We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, efficient service”

Bayerisches Haus am Dom
Ranked #4 of 501 Restaurants in Augsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pleasant, efficient service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Friendly and efficient servce, tasty and good value food in typically generous Bavarian portions. Ate there twice and very satisfied both times; the food was freshly cooked and very enjoyable for both meat eaters and vegetarians. Outdoor seating very welcome in this year's hot weather.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelraterScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    125
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Since I was in the hotel more or less across the street for more than a week, I went three times to this establishment for food. I gave them the benefit of doubt after a disappointing Wiener Schnitzel - it was late and the chef was tired, I was slightly disgusted by a cold platter that consisted of what tasted like canned food, and was thoroughly disappointed when even the soup of the day was inedible.
The problem of this restaurant is that they are not serving fresh food, I believe most is coming out of cans, soup included. Good beer. Very nice service. Food until very late in the evening, which was the reason I went there twice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meikdahogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasty local dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

The service was fast, friendly, and efficient and the traditional Bavarian dishes that we ordered were delicious.Try the Bavarian starter that has a taste of a number of meats and similar.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank suemissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Bavarian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

I really enjoyed the food and beer. It was quite pleasant sitting outside. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FinnoSmells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
667 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Good for local specialties”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

This is pretty authentic Bavarian dining experience in terms of food and drink -- which means very hearty food and substantial portion sizes. While I'm not sure I would ever order a cannonball size pork knuckle again, it was certainly a memorable and tasty experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayerisches Haus am Dom also viewed

 
Augsburg, Swabia
 

Been to Bayerisches Haus am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing