We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views.”
Review of Hotel Alpengluehn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alpengluehn
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely views.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a pleasant Hotel with a most helpful manager.
Despite this I wasn't as big a fan of this Hotel as many others have been
We had one tiny cake of soap for both shower and sink and I didn't think the Asian influenced art pieces in the room worked with the view of the Alps. Our room also had an odd smell which we couldn't clear even with the windows open. The views were gorgeous though!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisondMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    31
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This is a charming little hotel 5 minutes from Füssen centrum and 10 minutes fron Schloss Neuschwanstein. The rooms were clean, fresh, and bright with fantastic views of lake Hopfensee and the Alps in the background. The hotel offers a delicious breakfast for €10 per person.

For dinner, Haus Hopfensee is just across the street with a traditional delicious Bavarian menu. The apple strudel was very good!

Also, on Höhenstraße just before intersecting with Uferstraße (south side of street) is a little grocery store which sells beer and wine to enjoy on the terrace of your room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very good, well organized, large and clean rooms! The breakfast is very complete, with several options for fruits and breads, all fresh and well prepared! The owner is always close to everything, making all the sets with the joy of serving! Congratulations to all!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We made a reservation for a night in this hotel online, in a gas station in austria. Due to heavy traffic and rain we got there only past 9 pm, and the reception closes at 6. We could not check if the reservation was confirmed until we got there, soaking wet for the ride under a heavy rain at the Fernpass. We found a nice note on the front door stating that our door and room keys were in the mailbox of the hotel. So kind of them! The hotel is nice and clean, and the view from our window facing the lake was stunning in the last light of the day! With a simple registration we could get a fast internet connection without bothering the hotel staff. The brakfast is generous and fresh. Lovely! The perfect base for a trip to the near (15 min drive) to the closest, famous castles of the area!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank matteofurlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

There are so many positive things to list about this hotel, so I think it's best just to provide a list:
- Service, fantastic
- Clean, comfortable, newly renovated rooms
- Great atmosphere
- Stunning views of mountains and the lake
- The service!!
- Beautiful, relaxing, clean spa and wellness area
- Great location
- Did I mention the excellent service?

The hotel is great, I recommend it to couples, singles, families, everyone. The only negative experience we had was having to leave!!

Room Tip: If you have special requests, just email Peter. We had a couple and he happily obliged and confirmed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evans_jl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed one night at this lovely hotel, our room was wonderful, balcony overlooking the meadows with backdrop of the Alps, magical! The room itself was lovely, very comfortable bed, shower room good, balcony great. Meal at nearby restaurant as hotel doesn't have evening service. Breakfast was very good, bacon, eggs, croissants, breads, yogurt, fruit, meats and cheeses, all fresh. Staff helpful and friendly, our lack of German no problem as perfect English spoken, puts us to shame. A lovely hotel in a perfect setting. Free parking, sauna, solarium also available. Wifi it hit and miss.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallyd59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucharest
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were at hotel Ferienhotel Geiger, in Hopfen am See, and it was lovely.
The staff - very helpful and nice, the room - spacee, bright, clean, the view (lake and mountain) wonderful, breakfast - fresh and tasty.
Nearest the hotel are lots of restaurants - around the lake, Hopfen am See, very good meal and very good beer. You can have a ride with the boat, bike and so on.
Also the bus - we arrive by train till Fussen - is in front of the Hotel.
The negative one was that we didn't have a refrigerator - mini bar - when we were was very hot, 32 degree and we need to drink something cold.....
We enjoy a lot this trip and we hope that we can come back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms with lake and mountain view ;
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgeo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Hopfensee
Hotel Am Hopfensee
#14 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.7 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#12 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpengluehn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpengluehn

Property: Hotel Alpengluehn
Address: Hoehenstr. 21 | Hopfen am See, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Ferienhotel Geiger)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpengluehn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Alpengluehn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing