaining. The Petite hotel had interesting reading areas, pretty flowers and chairs out to relax in. Although the crowd outside our room woke us up a few times, they were drinking well into the night. That was only negative besides the trickiness of finding it. Parking was a little hard, we ended up a bit far away and had to lug some suitcases. But the town is so great, we really enjoyed it and this little hotel was just like no other we had stayed at before.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowershopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

The Petite Hotel Orphee is the little sister Hotel to the Grande Orphee Hotel (big sister) which is located approximately 50 metres away in the next street. The Petite Hotel Orphee is situated in the centre of the old town and is beautifully furnished in an old french style theme / decor. The double room we booked was large and had a romantic and very comfortable four poster bed, accompanied by a large spotlessly clean tiled ensuite also carrying a similar theme. A complimentary bottle of wine, mineral water and chocolates also awaited us in our room. Rooms do not have internet access, although there is magnificent "sitting / common room" also in a french theme from which internet acces is supposedly available.

Whilst the above is first class, there are some issues which travellers need to be aware of per the following:-

i)The room key / check-in cannot be accessed at the Petite Hotel Orphee but must be obtained from the Grand Hotel Orphee (big sister).
ii)There is no car parking available at the Hotel, however, there is an affiliated arrangement with two Parking Stations, whereby, parking is available at a reduced and agreed daily rate. The Parking Stations are however, some distance (over 0.5 klm) from the Hotel.
iii)There is no lift in the Hotel and the conveyance of luggage could present some problems (we were on second floor), as there is no porter service readily available.
iv)Breakfast is only available in the Grand Orphee Hotel, hence a short walk. The walk is however, well worthwhile as a superb french style breakfast is on offer (eg quiches, cold meats, cheeses, jams, breads and other condiments etc).

In summary, the Hotel is lovely and recommended but prior to booking, would suggest that prospective guests ensure that the above 4 points will not present any issues.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

I was so surprised how much I loved Regensburg and a large part of that love for this hidden gem of a city is definitely the Hotel Orphee. We stayed in the Petit Orphee (around the corner from the big sister, the Grand Orphee). The Petit Orphee was an amazing value for the price (about 89Euros/night) and was such a beautiful, funky romantic hotel. We had this great room up in the attic, 4 poster bed, amazing tiled bathroom, and there's a great common room for reading and lounging plus a balcony that looks out on the square. A wonderful breakfast is included at the Grand Orphee just around the corner. And, best of all, you get all this charm and you're right in the heart of Regensburg, about a 5 minute walk from the old stone bridge and the Danube River. We'll be back again - and not soon enough!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank LdRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

Regensburg is new to my family, so when I booked a this hotel, I relied on its review in this website. The hotel was not a disappointment, stunningly decorated in a unique style. The location was great. It was directly in the city where you could travel to any interesting places around the town, like the cathedral and shopping centers. The breakfast was good. However, the hotel also has its downsides. The beds were a little to small for 2 adults, despite our booking a "suite" for 4 persons. And because the breakfast was served in the Grand Orphee Hotel, which was situated on a different street, we then had to walk (and it was really freezing in the morning). Overall, a good hotel, nice experience, a little too high price, though.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nattysjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Orphee
Grand Hotel Orphee
#10 of 48 in Regensburg
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bohemian Hotel
Bohemian Hotel
#6 of 48 in Regensburg
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Park Hotel Maximilian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
#13 of 48 in Regensburg
138 reviews
0 mi away
The Kaiserhof Hotel
The Kaiserhof Hotel
#19 of 48 in Regensburg
93 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dock1
Dock1
#9 of 48 in Regensburg
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Hotel Orphee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Hotel Orphee

Address: Wahlenstr. 1, 93047, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Regensburg
Price Range: £83 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Hotel Orphee 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Orphee - Kleines Haus in the Wahlenstraße is only a few steps away from the Orphée restaurant and Hotel Orphée - Großes Haus, which houses the reception of the Kleines Haus. The 15 rooms are arranged individually, featuring antique washbasins and Turkish tiles. The bathroom of one room is hidden behind the cabinet door. The most beautiful hotel in Regensburg perfectly reflects the image of the city itself, inviting and reminiscent of the charm of bygone times. The Orphée restaurant in Regensburg is the most original French bistro east of the Rhine. It serves plain fare with Mediterranean touches and the wines on offer will satisfy even the highest demands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Petite Hotel Orphee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Hotel Regensburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing