We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality stay for a goo price”
Review of Central City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Fussen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Quality stay for a goo price”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed a night en route to skiing hut in Austria and truly enjoyed the place. The family room we had was spacious and clean, we had a great night with all 3 kids and liked the small city. The owner was very kind, and offered to pay back part ща what we spent on a breakfast. The catle of Neusvanstein is really few minutes drive away, use a chance to visit the beautiful place

Room Tip: you can enter the hotel more or less freely, there is a free parking for 3 cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    94
    37
    7
    4
See reviews for
95
83
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We spent the weekend before New Year's here and had a great stay. The owner is so hospitable and kind that I wouldn't hesitate to return again! He repeatedly went out of the way to help us with various things and even called us after we checked to let us know they found our iPad while cleaning the room. The breakfast was good, the room was clean, and just perfect for a family traveling. We also had another family with young children traveling with us and our rooms were right across the hall from each other. Location was great, very close to the castles and just a stone's throw from many restaurants and downtown area. Overall excellent and would definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arains1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The rooms are modern, spacious and spotlessly clean. The continental breakfast was fresh and enjoyable. The B&B is very close to the train station and to the bus for the castles. We were with three other couples and Haus Gabriel provided a great base to explore the surrounding area. We didn't want to waste money paying for services and facilities eg gyms, pools etc we would not use and that's exactly what we got. A great room to come back to at the end of the day where a nice hot shower and a comfortable bed awaited.

Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The owner was lovely. Seemed to want to really make sure we were happy.
We turned up late but nothing was too much bother for him.
Bathroom sparkled.
We had 2 bedroom apartment which was spacious and had 2 bathrooms.
Breakfast upstairs was decent with meats and cheese as well as cereals etc.
Felt very welcome.
A lucky find :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lissc1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa city, Iowa, USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We searched all the sites and booked our reservations for Haus Gabriel because of the positive reviews and location. Pros: great location close to grocery, shopping,train station and more..., clean rooms, had family suite for 4 which gave two kids their own twin beds and us a large bed in separate rooms, good wifi, excellent breakfast. Kettle in room, cleaning available daily, clean towels daily. Nice hosts with access to assistance at all hours.
The only con would be the tiny size of the kids bathroom made it difficult to use for a tall 6 foot teen, Which was not a problem because our other bathroom was huge. It would be fine for little kids to use the second bathroom.

Room Tip: It was a little tricky to find... because you have to go around to the back of the building to enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Visit Fussen most definitely! The "old town" and the nearby castles were a highlight of our trip to Europe. It is so beautiful, clean and absolutely picturesque. We recommend Haus Gabriel most highly. The rooms were large, warm, clean and newly renovated.The bathrooms were clean and modern. Our family of five could spread out comfortably and slept well on large comfortable matresses. Free wi-fi was a bonus. Close to the "Old Town", we could walk to restaurants, coffee houses and the heritage sites listed in all the brochures. The castles are 5 km away. A short drive or a comfortable day walk. The bus is close. The rooms do not have a kitchenette but the breakfast provided was varied and generous and kept us going until mid-afternoon. Best of all, Norbert and Sabo (owners) were a lesson in sincerity, efficiency and hospitality. We had a holiday issue to resolve and they went above and beyond the call of duty to help us. They will look after all your needs. There is no reception but walk around the back and you will find Norbert's number. He will attend to you most promptly. Excellent English spoken. We booked these rooms for a budget price only to be impressed by the fact that they were very classy and in no way "budget". I have written a long comment in an attempt to do justice to the accomodation. Choose Haus Gabriel, you will be most happy that you did!
Steve and Nicole Meagher (Australia)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeagherFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Haus Gabriel is not a hotel in the traditional sense - no front desk, no common area, no staff around, etc. It is basically a few rooms in a house in downtown Fuessen that the owners rent out. Reservation was done via e-mail. The room was perfect for a budget traveler - clean, little kitchenette including a fridge and a bathroom. Location is excellent. It is a 2 minute walk to the train and bus station and a 5 minute walk to the pedestrian center of town. Grocery stores and restaurants are all close by as well. Right across Haus Gabriel is a pricey hotel. I have no reservations in recommending Haus Gabriel. Again, it is nothing fancy but certainly good for a good night's sleep. Elevator in the building does not work and it is quite a walk-up.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamais17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 40 in Fussen
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Apart Hotel Fussen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central City Hotel

Property: Central City Hotel
Address: Bahnhofstr. 8 1/2, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Haus Gabriel B&B)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very centrally located right between the pedestrian area and railway station, this family-run "Central City Hotel" a high standard of service and comfort. The 25 hotel rooms are equipped with 22 - designed 39 m² very spacious, bright and friendly and modern in style. All rooms also have bathrooms, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. Start the day with a hearty breakfast, which is served in the breakfast room and lounge in a relaxed atmosphere. The Füssen Train Station is just 50 meters from the hotel. Hourly trains to Munich or Augsburg. This hotel also has sufficient own car parking and up to 4 bus, which are located directly at the hotel and can be used for a small fee. The Central City Hotel is an ideal starting point for hiking and cycling through the Ostallgäu. The famous Neuschwanstein Castle is from us after only 7 minutes. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ON THE HOTEL The hotel is divided into 2 houses, which are only 15 meters apart. -The Main building, with reception, breakfast room and lounge, we have in October completely renovated 2011th -The In August 2015 opened new building. The rooms in the categories "Standard", "apartment with 2 bathrooms" and "double room with balcony and kitchen" located in the main building. The rooms in the categories "Comfort", "Superior" and "Deluxe" are located in the new building. You will be surprised by the comfort, size and equipment of the rooms in the new building. RECEPTION HOURS November to March from 7 to 20.30Uhr April to October from 6.30 to 21.30 Check-in time: 14: 30 to 19.30pm Check-out time: 10: 30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Central City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing