We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cosy hotel and near to train station”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Really a great thanks to Tripadvisor which prompted me this nice hotel while I search for my Germany hotel stay in Fussen. Its a fairytale hotel near a fairytale castle. Everything is so nice about this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamstorm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sonne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel will suit all ages it's quaint yet modern and excellent value for money compared to other hotels we have stayed at which are the same grade.

Shop excellent
Breakfast fantastic
Staff brilliant
WIFI Fast
Food beautiful
Decor outstanding
Location Superb
Attractions amazing
Rooms gorgeous

Room Tip: Saw pictures of suites but must say our room was lovely no concerns and that's a surprise
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was by far the best hotel my wife and I stayed at in Germany.

My wife and I did our honeymoon in Germany and since she got to plan the wedding, I got to plan the honeymoon. I tried to stay at hotels in the 100 - 120 euro price range, so I can compare this hotel to others in the same price range.

They were the only place to give us a "honeymoon upgrade". Besides that, the staff were by far the most helpful we had encountered. Then came the breakfast. We were so used to the usual European breakfast of cold meat and cheese that it was a surprise to see the huge spread of hot dishes that had at their included breakfast.

Lastly, the location was great. It was right at the heart of Fussen and east to get to. We had rented a car and we were able to find it and use their parking garage while we stayed there. If we return to Germany and stay in Fussen again this will be the only hotel I will consider.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, a room with a view of the city castle and a balcony was great. It was surprisi...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This hotel is situated in a very good location.
The rooms are very comfortable.Breakfast was excellent and we ate in the restaurant in the evening and it was first class.
All the staff whether it was reception, bar or dining room were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. Underground parking was available if pre- booked at 8 euros day and it was well worth it

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel was part of a walking trip itinerary arranged by Sherpa Walking Holidays in the UK. It is perfectly located near the train station, pedestrian shopping area, and all the walking trails. The hotel itself is clean and pleasant, the room very comfortable, and the breakfast buffet varied and delicious. There were internet terminals for guest use, and even a small spa and fitness room that looked nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metayelet009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed sadly just one night on the way to Munich. Great little hotel.Stayed in suite for family of
4. Comfortable beds,nice modern functional bathroom(showers in both), very clean hotel. Room
and bath were a little small, The restaurant served a good breakfast, a nice selection of items.
Family had dinner at restaurant , 3 meals prepared well, the fourth left a steak very under cooked
Service by one waitress down right rude. However, the breakfast service was excellent- what a
difference!. Location is outstanding to explore Fussen by foot and the castles by.The town
is a must to walk around and explore.Castles very close within 1-1.5 miles.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We recently traveled through Germany for two weeks and spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel. Expensive but definitely one of the best hotels we stayed in during our travels. Conveniently located in the center of Fussen, near both major castles and tourist sights. The breakfast buffet was the best we experienced throughout our two weeks of travel so don't miss it! We also ate both dinners at night in the main dining room of the hotel but these meals were average at best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fussen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
703 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 40 in Fussen
598 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
464 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#1 Family Hotel in Fussen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range: £85 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing