We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB!”
Review of Hotel Fantasia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fantasia
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I cannot express how pleased I was to discover this hotel. I booked it online, and saw photos and reviews, but you never really know what to expect. For starters, when we walked up from the train station, the front desk girl ran and opened the door for us. What a great welcome!! She explained everything we needed to know about the hotel and the area and provided maps and bus information for the castle tours. Our room: Spotless, Modern, Whimsical, Efficient. There were a lot of lights, which is important, especially in older buildings. But something I liked very much was that there were a ton of outlets! That is important! WiFi worked extremely well, and we were able to connect with our family and friends back home and upload photos of our adventure thus far. I asked where the laundry room was, and... I kid you not... the front desk girl offered to do our laundry for us!! I felt a little funny about that, because nobody has done my laundry since I was about 15, but she literally insisted, and hustled us out the front door, insisting that we enjoy the city while it was still light out. When we came back, everything was neatly folded in a laundry basket for us. This was way above and beyond anything I have ever experienced in a hotel before, and they should be commended for it.

We slept well, and awoke to a beautifully displayed and delicious breakfast. They let us store our bags for the afternoon while we visited the castles, and when we picked it up, they were as friendly as ever. Fussen is a wonderful little town and my only regret on my trip is that we didn't spend more time there.

The hotel is only about a block from the train station. There is nothing I did not like about the hotel. Nothing.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1, which was right next to the front desk. There was no noise. It had a queen size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We saw the great pics on their website but with 3 stars we weren't sure what to expect but we were really pleasantly surprised by this place. We have 2 young kids so nights can be hard in hotels but here we had bunk beds in an adjoining room and a cot in our room as well as just a random extra single bed, with a dining area, kitchenette and direct access to the garden. The beds were very comfy and the shower was marvellous also the view was great.
We had breakfast there a couple of times and for €8 in a hotel it was very satisfactory, with good quality food and plenty of it. The internet was good and it has a washing machine downstairs that is free to use between 5-9pm. The only improvements I can think for our room was some cooking and eating implements in the kitchenette but that is all, well recommended for families especially those with young kids (mine were 3 & 1) as a separate area while they got to sleep at 7 pm was lovely.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Jacko1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel is well located and the decor is fresh but would not be to everyone's taste (a picture on the ceiling above the bed had a hidden face staring down at you). Breakfast at the hotel was not good. Most of the dishes on offer were empty or looked tired. The single member of staff in the kitchen could not keep up with the turnover of guests in the dining room. The rooms are very basically equipped - there was only a tiny bedside table - no desk or chairs. To get the free wifi we had to walk down the corridor which was a nuisance. Cleaning staff entered the room in spite of the Do Not Disturb sign on the door - though this appears to be a common problem in German hotels. Why do they supply the sign and then ignore it? The hair-dryer supplied was defective - the controls were broken. They charge 5 Euros a night for on-site parking. The only plus was the ability to use the washer and dryer in the basement free of charge between 5pm and 9pm.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AceReviewerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in their family room which could easily sleep 5 with double bunks for the kids

Location was fantastic - easy walk to the town centre and a 5 min drive to the castles

Wifi and breakfast were both good too

No English tv but as we were only there one night it didn't bother us

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank RodJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This delightful traditional hotel is easy to find and conveniently located within Fussen. The castle views publicised by the hotel are of the Fussen castle not Neuschwanstein or Hohenschwangau. Very friendly and efficient English speaking check in. Spotlessly clean, generous breakfast and exceptional value.

Room Tip: During the warmer months rooms over looking the garden with their own terrace would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We visited Fussen touring by car to check the castles. Fantasia was 6 minutes from neuschwanstein and hohenschwangau but the bonus was lovely clean well appointed hotel with great staff, breakfast, free wifi and just one upper floor. All that and a very good value price with the town centre and rail just a short stroll..
We were there 2 days recovering from jetlag and rate it our 2nd best of 10 hotels we stayed at in Germany.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

If you are travelling to Hohen Schwangau to see the castles this is a fantastic place to stay. The hotel is well appointed, spotlessly clean, beds very comfortable and great bathroom. There is WiFi and Internet computer access. The breakfast is great with plenty of choice and great coffee. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful when it comes to travel to the castle or anything else you need. If you are travelling with children some rooms have a very cute bunk bed over the double bed below which my son loved. There is also a communal room with games etc to keep them entertained!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sambamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 41 in Fussen
1,675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 41 in Fussen
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#4 of 41 in Fussen
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Fussen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 41 in Fussen
878 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#3 of 41 in Fussen
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fantasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fantasia

Address: Ottostr. 1, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Fussen
Price Range: £51 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fantasia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Fantasia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing