We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gastehaus Schoeberl
Ranked #2 of 24 Fussen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Fussen was a really beautiful town to visit in great part to Pia and Georg, the owners of this lovely bed and breakfast!! They were very accommodating, the room was huge and probably the cleanest hotel room we've ever stayed in! The location of the hotel is a quick walk from the train station - you'll never need a car.

I can't recommend Schoeberl enough! Out of six places we stayed in Europe on our most recent trip, it was the best and most welcoming!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
68
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

It's a 5 minutes walk from Fussen train station to Gastehaus Schoeberl. There were two supermarkets nearby. We were surprised to see this well decorated B&B house (those shared areas). The room was simple but extremely spacious, with a separated small living room. The environment was spotlessly clean. Everything in the bathroom was ready for a traveler.

The lady host looked a bit cool but she did everything we needed. She even offered us a privilege card that entitled us to free bus from Fussen station to the castle, as well as discount for castle tickets.

The breakfast was very good and we especially loved the boiled eggs with hat decoration - very sweet.

Room Tip: Even we stayed in the room on the ground floor facing the main street, there was no significant dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We arrived at the Gasthaus Schoeberl at 9pm and knocked the door. The lady who showed up refused to rent us a room because, as she said, the minimum stay is two nights. That was not a very polite reply, I guess..

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Nakel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stopped here for 2 nights in October during our drive along the Alpine Route (Alpenstrasse). The weather was unseasonably cold but it was warm and cosy inside our room in this B&B. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom had a lot of thoughtful details. We had requested a street level room and there was a little noise from outside but it didn't bother us.The b/b is well situated for walking to all the sights, eateries and shops in Fussen. Fussen is indeed a good base to visit the two famous German castles - Neuschwanstein and Hohenswangau, as both are about a 15-minute drive away. In the afternoon, we visited the gorgeous "church in the meadow", the Wieskirche and explored the pretty town of Oberammergau before returning to Gastehaus Schoeberl for another good night's sleep.The owners serve a good breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Fussen is a beautiful quaint town, the hotel is located on one of the main streets. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. The room was so tastefully decorated, you felt like you were in a very nice home. The bed was cozy and wonderful to sleep after having a splendid meal right down the street, where George is the chef.
Breakfast was just like the entire atmosphere: trendy, inviting and GOOD. Pia has a talent of "putting thing together"...It just makes your stay feel that much better.

Room Tip: The room located on the street level, with 2 big doorway windows gets a bit of noise and lights from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
292 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as booked and arrived on the dot at the requested time - a major feat considering we travelled a long distance to get there.
We were shown to our room which was right at the top of the building, and we must have we hiked up 4 if not 5 flights of stairs. It had a small sitting area, a balcony and a very small but very clean bathroom with a shower, basin and a loo, together with nice little touches such as eye make-up remover pads, cotton wool buds, tissues, shampoo, hairdryer. In the bedroom was a tray with 2 bottles of complimentary mineral water and a sweetie each on our pillows

We asked if there was a room not so high up (as we had 3 heavy bags) and were told that there was another room but that it didn't have a balcony, that it was smaller and that it wasn't "as nice". The lady of the house was willing to show us the other room but kept saying that the one we had just been shown was the “best in the house”. So…….seeing that we were staying here for 2 nights, we decided after all to keep the room mainly because we felt that we were being somewhat of 'nuisance' as the expression on her face said it all..

We ventured back down the many stairs so as to get our bags from the car and when I asked the lady jokingly if her husband was a ‘strong man’ and could he perhaps please help us with our bags. We were bluntly told: "No, you have to do this yourself"!
This was not really what we wanted to hear bearing in mind she knew that we had an issue with the many stairs. Her husband was busy outside building a roof for their garage, and probably felt that she didn’t want to take him away from his job – who knows? Nevertheless her outright stern remark was most certainly not appreciated and I wasn’t about to go into detail as to why my valid question was so blatantly and rudely refused. Neither was I about to explain that I recently had major surgery. I think she became dismissive after we asked if she had another room without having to negotiate so many stairs, perhaps she took it as an insult which it wasn’t meant to be. Oh well, each to their own I guess, but it did somewhat sour what could have been a happier relationship between guesthouse owner and her paying guests!! The optimum words being PAYING GUESTS.

We went out for dinner in the little old town and found a fun restaurant in which to eat which was great albeit very touristy, but that somehow added to the fun! The food was lovely as was the beer and atmosphere and the service second to none.

The following morning breakfast was ok, the buffet table was nicely laid out with the usual cheeses, cold meats, bread, rolls, yoghurts etc and the coffee was good! I served myself with a few slices of cheese and carefully put the fork back on the cheese tray, but obviously not in the same position as it had originally been placed. This was noted when the lady of the house came back into the room and as she walked past the buffet table the fork was duly put back in the position it was ‘meant’ to be – probably a centimetre to the right or left who knows? And quite frankly, who cares! It was a bit of an unnecessary OTT “oops!” moment and I felt myself inwardly being reprimanded for ‘messing up’ her cheese tray.

After breakfast we were then reminded that we had to register - law in Germany she informed us in a matter of fact tone - and short from asking what time we went to the loo, the form required? us to state all our personal details. Does this remind you of anything?&! Lists, lists and more lists… Anyhow, she gave us a slip of paper (stamped, signed, and dated with a reference number) which, she told us, would enable us to get a discount when buying a ticket to enter the Neuschwanstein Castle. This amounted to be just one Euro per person!

We left early the following morning after breakfast where the atmosphere was a little tense and to be honest, we couldn’t wait to get out of there. The lady of the house as nice and friendly as she might be, didn’t do much for us.
She undoubtedly works hard and keeps a good guesthouse but with everything perhaps a bit too much of the ‘just so’, but it was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable.
On hindsight, we didn’t actually have to pre-book any accommodation at all as there were plenty of other guesthouses in the area, but only after reading the excellent reviews on TA, decided to book this place in advance.

Perhaps other guests don’t ask questions whether there is a room without so many stairs to negotiate.. Still, it was another experience and something to look back on in later years. We smile about it now, but felt at the time that her attitude left a little to be desired.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Baby-Babble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch,New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Wife and I backpacked, hikes, bused, trained around Germany and stayed in eight or so B+B’s chosen at random off Trip Advisor. Fussen was our second to last stop. I can only agree with all the glowing reports of fellow travellers (below) adding the rooms were the largest we encountered on our trip and value for money the best of all the places we stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Schoeberl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Schoeberl

Property: Gastehaus Schoeberl
Address: Luitpoldstr. 14, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gastehaus Schoeberl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing