We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House L.A. City Hostel
Ranked #14 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Fussen
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Be aware when you book this place as there is more than 1 House LA in Fuessen! I ended up at the wrong one and had to walk for some time to get to the one I was booked in... The room was clean however, the whole place is pretty crowded and was pretty unorganized. Guests can heat their own food in the microwave and "intersting" smells filled the house at any time. I guess, if you need a cheap place to stay close to the "Altstadt" of Fuessen for a night or two it's alright.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canadian-Cowgirl1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hostel was once a house. The rooms have no key so they are open anytime of the day and the night, for everyone. I also found them to be a little noisy. The toilets/showers were often all occupied, not much place to leave your stuff while you shower. Paid wifi, not much of a common area, staff not friendly. It is though close to the central station, but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BR-world-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

If you choose to stay at House LA City Hostel, be aware. They do not lock the entrance door nor do you have keys to lock your room door. That means if you are charging your smart phone, laptop or tablet when you are sleeping, anyone could walk right in and take whatever they want. They do have small lockers which most touring packs and carry on rolling suitcases do not fit.

You should also take note of the attached picture. Hopefully you won't be in the bunk with a large guy climbing the stairs to the bunk above you. Stairs that are cracked and held together with tape.

The hostel was more like those mountain huts which are for shelter where you pretty much serve yourself. When you arrive, the sign says to call them if you need help. Huh? The two women who worked there would often hide behind a staff only door ala The Wizard of Oz. Others would come to check in to the hostel. Those of us in the tiny common area would direct them to knock on the door.

A few of us arrived to find they had somehow misplaced our reservations, overbooked. Too bad so sad for you. You don't even get a proper bed. You get the fold up bed crammed into the room! The others in your room are unable to recharge their phones or tablets because their cords would stretch over your pitiful excuse for a bed.

Self service is understood in hostels, but House LA City Hostel does not have a kitchen for guests to use, only staff. There is a small fridge and a kettle to heat water in the common room.

On the positive side, the hostel is clean. The showers are good sized with good water pressure. If you chose to stay at House LA City Hostel, you should have really low expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelersez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

There are 2 parts to this hostel- we did not stay in the property featured in the profile photo of this hostel. They had lots of booking and hence we were put in their annex property in another part of the town (not too far) which had more private parking space. Six of us stayed in one room- a bit crammed for 6 but OK for a night. We had an en-suite washroom and were also given the choice of using the common toilets. There was only 1 person handling the check in (no check in or fancy reception -just a desk with a PC for him to work) -but the tall German gentleman handling the duty spoke good English (and quite a few other languages) and was a jolly good fellow.

The hostel facilities are basic, the location is not bad (not central but then Fussen is a pretty small place most of which can be covered on foot) the rooms are so-so and a bit run down , but basically not a bad deal for the tariff considering that this town is almost always filled with the tourists visiting the nearby Neushwanstein castle and all the establishments have touristy rates reflecting the high volumes that this small town sees.

Fussen itself is a pretty small town worth meandering around with lots of choices for dinner and breakfast. But I guess it gets lesser credit than it deserves because of the more famous nearby attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UNNIMAYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Reading other reviews, it sounds like the private rooms are coming out on top of the dorm rooms. We stayed 2 nights at the hostel in a 3-bed private room with a bunk bed & double bed. Room was neat and tidy. Towels provided were too small and looked a bit worn out. Lucky for us we always carry our own as backup. There were 1.5 bathrooms (both clean) on our floor, so if at all there was a wait, it was only to use the shower (we found no wait time at all for early risers). Amenities provided by the hostel are very basic. Guests should bring their own toiletries. There was good wifi coverage. We did not opt for breakfast at the hostel. There is ample parking out front, or on the street. Great location, close to the castles.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsera270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Extremely rustic even for a hostel. My only positive comment is that the workers were very kind. But here is the rest of the story: When you arrive (no matter the hour), you have to call on a phone for someone to come check you in. They say it will take 3 minutes, but they really mean 30 minutes! We got in at 4pm by train, walked to the hostel by 4:15 and had to wait until almost 5:00 for them to check us in. This meant we missed the last bus ride up the mountain to the castles. (We ended up finding a taxi to take us). Booking online is VERY DECEPTIVE and tricky--we were under the impression that we had our own bathroom, but when we arrived we found that we were sharing two bathrooms with about 20 people. The towels were dirty and old. The shower experience was interesting: you only had two choices....1. scalding hot trickle (no water pressure) or 2. freezing cold water with a lot of pressure. We would not recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hefmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed in Fussen for one night and arrived late on the train. We called the day before to confirm that we could check in between 9 and 9:30pm. The owner told us, absolutely, he would make sure there was someone there until 9:30pm. We arrived at 9:10pm, and there was no one there. We tried calling the number posted, with no answer. By 10:15, we had looked around and found that there were 2 beds left in the 8 person dorm we had booked. So we took those beds as we had to be up really early the next morning. As I was falling asleep, I heard them stroll in around 11. The next morning we were packed and ready to go. We called the number again to let them know we needed to check out. I should point out that the owner through all of this was really great to deal with over the phone. The entire problem is with the reception staff. We had to knock on her door for over ten minutes before she finally answered. We let her know that we needed to pay her and check in and out. We were extremely disappointed in the service we received, especially since we called ahead to warn them of our situation.

Apart from this, I can see how staying in this hostel would be very convenient. It's in a good location, it's cheap and it's relatively clean. It's too bad that the service completely overshadowed the positive aspects of this hostel for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren_skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
851 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Fussen
0.3 mi away
City Apart Hotel Fussen
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 40 in Fussen
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House L.A. City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House L.A. City Hostel

Address: Wachsbleiche 2, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Fussen
Price Range: £36 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing