We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Hotel Sommer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sommer
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The hotel was lovely- staff were extremely helpful and mini bar was very decently priced. The location of the hotel is fantastic- 80m from the train and bus station.

The only downside was breakfast was not overly nice but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-sommer, Manager at Hotel Sommer, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for your recommendation.
We try to treat erverybody as we would like treated as
your's sommer famliy with team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    103
    28
    9
    3
See reviews for
82
199
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We celebrated our wedding at Hotel Sommer, and the team made it a very special day. I can't thank them all enough.

Staff are fantastic, they make you feel welcome, no wish goes too far, all requests get met with a genuine smile. The food's top notch, too. Rooms are comfortable, clean and serviced every day. The spa facilities are basic but good fun.

Location and ambience are both perfect.

Would always go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The setting is nice - on the lake. My room was an odd shaped internal corner and was dark and quite noisy when others were talking on their balconies in the evening. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.
I had dinner and breakfast here and both were poor. The greasiest Wiener Schnitzel I've ever had and a very dull breakfast. Weirdly tasteless Bircher Muesli. Sauna area was nice.
The staff are mostly very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QQuietroomfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Was my forth time on the hotel and again I enjoyed a lot the stay. The rooms are simple but with good size, breakfast and dinner are amazing there.
Swimming pool and saunas are great as well. The only week point was that internet service was not very good but the manager told me that they are aware about that and working to solve it.

Room Tip: Try to make sure that the room have internet signal available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ades101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Hotel Sommer is in a good location and is beautiful itself. You can walk alongside the lake, rent bikes, boats, segways, and relax in the pool or sauna. Breakfast here had the most impressive selection of anywhere we stayed in Germany. Overall very relaxing. Would have been 5 stars but we ran into one extremely rude employee during dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuzzbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Located on a lake close to Fuessen, this hotel is a perfect base to explore the surrounding area. From here, one can even bike to the famous Neuschwanstein Castle. Further, you can go hiking or climbing in the the surrounding mountains. We stayed here with my parents to explore some German history. We really enjoyed the stay!

One night the hotel brought in typical dancers (schuhplattler) and they performed in lederhosen and dirndl; the kids loved it. You do not get a chance to

The breakfast was plentiful, with fresh fruit, egg station and various cold cuts. There was also smoked salmon and different fresh juices to choose from.
The dinner was very good, too. Some of the food is typical German, which I liked.

The hotel has an indoor and an outdoor pool, which my children used. However, this is not a noisy family hotel. So the kids had to be calm not to disturb the "peaceful relaxation" of the older guests.

We had a wonderful stay and I would recommend this hotel highly to anyone wanting to explore the area.

Room Tip: With view to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip4mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-sommer, Inhaber at Hotel Sommer, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Mom.,
many Thanks for your feedback. We are lucky that you enjoyed your stay. Fortunately you joined us when we had special a bavarian event.
We would like to look foreward to wellcome you again.
Your's
Sommer family and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This hotel was a sweet surprise with a delightful staff, welcoming rooms, and a beautiful location 10 minutes away from Neuschwanstein (Mad Ludwig's) castle. The restaurant offered a delicious selection for dinner, with German specialties on the menu. Breakfast was fresh and ample. The hotel was next to a picturesque lake and offered an indoor/outdoor pool with a view of the mountains!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-sommer, Inhaber at Hotel Sommer, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Catherine,

many thanks for your feedback. We are lucky that you enjoyed your stay. Fortunately you joined ludwigs' castle, which we can see from out hotel - 4 miles away
We are looking foreward to wellcome you again or your friends
Your's
Sommer family and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fussen
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Am Hopfensee
Hotel Am Hopfensee
#14 of 40 in Fussen
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
800 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sommer

Property: Hotel Sommer
Address: Weidachstr. 74, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fussen
#1 Spa Hotel in Fussen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#10 Family Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sommer 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star spa hotel is in Fuessen with view to the alps and the kingscastle Neuschwanstein. Equipped with indoor and outdoor pool the large spa area features different Saunas and steam rooms. Massages and cosmetic treatments are also available. Hotel Sommer provides elegant rooms featuree with balcony or terrace. The welcoming restaurant offers healthy breakfast buffet in the morning and fresh Bavarian and international cuisine is served for lunch and dinner. Bicycles can be rented at Hotel Sommer. Hotel Sommer is an ideal base for hiking, skiing and water sports. All hotel guests receive a KonigsCard, which offers free use of 180 recreational facilities such as mountain trains, boat trips, and ski passes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vital Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing