We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall disappointment”
Review of Deutsches Haus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deutsches Haus
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

For the price, this hotel is a bit drab and weary, as is Dinkelsbuhl itself. While other reviewers found it "priceworthy", this is not within my definition of value for money. The hotel exterior is dramatic and enticing, but once inside, the guest rooms are a bit sterile, drab and unappealing. They are large but lack coziness and taste.

There is a wide staircase leading to guest rooms which has preserved the Bavarian appeal, while "heavy" and darkish, the hallways are reasonably charming.

The dining room maintains lovely Bavarian features, offering guests an excellent first impression upon entering the hotel making it a challenge for rooms to compete. The service is excellent and the food well presented and prepared. Well worth dining here.

Breakfast is average. Location in center of Dinklesbuhl is good, but unless headed on the Romantic road with other goals and purpose, neither city nor hotel are quite worth a side visit.

The hotel had made a mistake in our booking. They were most fair in negotiating, allowing the initial booking price as it was their oversight. This left us with a far more favorable final feeling. Honest, good people in the tough hotel and restaurant business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simmonsparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

In town center opposite entrance to St George's Church.
Beautiful 16th Century timbered building but room with modern facilities.
Still some medieval character inside hotel.
Wide staircase easy access.
Double room very spacious, spotlessly clean and good value for money.
Staff courteous, helpful and at least bilingual: German / English.
Very glad to have stayed here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Dinkelsbühl is a very nice old town. An Deutches house is a very nice and priceworthy hotel in a very nice city with god food and a friendly staf. They took care of us and kept the kitchen open when we arrived late. The food and the breakfast was excellent. We can really recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartenOhlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This hotel is charming, with a central location, spacious rooms, and great value. Staff at check in was a little disinterested, but all other experiences with staff were great. Breakfast was good, didn't eat at the restaurant, as it looked a little modern, and we were in the mood for traditional German fare. Beds were very firm but the rooms were tidy, very charming, and well equipped. You won't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland_Klein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We lucked out when a local recommended this hotel.
It was delightful, the room was large and very clean and comfortable.
The decor was charming and the included breakfast was great.

No A/C in the rooms, but with the windows open, there was a pleasant breeze.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gday2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Best service , good location and good price comes together and here is Deutsches Haus.
You can feel that it is a the family owned business.Owner was serving and hosting dinner for us. Room was comfortable and well decorated.Had the best dinner in Germany. If you plan to go to Dinkelsbuhl you must try this hotel.

Room Tip: My room was on the road side as city is not crowded dont hasitate to have a room that side there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molly3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We happened to stay here by accident--by good luck!--and although it was slightly more than we were hoping to pay it was still very reasonable and ended up being so worth it. We arrived late and they went out of their way to piece something together for us for dinner, which was still great. It was right on the town square which was absolutely perfect because there was a festival that night and we got front-row seats to the whole spectacle. This place was a real treat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgansue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dinkelsbuhl hotels
0 mi away
Hezelhof Hotel
Hezelhof Hotel
#1 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
156 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#11 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
#9 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Meiser`s
Hotel Meiser`s
#6 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
35 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Eisenkrug
Hotel Eisenkrug
#5 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dinkelsbuehler Kunst-Stuben
Dinkelsbuehler Kunst-Stuben
#4 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deutsches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutsches Haus

Address: Weinmarkt 3, 91550 Dinkelsbuhl, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Dinkelsbuhl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Price Range: £88 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deutsches Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive, relax and enjoy - enjoy yourself!Your way to us leads you into the heart of a contemplative scenary at the Romantic Street, where rest and recreation inspire your spirits and where an excellent way of living also expresses itself in delicious food.Enjoy an easy going time at one of the most beautiful hotels in the southern part of germany, in Dinkelsbuhl, a very attractive town dated from the Midlle Ages. Be our guest in our house full of history, tradition and savoir vivre.Out of a patrician`s home , originally built in 1440 , we have created a refuge of good taste, and have preserved the unique character and charme of the traditional property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deutsches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing