We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kurhotel Jakob

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kurhotel Jakob
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ok, but it is definitely dated. Nothing wrong, just overpriced for what it is.
Bathroom and room are dated in the decor, drinking glasses were dirty and the shower took a long time to drain. Friendly staff. Breakfast was reasonable European continental.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BubsandBoogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    46
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
62
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I was travelling internationally by myself for the first time this past December and Kurhotel Jakob was the first place I stayed. I had such a wonderful time! I felt safe and taken care of. Breakfast was included and it was delicious!! Magnus was very friendly and helpful and spoke to me in English (but also was patient when I tried to practice my German!). My room had its own bathroom with shower and television. It is located just a short walk from the center of town in Füssen. I would have loved to have stayed longer! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCLady90504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is small but really nice.the location is great. .fussen is a lovely town closed to the castles! Suggested if you want to spend a romantic break in bavaria!if you are on the romantic road don't forget to visit also the other towns and their Christmas Markets!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlotta1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

An easy 10 minute walk along the river into town. Clean, comfortable rooms at a fair price. As mentioned in other reviews the Hosts are Great. The breakfast was on par with other hotels that I have stayed at in Germany. A relaxing couple of nights!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prairietraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Awesome hosts, always smiling and ready to help. The hotel is only a ten minute walk from the centre but tucked away in the secluded and beautiful hamlet of Bad Faulenbach- really peaceful. There's also a great restaurant around the corner.
For location I'd rate it 4.5*

The rooms were clean and comfortable with good facilities. The breakfast had a reasonable selection (continental) and the filter coffee was ok. Great wheat beer in stock though! It felt a little overpriced, but we were visiting during Oktoberfest, and we didn't do any price comparisons.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Straybunyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
413 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel as a "stop over" during our trip to the Garda Lake. Just 10-156 minutes walking from downtown Fussen. The hotel has various facilities and serves an excellent breakfast. Frau Jakob is of a good help with any questions.
I would stay again during a next stop.
Excellent start for trails and mountain biking.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a nice stay on the front of the hotel. Private parking is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Hotel is very friendly and family run. The owners were really helpful and attentive throughout our stay. The location is in a very picturesque quiet part of Fussen with a lovely 10-15 minute walk alongside the river into the old town. This is on a good path and is well lit for returning after dark. There was good free parking just across the road from the hotel. The room was very comfortable with a lovely balcony with chairs to sit out. The beds were comfy and a very nice ensuite shower room.
There was a lot of choice for breakfast,constantly being replenished, in the very nice breakfast room.
The surroundings are beautiful and in the opposite direction to the old town is some lovely easy walking around the lakes and through the woods.
The owners were very helpful and gave us a guest card which gave us discounts and the local attractions.
I would definitely recommend Kurhotel Jakob and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longweekender52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Bad Faulenbach
0.2 mi away
Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurhotel Jakob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurhotel Jakob

Property: Kurhotel Jakob
Address: Schwaerzerweg 6, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Fussen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kurhotel Jakob 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kurhotel Jakob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurhotel Jakob füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing