We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Central City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Fussen B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good value and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Great location close to the train station and buses to Neuschwanstein. Only a minutes walk from the main street in Fussen where you can find lots of restaurants for dinner. Breakfast was adequate and the rooms were clean and spacious. Good stopover to see the castles.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellieg1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    85
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
87
73
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
434 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We couldn't have asked for more with this. The location is a couple of minutes walk from the railway station, there's a Netto supermarket across the street, the free Wifi works and there's (slightly tricky) free parking. Even the LCD TV could play movies from a USB stick!

We had two spotlessly clean rooms. Our young 'un even had her own children's themed shower curtains. It's a slightly odd set up with no front desk when you arrive you have to call (for free from a 'hotline') the owner to come and sort out your room and paperwork, but this worked really well and they came within 15 minutes. I'd say it's more of an apartment block than a hotel in reality.

Extra marks also for having a well stocked vending machine with VERY cheap beer and soft drinks available 24/7. Even the car hire company was no more than 30 minutes walk. Great choice of little pizza outlets and bars to eat. We had very good coffee and pastries in the little shop beneath the hotel. You definitely need no more than a day and a bit here I think. Schwangau was a cute little place nearby a lake where we had picnics.

Very happy with our choice for Fussen, which is a lovely little town and of course the main place for seeing Neuschwanstein Castle!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CockneyBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harlow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Myself & my granddaughter stayed at this charming budget priced hotel for six days.
We were given a friendly welcome by Norbert who was standing in while his son was on holiday.
Our room was clean & serviced daily with fresh towels "every day" & the room left tidy.
Our breakfast was the normal continental with cereals,rolls,cheese,eggs,fruit juice,tea & coffee what made the difference was the rolls & eggs were cooked fresh by a delightful young lady who made sure that everything was kept stocked up & went the extra mile to make sure that all was in order.
Should we ever come to Fussen again we would definitely stay here again it may be small but it is good.
Colin & Charmaine

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The location really cannot be beaten, really right smack bang in the middle of town. To get to the parking, go onto Augustenstrasse at the roundabout, and it is on the left. There are three good car spots, and two somewhat more "dodgy" spots ( potentially blocked in). There is a chance you may not get a spot at all, since there are more than 5 rooms.

The decor is very simple and dated. I suppose one can't expect too much for the price. I chose to stay here as I needed a car park space, and the price was quite reasonable. The free wifi worked well, although it was a bit of nuisance to have to keep logging in everytime.

We did not partake in the optional breakfast. Do be warned that there will be stairs to be negotiated, potentially up to 3 floors!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pojaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

the house is very near the train station, just two minutes or less. the room is small, but tidy and equipped. we stay there for three nights. the room was partly cleaned up. we still found the garbage bin full of rubbish in the following days. besides, no lift.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherishYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spokane
Level Contributor
140 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Location here is the top attraction - just one block from the train station (also where the buses leave for Neuschwanstein) and very near everything in Fussen. Rooms are clean and good-sized with comfortable beds. The owner is a very nice man who helped us tremendously. We had reserved a quad but one daughter and my wife could not come at the last minute. He still gave us the huge quad room (actually two doubles with an adjoining door) but at the lower rate. No A/C but often not necessary in cool Fussen. A few negatives - the wifi connection was weak and we had to often log back in; no cups were provided; the garbage can in one room was full when we arrived and the breakfast (cost extra) was mediocre. But overall a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at Haus Gabriel for two nights and had a great stay there. The room was very clean, bed was comfy, and we had no complaints. We were met by the owner right away and given lots of information/tips on things to do in the area, including information for the castle tours. We couldn't hear noise from any other visitors. For a little extra you can have breakfast - pretty typical European continental breakfast. Free wifi. We would stay here if we ever go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Apart Hotel Fussen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central City Hotel

Property: Central City Hotel
Address: Bahnhofstr. 8 1/2, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Haus Gabriel B&B)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very centrally located right between the pedestrian area and railway station, this family-run "Central City Hotel" a high standard of service and comfort. The 25 hotel rooms are equipped with 22 - designed 39 m² very spacious, bright and friendly and modern in style. All rooms also have bathrooms, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. Start the day with a hearty breakfast, which is served in the breakfast room and lounge in a relaxed atmosphere. The Füssen Train Station is just 50 meters from the hotel. Hourly trains to Munich or Augsburg. This hotel also has sufficient own car parking and up to 4 bus, which are located directly at the hotel and can be used for a small fee. The Central City Hotel is an ideal starting point for hiking and cycling through the Ostallgäu. The famous Neuschwanstein Castle is from us after only 7 minutes. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ON THE HOTEL The hotel is divided into 2 houses, which are only 15 meters apart. -The Main building, with reception, breakfast room and lounge, we have in October completely renovated 2011th -The In August 2015 opened new building. The rooms in the categories "Standard", "apartment with 2 bathrooms" and "double room with balcony and kitchen" located in the main building. The rooms in the categories "Comfort", "Superior" and "Deluxe" are located in the new building. You will be surprised by the comfort, size and equipment of the rooms in the new building. RECEPTION HOURS November to March from 7 to 20.30Uhr April to October from 6.30 to 21.30 Check-in time: 14: 30 to 19.30pm Check-out time: 10: 30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Central City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing