We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place with comfi room”
Review of Hotel Fantasia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fantasia
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice place with comfi room”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Please keep in mind this review is for a balcony room on top floor. The room is very comfortable and clean, with a great view of mountains and town spire!! Balcony is spacious and great to sit on in evening! Location of hotel is close to transportation and only a few minute walk to town! Fussen itself is "cute" and easy to walk around. The lady hosting us was very helpful! Room is in a family neighborhood so you will hear children playing which is fine if in room during the day. The location of room is quiet in evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larrypilot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    220
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
203
246
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is our second time staying at Hotel Fantasia. We enjoyed it the first time in 2012, so we came back.

Everything in the hotel has been renovated - it is very clean and modern. The beds are some of the most comfortable we have had during our 6-week trip in Europe. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The reception person helped us with our laundry (using their washer) on the evening we arrived.

Breakfast is excellent with lots of variety and choices, including bacon and eggs for U.S. travelers. I would not recommend Room 1 (although it is one of the largest rooms in the hotel), because it is next to the entry to the building and guests talk as they enter - we could hear them clearly. And, it is on the front of the building - not an overly busy street, but still some traffic noise.

The first time we stayed, we were on the 1st (2nd by U.S. numbering) floor right at the top of the stairs and on the back of the building - with a balcony and a view of the palace on the hill. The room is smaller, but quieter - recommend this area in the building.

Very convenient location - 5 minute walk to the train station and to the Old Town. Can't go wrong with this choice!

The only negative was the strength of the Wi-Fi. We kept losing the connection.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaRetiree2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

we stayed one night. It look like more an hostel than an hotel. We got a room for 2 with 4 beds! It is 5 minutes walk from downtown Fussen. The wifi was poor. We also had breakfast in the morning. It was a simple buffet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Hotel Fantasia started life as a 'vacation' home for Nuns and Monks in the late 1800s so the layout of the facility is a bit different from your typical modern hotel. The good news is that the rooms are very spacious and can fit more people, the bad news is that the rooms close to the entrance feel abit 'exposed' and are a bit nosier.

We were in room 1 which has beds for 4 - including a playful bunk bed built into the headboard of the main bed. The bathroom was very modern with all the amenities and there was plenty of storage and internet access was fast and dependable.

The available breakfast buffet (extra charge) was generous and varied, including items for we Ugly Americans :-)

Parking was right outside/no charge and it was a quick and easy walk into the shopping/dining area of Fussen as well as to the bus stop/train station. One evening after coming out of our restaurant there was a small orchestra setting up so we had a free concert.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New_Intl_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We chose to stay in Fussen because it was close to the castles and booked our next night in Munich. We arrived late and ended up needing to go to their sister hotel to check in and park, but it was close and actually had a lively bar with tourists from all over hanging out. The staff spoke good English and were helpful. The room was huge and very comfortable with a great courtyard out back, where I sat in the early morning and read for a bit. We walked around a little in the morning, but had to leave to get to the castles. The beauty of the town and nice hotel could have easily been enjoyed another night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I spent 1 night here when we went to see the castles. Very nice hotel. Good location. Only a short walk to center of town. Staff was very friendly and professional. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were in room #4 which had two rooms, one with a three level bunkbed which the kids loved. The main room was very large with kitchette, patio and view of Fussen Castle. The kids also loved the trampoline which turned into a trip highlight. The hotel has a laundry room that is free (2 euros if you use their detergent). Usually, they do the laundry for you, but they allowed us to do our own which was a great help half way through our trip. Downtown Fussen is a short (5 minute) walk away and features good restaurants and shopping. Breakfast was very good. This hotel was one of the highlights of our two weeks in Germany.

Room Tip: Room #4 was large and featured bunk beds for the kids and was also further away from the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#12 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Alpengluehn
Hotel Alpengluehn
#8 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Apart Hotel Fussen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fantasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fantasia

Property: Hotel Fantasia
Address: Ottostr. 1, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fantasia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fantasia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing