We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most excellent guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gastehaus Schoeberl
Ranked #2 of 24 Fussen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Most excellent guesthouse”
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Schoeberl Gastehaus for 5 nights in June 2013.George and Pia were wonderful,as were the accomodations.Our room was very large with a sitting area and nice deck to sit out in the evenings.Bathroom was like a 5 star hotel.Clean,clean ,clean and had everything you needed,great shower pressure..Our beds were so comfortable and we had a wide variety of breakfast choices.It is obvious that the Schoeberls take great pride in there guesthouse and go out of their way to accomodate.Being Americans,we like cold beer and chilled wine and Pia provided us with a cooler to use so we could sit outside in the evening on our terrace and enjoy a drink.George directed us with things to do in the area.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and this guesthouse gets our highest recommdation.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank peggy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
68
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This place is close to the train station and the old town. The room was large and very confortable and a good prive. The breakfast was excellent and we were given a Fussen Pass which provided free bus to castles and discounts. We were very happy with the confort, location and how clean eveything was kept.. We would retun here if we return to
Fussen.

Room Tip: We are the ground floor and the windows open up to the street. It was quiet, clean, and very confor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Retiredhappy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Fussen was a really beautiful town to visit in great part to Pia and Georg, the owners of this lovely bed and breakfast!! They were very accommodating, the room was huge and probably the cleanest hotel room we've ever stayed in! The location of the hotel is a quick walk from the train station - you'll never need a car.

I can't recommend Schoeberl enough! Out of six places we stayed in Europe on our most recent trip, it was the best and most welcoming!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

It's a 5 minutes walk from Fussen train station to Gastehaus Schoeberl. There were two supermarkets nearby. We were surprised to see this well decorated B&B house (those shared areas). The room was simple but extremely spacious, with a separated small living room. The environment was spotlessly clean. Everything in the bathroom was ready for a traveler.

The lady host looked a bit cool but she did everything we needed. She even offered us a privilege card that entitled us to free bus from Fussen station to the castle, as well as discount for castle tickets.

The breakfast was very good and we especially loved the boiled eggs with hat decoration - very sweet.

Room Tip: Even we stayed in the room on the ground floor facing the main street, there was no significant dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We arrived at the Gasthaus Schoeberl at 9pm and knocked the door. The lady who showed up refused to rent us a room because, as she said, the minimum stay is two nights. That was not a very polite reply, I guess..

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Nakel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stopped here for 2 nights in October during our drive along the Alpine Route (Alpenstrasse). The weather was unseasonably cold but it was warm and cosy inside our room in this B&B. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom had a lot of thoughtful details. We had requested a street level room and there was a little noise from outside but it didn't bother us.The b/b is well situated for walking to all the sights, eateries and shops in Fussen. Fussen is indeed a good base to visit the two famous German castles - Neuschwanstein and Hohenswangau, as both are about a 15-minute drive away. In the afternoon, we visited the gorgeous "church in the meadow", the Wieskirche and explored the pretty town of Oberammergau before returning to Gastehaus Schoeberl for another good night's sleep.The owners serve a good breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Fussen is a beautiful quaint town, the hotel is located on one of the main streets. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. The room was so tastefully decorated, you felt like you were in a very nice home. The bed was cozy and wonderful to sleep after having a splendid meal right down the street, where George is the chef.
Breakfast was just like the entire atmosphere: trendy, inviting and GOOD. Pia has a talent of "putting thing together"...It just makes your stay feel that much better.

Room Tip: The room located on the street level, with 2 big doorway windows gets a bit of noise and lights from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#12 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Schoeberl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Schoeberl

Property: Gastehaus Schoeberl
Address: Luitpoldstr. 14, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gastehaus Schoeberl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing