We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, but a good all round choice in Augsburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stadthotel Augsburg
Ranked #2 of 21 Augsburg B&B and Inns
Leeds, UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nothing special, but a good all round choice in Augsburg”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed for two nights whilst attending a family event in the immediate vicinity, so the hotel was very convenient for me. Whilst not in the centre of Augsburg, the hotel is only a short tram ride away and the tram stop is right outside, or it is around a 15 minute walk.

Some aspects of this hotel are dated, including the public areas, but some things have been recently renovated. The bathroom was one of those, and I was particularly pleased with the high quality shower. My room was a good size, and the bed was very comfortable. There is a large flat screen TV, and there is free wi-fi, which worked fine although a little slowly.

There is no air conditioning in the rooms. You can open the windows, including on a "tllt" setting, but even at the back there may be some noise if you do this if you are on the first floor as I was. This was not a problem for my stay, but could be in very hot weather,

The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful, and speak some English. Breakfast is buffet style, with a good choice of German standard breakfast items. All are of reasonable quality.

There is nothing special, memorable or exceptional about this hotel. But I would happily recommend it to anyone wanting a good nights stay at a reasonable price in Augsburg.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickfear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    18
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
10
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for one night on just a quick stop in Augsburg before we flew out from the Munich Airport. We had a rental car and there is a small free parking lot behind the hotel, although it was a bit awkward to get in and out of. The room decor was strange (kind of a mix of 80's-90's hotel furniture), but the room was clean and the bathroom looked to be recently updated. The room we had was quite large with a seating area and balcony. The room also had a safe. Free Wi-Fi is available, you just need to ask for a password at the front desk.

The thing we appreciated the most was the good location. There is a tram stop right across the street and it is only 2 stops from the old town. After taking the tram to the old town, we decided to walk back to the hotel because it really was quite close. It wasn't more than a 15 minute walk.

There is breakfast available. We thought it was free when we booked the room, but we were actually charged 5 euro each for breakfast. If you are short on time, I suppose it is worth it to eat at the hotel. They had the standard breakfast fare: hardboiled eggs, bread, rolls, muesli, coffee, juice.

Overall, a good hotel for budget travelers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelebogile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the train station and city centre. The staff are exceedingly friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA & Venice, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Pros: Cheap, clean rooms, Great comforters and pillows, huge room, good service, close to train station, free parking.
Cons: Not in the Altstadt.

85 Euro got us a mini suite, but we would have traded the larger room for something more central.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

This hotel was only aorund 10 minutes walk to the centre of the old town. (You can also catch the tram.) Whilst the decor is dated, the rooms were large and vert comfortable. Mine even had a large lounge area. Wireless internet use was free. Everything was very clea. Breakfast was varied and tasty. Overall for the price, I thought it was good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Augsburg hotels
Ibis Budget Augsburg City
#8 of 31 in Augsburg
340 reviews
Ibis Augsburg Hauptbahnhof
#10 of 31 in Augsburg
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Hotel Ost am Ko
#2 of 31 in Augsburg
285 reviews
Lechhausen-Ost
Quality Hotel Augsburg
Quality Hotel Augsburg
#4 of 31 in Augsburg
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadthotel Augsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadthotel Augsburg

Property: Stadthotel Augsburg
Address: Goegginger Str. 39, 86159 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Augsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stadthotel Augsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stadthotel Augsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing