We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value acommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House L.A. City Hostel
Ranked #13 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Fussen
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value acommodation”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The City Hostel is very well located. The staff is very friendly and always ready to explain whatever you need about the town (even if some of them lack in English skills).
The rooms are very clean and well decorated.
The internet is a bit temperamental depending on each room you get.
The bathrooms are all shared but surprisingly clean.
There's no common kitchen but there is a common dining room with a fridge and a kettle. It's possible to use the microwave from the staff kitchen but only from 7am to 8pm so make sure you organize your time well :)
Also, make sure you let them know in case of a late (after 8pm) check in, as the reception is closed by then. In that case there's a phone available that you can use to call the manager and he will direct you to the room (a simple but brillant idea)
The breakfast is simple but good for the price, and freshly made.
My belief is that the place is better for friends, couples and sinlge backpackers than for families :)

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms in the ground floor because they are big and private, but keep in mind that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborarolvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    21
    16
    13
    5
See reviews for
15
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claresholm, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Be aware when you book this place as there is more than 1 House LA in Fuessen! I ended up at the wrong one and had to walk for some time to get to the one I was booked in... The room was clean however, the whole place is pretty crowded and was pretty unorganized. Guests can heat their own food in the microwave and "intersting" smells filled the house at any time. I guess, if you need a cheap place to stay close to the "Altstadt" of Fuessen for a night or two it's alright.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadian-Cowgirl1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fussen hotels

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hostel was once a house. The rooms have no key so they are open anytime of the day and the night, for everyone. I also found them to be a little noisy. The toilets/showers were often all occupied, not much place to leave your stuff while you shower. Paid wifi, not much of a common area, staff not friendly. It is though close to the central station, but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BR-world-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

If you choose to stay at House LA City Hostel, be aware. They do not lock the entrance door nor do you have keys to lock your room door. That means if you are charging your smart phone, laptop or tablet when you are sleeping, anyone could walk right in and take whatever they want. They do have small lockers which most touring packs and carry on rolling suitcases do not fit.

You should also take note of the attached picture. Hopefully you won't be in the bunk with a large guy climbing the stairs to the bunk above you. Stairs that are cracked and held together with tape.

The hostel was more like those mountain huts which are for shelter where you pretty much serve yourself. When you arrive, the sign says to call them if you need help. Huh? The two women who worked there would often hide behind a staff only door ala The Wizard of Oz. Others would come to check in to the hostel. Those of us in the tiny common area would direct them to knock on the door.

A few of us arrived to find they had somehow misplaced our reservations, overbooked. Too bad so sad for you. You don't even get a proper bed. You get the fold up bed crammed into the room! The others in your room are unable to recharge their phones or tablets because their cords would stretch over your pitiful excuse for a bed.

Self service is understood in hostels, but House LA City Hostel does not have a kitchen for guests to use, only staff. There is a small fridge and a kettle to heat water in the common room.

On the positive side, the hostel is clean. The showers are good sized with good water pressure. If you chose to stay at House LA City Hostel, you should have really low expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelersez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABUDHABI UAE
Level Contributor
304 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

There are 2 parts to this hostel- we did not stay in the property featured in the profile photo of this hostel. They had lots of booking and hence we were put in their annex property in another part of the town (not too far) which had more private parking space. Six of us stayed in one room- a bit crammed for 6 but OK for a night. We had an en-suite washroom and were also given the choice of using the common toilets. There was only 1 person handling the check in (no check in or fancy reception -just a desk with a PC for him to work) -but the tall German gentleman handling the duty spoke good English (and quite a few other languages) and was a jolly good fellow.

The hostel facilities are basic, the location is not bad (not central but then Fussen is a pretty small place most of which can be covered on foot) the rooms are so-so and a bit run down , but basically not a bad deal for the tariff considering that this town is almost always filled with the tourists visiting the nearby Neushwanstein castle and all the establishments have touristy rates reflecting the high volumes that this small town sees.

Fussen itself is a pretty small town worth meandering around with lots of choices for dinner and breakfast. But I guess it gets lesser credit than it deserves because of the more famous nearby attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UNNIMAYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Reading other reviews, it sounds like the private rooms are coming out on top of the dorm rooms. We stayed 2 nights at the hostel in a 3-bed private room with a bunk bed & double bed. Room was neat and tidy. Towels provided were too small and looked a bit worn out. Lucky for us we always carry our own as backup. There were 1.5 bathrooms (both clean) on our floor, so if at all there was a wait, it was only to use the shower (we found no wait time at all for early risers). Amenities provided by the hostel are very basic. Guests should bring their own toiletries. There was good wifi coverage. We did not opt for breakfast at the hostel. There is ample parking out front, or on the street. Great location, close to the castles.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsera270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Extremely rustic even for a hostel. My only positive comment is that the workers were very kind. But here is the rest of the story: When you arrive (no matter the hour), you have to call on a phone for someone to come check you in. They say it will take 3 minutes, but they really mean 30 minutes! We got in at 4pm by train, walked to the hostel by 4:15 and had to wait until almost 5:00 for them to check us in. This meant we missed the last bus ride up the mountain to the castles. (We ended up finding a taxi to take us). Booking online is VERY DECEPTIVE and tricky--we were under the impression that we had our own bathroom, but when we arrived we found that we were sharing two bathrooms with about 20 people. The towels were dirty and old. The shower experience was interesting: you only had two choices....1. scalding hot trickle (no water pressure) or 2. freezing cold water with a lot of pressure. We would not recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hefmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#12 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House L.A. City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House L.A. City Hostel

Property: House L.A. City Hostel
Address: Wachsbleiche 2, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing