We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, practical and very friendly hospitable staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel Ost am Ko
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, practical and very friendly hospitable staff”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

If you're used to European non-chain hotels then you won't be surprised by the size of the rooms or the lack of simple services like a bell boy. If you're traveling from Africa or the Mid-East then get used to practicality and cost reduction. All this said, I would still recommend that you stay at this hotel, I felt the staff tried to take the extra step, they actually took my bags to the room, reception is open 24hrs, there is a well stocked bar fridge in the room, and most surprisingly all three of us staying at the hotel got free Internet access to the Telekom Hotspot. Many of the above isn't very common in most European hotels.
The down side is the breakfast, although all tasted very nice but the variety was really limited, but the waiters were friendly and tried to please. Rooms are clean and there is satellite TV with channels to cater for most languages.
The hotel's location is brilliant 3 min walk to the main train station and 2 min from the city center, where restaurants, coffee shops and quick bite joints are available.
Room rates were on the expensive side but we were in Bavaria for the Munich Bauma Construction Exhibition and the whole province took advantage. However, I was told that on a normal day we would have paid 60% less and on a normal weekend 70% less.
I would certainly stay there again and advise you stay there, too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalamaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    145
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
55
111
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The hotel is centrally located in Augsburg, a 10 minute walk from the main station, and next to Königsplatz (which is being rebuilt as I write, as is indeed it would seem most of the city).

I stayed here with my wife over the Easter period and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we could not fault it.

We could even choose our own rooms out of the ones on our floor available.

The staff are friendly, competant and very informative. The rooms are good with flat screen TV and mini-bar.

Beds and mattresses very good, nice and firm without being too hard.

Our view from the window was also good, with the Rathous towering above the other old buildings.

Breakfast is a buffet, and the choice is excellent, they even have an egg menu, with omlettes, hard and soft boiled eggs and scrambled eggs. I recomend you try their "egg in a glass".

I hope to visit the city again, and need not look any further than this hotel, it really is a gem.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back, which was excellent, however not sure about street noise from the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I would definitely stay here again. The rooms are quite big for Europe. The wifi is good. The Breakfast is very good. It's close to the tram and bus line. The people are very nice and also speak English. For long stays the laundry is a bit expensive. If you are here in the summer remember that there is no air conditioning at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickstelmat308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Small friendly hotel located in central Augsburg. Arrived in Augsburg by train from Munich and the hotel is an easy ten minute walk from the station. Checkin was quick and the reception staff had a friendly attitude with well spoken English. Was also lucky enough to get a free room upgrade.

Room was clean and comfortable and although the bathroom was a bit on the small side, wasn't a problem. Overlooking the main street, but didn't have any problems with noise. Also something I haven't seen in a while....rooms locked using an old fashioned key :) The only additional feature I would have like to have seen in the room would have been tea and coffee making facilites.

Breakfast was included in the rate and this was a typical continental style cold buffet (no hot food). The choice was fresh and varied.

If you like Bavarian style pub food then would recommend the smallish pub/restaurant Gasthaus Zum Weißen Hasen, which is just round the corner from the hotel. Friendly service (some English spoken) and the local keller beer is worth a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natal, Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Very good location, it's a little bit noisy but you can still sleep, I found the toilet too small. They had a construction on the street and that got me confused to find the hotel parking. Call them in advance to ask for directions to their parking otherwise the gps can't help you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luiz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I stayed a week at the City Hotel Ost am Kö and definitely would stay there again. I had single room, admittedly not the biggest, however it was comfortable, clean, with a great shower/bathroom. The property has been upgraded. There are lights everywhere in the room and I have never seen so many power outlets in a hotel room ever. No problem getting all my electronics charged up. WiFi access has to be bought and was a bit dodgy in my room. However my friend in the next room said that his WiFi was absolutely brilliant.
The hotel is in an excellent location. Seedy area? I haven't a clue what that reviewer is talking about. The hotel on one side backs up to the pedestrianized Augsburg Old Town and on the left side is the famous Annahof. The main train station is a very easy and short walk away. Bus and tram stops are within 200 feet of the front door.
Breakfast is between 6:30 and 11. great buffet spread and they will also make you some bacon and eggs if requested.
The reception is open 24 hours and the folks there will help you with just about anything. The hotel has no restaurant and no bar area as such. Mr. Peter Larkin at the reception was particularly helpful.

Room Tip: If you are a really light sleeper request a room in the back of the property. The trams start runnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralfm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfonsinaa, Manager at City Hotel Ost am Ko, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear hotel guest "ralfm1",

thanks a lot for your detailed and pleasing feedback. We are always happy when our guests enjoy their stay in our city hotel directly in the center of Augsburg, and share their experience (especially after a longer stay). This helps other interested guests to get to know our hotel. Thank you also for the extra accolade to our receptionist Mr. Larkin.

Best wishes
your Ulrich Family and hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diepe
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Out of 6 weeks travel this still remains our worst hotel experience. The only good thing I can say is the receptionist was lovely. Hotel is in a very seedy area, the room was dated and needed a really good clean. During the night it was so noisy...sounded like people going through the bins all night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Augsburg hotels
Dom Hotel
#2 of 31 in Augsburg
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgs-Kreuzviertel
Augsburger Hof
Augsburger Hof
#7 of 31 in Augsburg
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ost am Ko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ost am Ko

Property: City Hotel Ost am Ko
Address: Fuggerstr. 4-6, 86150 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Augsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Augsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Hotel Ost am Ko 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our feel good, premium-comfort category, City Hotel Ost "am Koe" is located at the main public transit point "Koenigsplatz" in the city center of downtown Augsburg. The well refined non smoking Hotel with the heartwarming hospitality and Mediterranean ambiance is open 24 hours every day. Our gourmet breakfast buffet is available till 12:00 am every day. Furthermore the central located downtown Hotel in the heart of the pedestrian area offers modern, comfortable and clean rooms in 3 categories. All rooms are equipped with new LCD Flatscreen televisions with SAT-TV/SAT-RADIO and WLAN (T-mobile HotSpot). The rooms offer a well stocked minibar, a free internet station in the lobby and the Hotel Sauna with Relax area.. Free WLAN stretches through the whole Hotel area. Adjoining to our Hotel we have a parking garage for your services, Annagarage (discounted rates are available - billing at the hotel) The Main Train station "Hauptbahnhof", all public transportation, the "Kongresshalle am Park" (Congress fair-center and park) and the historic old part of town with all the main sights are all within walking distance. No animals are allowed on Hotel premisses. Last partial remodeling of the Hotel - January/March 2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel Ost am Ko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Augsburg
Augsburg Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing