We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, phenomenal location, great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant Piazza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Piazza
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice room, phenomenal location, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Very pleasant experience at this near-empty hotel I visited off-season in January. Price came to a very reasonable 55 euros, including a large breakfast spread. Location is right in heart of old city near almost all the sites you'd want to see. I even walked 1 minute to the medieval Catholic church for the Sunday service. Room was renovated and nice, but the building preserved an appealing old-style feel. I'm sure the prices shoot up during the tour bus season, but it's a good value if you like non-stuffy establishments as I do.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaytee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    17
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
22
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eching, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Hotel seems to have been restored, though not to its best. The room was painted a garish Puke yellow colour. The bathroom was not very clean, there were hairs from the predecessor in the shower, and the tiles were cracked and broken. Definately not for the faint hearted. Beds were comfortable but the room was very small.
The Evening dinner, when it finally arrived about 1.5 hours after ordering, was excellent. Breakfast was a good English with eggs bacon and various breads.
It was adequate for one night but not really where you would like to spend a week. But NOTE it is not suitable for disabled visitors as there are no lifts and everywhere is steps and staircases.

Room Tip: Not Lifts and no ground level entrance, so not really recommended for disabled visitors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanZiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

This place made up for a lot of iffy hotels on our tour.Hotel charming,clean Very good food.Staff very pleasant.BUT the jewel in the crown is location.Dinkelsbuhl. what a beautiful town,straight out of a children's book,simply wonderful to walk around . The only prob l had was that we were only there one night, It deserves a much longer stay.loved it

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1,156 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 516 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

The hotel had room TV with +- 25 channels but only in German. When the manager was asked if they had any English channels, the answer was no but if we walked down the street, we could watch in English in a shop!!
The room had a fridge but it didn't work. The manager said that it would be cold in about 1/2 hour of switching on... we had switched it on about 1 hour before. He then admitted it was broken!

Do not stay here as there are many more in the walled town.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel instead of this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurers049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
295 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Very warm welcome. The Hotel in on one of the main street in town and is easy to find. Parking is on the street and again easy and free of charge. The Hotel is loaded with charm. Both the breakfast room and restaurant rooms or quintessential german. My room was large, a double used as a single, and was spotless. I ate Dinner at the Hotel and was not diappointed. I had the spatzle. Possibly the best part of this stay was upon my checkout the total made me feel as though we were still on the Clinton dollar. A great value!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorkon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here for six days. Our accommodation consisted of bed room, bath room and living room. For the equivalent of £70 per night B&B for the two of us, it was great value. The room was clean and of a good standard. The breakfasts were wholesome and plentiful. Tha staff were largely english speaking and helpful. The location excellent and the restuarnt food on an evening was of a high standard. Although we were at the front of the hotel and the traffic over the cobbles could be a trifle noisy, it was not a problem due to the very efficient double glazing and low level of traffic flow. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polo-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

The Hotel Goldene Kanne in Dinkelsbühl is a superb, old hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The hotel's restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDaleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dinkelsbuhl hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#5 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deutsches Haus
Deutsches Haus
#1 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hezelhof Hotel
Hezelhof Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dinkelsbuehler Kunst-Stuben
Dinkelsbuehler Kunst-Stuben
#3 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
#8 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Hecht
Hotel Blauer Hecht
#4 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Piazza

Property: Hotel Restaurant Piazza
Address: Segringer Str. 8, 91550 Dinkelsbuhl, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Goldene Kanne)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Dinkelsbuhl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Piazza 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dinkelsbuehl, City of gates and towers.Located along the famous romantic route, Dinkelsbuehl is a "fairytale dream from long ago times". Winded streets, timber-framed houses of an scenic historic city with roots, reaching back until medieval times, inviting You on a journey to the past.The Grimm Familiy welcomes You for stay in Dinkelsbuehl and being a guest of their beautiful Piazza Hotel.Our house, located within a historic structure, offers 21 Rooms and an Restaurant with extraordinary mediterranean food.Whatever may lead You towards us, a City Trip along romantic route, a romantic weekend for two people in love, a family trip.No matter if it's a short trip, Holidays or starting point for long distance walking - the Piazza Team would like to give You a stay as relaxing as possible.We are looking to seeing You! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Piazza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing