We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but quirky”
Review of Hezelhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hezelhof Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the Hezelhof after reading the Trip Advisor write ups. Let me reiterate some things others have said: Not very friendly for those with physical restrictions (there is a lift but you will need to walk some distance around and in back to get there), the parking is extra and only 3 spots so reserve or get your car out of whatever spot you may get lucky in finding before 10 AM, and the rooms are clean and very spare (I say bare but many think minimalist).
The staff and everyone else but the maids are very helpful and friendly. We were in Room 101, which is large and right next to the elevator. The only problem is that the maids service room is also right next to it and they are ready to get cleaning and will knock several times after they know you have not left and stare as you leave. After all of the great help and friendliness, this really kept my rating low and management should do a little training.
I would say this is an above average hotel that could be higher rated with some easy fixes. None of these should keep you from choosing the Hezelhof.

Room Tip: Make sure you do get a room in the building with the lift, there are several different buildings so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runamook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We loved the Hezelhof in Dinkelsbuhl. The suite we had was modern and comfortable. It was fairly quiet even though it overlooked the street on the weekend during a festival. The rooms were tastefully decorated. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. We were able to park our car directly across the street from the hotel with a complimentary parking pass from the hotel. The breakfast was fresh and had a good variety. Everything was spotlessly clean. The only drawback is that to check in you must carry your luggage down a flight of stairs to the check in desk in the basement and then back up another flight of stairs to the hotel rooms. You can probably avoid this by bringing luggage around through the security gate in the alley. This hotel could be challenging, but not impossible for handicapped. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Dinkelsbuhl.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheesehead_In_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent 3 nights in july in this wonderful hotel. Old and traditional on the outside but modern and comfortable on the inside. Clean and very well cared for. No hesitation in staying again. On the down side the church bells at 6am are a nightmare!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here for one night in August and liked it a lot. Our little "apartment" had a living room and kitchenette (which we used for coffee and tea), modern furniture and a very comfortable bed. And, it was absolutely quiet; our room was within the courtyard, although noise is not a problem regardless of where your room, even though the hotel is in the center of this quaint town. There is no through traffic, as such.

An affiliated restaurant across the street has good food and service; we had dinner there. It is also the location for breakfast; the buffet was sumptuous and extensive.

One must be prepared to climb steps to one's room; the staircases are narrow, as this is a renovated and modernized building, so stairs have to be considered.

The person at the reception was delightful and accommodating.

We certainly can recommend this charming hotel unequivocally.

Susan and Ken

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwissKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spent one night here. The hotel is split into two different parts and we spent one night in the "newer" part. It was decorated in very modern furniture and the bed seemed to be pretty new. We found this hotel to be very clean and the location to tour the historical area was great. We enjoyed breakfast and they had lots of great foods to choose from. We loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanceb4019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at the Hezelhof Hotel for a few days in late June 2013.This is an unusual hotel. While its exterior is consistent with Dinkelsbuhl’s preservation of its “medieval” character, the hotel’s interior has been fully renovated to be ultra-modern. In keeping with that, its décor is up-scale modern with white tones and clean lines. Our room was large and continued the modern décor of the hotel. It offered comfortable beds, a couch and coffee table, a flat-screen TV, free high-speed internet (after exceeding the heavy-use limit you will be charged), a desk and chair, and a built-in kitchen nook with all the essentials including a sink, a mini-frig, a micro-wave, and basic cooking/eating equipment. The bathroom was very large and very up-scale. The place was well-maintained and spotlessly clean.
Our reservation included breakfast at a room rate of Euro 128 per night for the double “suite”. But our bill was broken down into Euro 116 for the room and Euro 12 for breakfast for two. Unless you are big breakfast eaters, I am not sure that the breakfast charge was a value although the food offerings were extensive and good—including eggs and salmon. If you are light breakfast eaters as we are, it might be preferable, if possible, to reserve a room without breakfast and buy what you need for breakfast from the store down the street and use the kitchen nook in your room.
Parking on the street has limited hours so you might consider reserving one of the hotel’s three parking places—unless you are up to juggling your car around in the day.
We highly recommend the Hezelhof, and would stay there again if we were to return to Dinkelsbuhl.
One night we had dinner at the Pizzeria Sorrento which was recently purchased by an Italian couple. The restaurant is now much more than a pizzeria as the Italian couple have converted it to a full-fledged Italian restaurant with an extensive menu. Our food was excellent; the service was tops; and the price offers a very good value. The restaurant is changing its name to Trattoria da Vito. It is at: 9 Dr. Martin Luther Strasse. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OneFairCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Location: Dinkelsbühl is such a small town that location doesn’t really matter. It is most likely that you would travel to this town by car. With this in mind be sure to contact the hotel in advance for one of the three parking spots they can reserve 50 metres from the hotel.

Rooms: The hotel is split into two sides. We stayed in a room in the newly refurbished (mid 2013) side above the restaurant (Luis) that also serves the complimentary breakfast. The rooms are very comfortable and well designed. Actually nearing the completion of our round-the-world trip as I write this, I can state that the hotel rooms were among the most comfortable on the trip. The bed in particular deserves a mention. My wife and I have very different preferences when it comes to bed surfaces. At breakfast we both instantly remarked to each other how well we slept due to the bed. I would love to purchase one, it was that good.

Staff: Extremely helpful. I emailed the staff prior requesting a car spot. They replied quickly and friendly, and showed us to our room personally explaining everything that was required. They made us feel welcome. The only exception to this was one of the restaurant staff members. Germanic staff can be stone faced as part of the culture, but one staff member in particular was rude once I asked more than a couple of questions about their menu.

Would I stay again: Yes. I’ve already highly recommended it to friends and would choose to stay here more than a single night even if to get a decent nights rest.

Rating Sleep quality 5/5 - So good that I want to go back an change the rest of my 40+ reviews and downgrade them to 3/5 or less. It really is that good!

Only let down - the rude staff member at Luis restaurant attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dinkelsbuhl hotels
0 mi away
Deutsches Haus
Deutsches Haus
#1 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
221 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#11 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Hecht
Hotel Blauer Hecht
#3 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
#9 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#10 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dinkelsbuehler Kunst-Stuben
Dinkelsbuehler Kunst-Stuben
#4 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hezelhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hezelhof Hotel

Address: Segringer Str. 7, 91550 Dinkelsbuhl, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Dinkelsbuhl
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Price Range: £90 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hezelhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hezelhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing