We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location...easy to visit the castles”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location...easy to visit the castles”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is nice. The decor is interesting but also scary in a way. The location is close to the train station and the old town. You can walk everywhere. It is also easy to take a bus at the station to Neuschwanstein. Go to the castle in the afternoon to avoid the crowd but do check the timetable for the last bus. Breakfast is quite good. Ample selections.

Nevertheless, I agree with other reviews that this hotel is overrated. I do like the hotel but it is not that excellent. The room size is good for one person (I got the classic single room). However, my two friends got the classic double room which has exactly the same size of mine. So for them, room is a bit small for two guys. Wifi signal is rather weak too. But with the price I got (69 Euro for single, 99 Euro for double), I will definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Noon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,059
    440
    85
    15
    6
See reviews for
515
792
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great Hotel, next to old town...Nice Restaurant, and outdoor bar...
Room was comforable and clean...nice reception and friendly service..
Gave us good directions to both Castles and some local restaurants on a local lake..
Great place.

Room Tip: easy underground parking....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star_Buck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Hotel is superb in every way, decor of all areas and rooms is fresh, clean and bright. A lovely ambiance fills the Hotel, from the friendly staff who are so helpful. Dining here is an enjoyable experience. The Bar staff are good fun. And most of all the pillows and beds are very comfy :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are of great quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly. The room was spacious. The location is great. They made reservations for our castle visits, which was helpful. The included breakfast was ample and delicious. They have a casual pub for outdoor dining as well. Their wonderful wellness center has three types of saunas - fun! It's just that they appear to have taken the mad gay king thing a bit far with the decor - we found it disquieting rather than pleasing - didn't work for us.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jaywvogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We attended a wedding in Salzburg and expanded the drive back to Munich to include two nights at Hotel Sonne in Fussen (and two in Starnberg). We pre-booked, which was essential as the hotel was full and, with potential guests turned away. The staff is enthusiastic and to a person, notably positive and helpful. It has a very friendly feel and that is enhanced by the open restaurant, Via, just off Hotel Reception. We ate two meals there and unless one is a big eater, requesting smaller portions is advised. Breakfast was excellent and one of the best anywhere. (Besides, who can resist a big pretzel?! And, Hotel Sonne's pretzels had a crunchy exterior and soft interior, making them my favorite while in Germany and Salzburg.) Whenever we needed directions, the staff took all the time needed to fully explain in detail how to reach our destination. Of course, we picked Fusen for its proximity to the Royal Castles. As for parking, the first night, we parked in their private lot (6 euros p/n), but with all the chestnut trees in bloom, our car was a sticky mess the next day. Reception fetched a bucket of water and paper towels so I could wash the windows. The next night, we parked in their underground lot (8 euros p/n), which is well worth the extra two euros to protect the car. Upon check-in, we were given a room on the main road with street view, but upon request, were switched to the room across the hall, which had scenic views of the mountain, fortress and historic sights. It also had a small balcony with table and two chairs. Everything in the room and bathroom was up to standard. Costumes from Sissi theatre productions are every few meters on all the floors and have printed descriptions citing the character and her/his relationship to Sissi or King Ludwig II. The only drawbacks to the hotel were unlined curtains, which gave an early wake-up call and just one English-language TV channel (Bloomberg). Wifi couldn't have been easier. Fussen is worth exploring and paths along the river are great for running, walking and cycling. There are also interesting stores, including one just opened that specializes in Murano jewellry. There is also a bakery famous for its "schneeballen", which are strips of pastry (pie shell) dough rolled up into a big ball. They come in many flavors, including variations dipped in either milk, pure or white chocolate, with or without nuts, and with fillings such as coconut, marzipan, cinnamon, caramel, etc. They average 3.90 euros each, and, amazingly, are edible up to 6-8 weeks after purchase (gift boxes available for 50 eurocents). If you are planning a visit to the area to visit the castles and gorgeous nature, Hotel Sonne is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, though not close to the outdoor restaurant in season if you like to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyDuck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My family of two adults and two small children stayed at the hotel son in December 2013. We stayed in the family suite which had two separate rooms with two bathrooms. It slept up to five and was absolutely gorgeous! The staff was very helpful, parking was incredibly reasonable at only five euro per day if parked outside, and the decor was stunning! All my daughters wanted to do was continue searching the hotel for more and more costumes. Breakfast was included parentheses as is standard for German hotels and parentheses, and was delicious! My only regret is that we stayed for just one night, but if we ever return to Füssen, this will definitely be where we stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCataldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I were in town last fall for a memorable experience of a Wagner concert at Neuschwanstein and we picked Hotel Sonne in part based on Tripadvisor reviews. We are glad we did. The hotel is right in the center of historic Füssen, across the street from the bus that took us to the concert, and also a very short drive. Parking is available within a block. Rooms were very nice, staff friendly and helpful. We had a nice light dinner in Via before the concert and a wonderful breakfast the next morning.

If you are visiting the castles or just passing through this part of Bavaria you will not go wrong staying at Hotel Sonne. We hope to have the opportunity to return some day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fussen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
695 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 40 in Fussen
592 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 40 in Fussen
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Property: Hotel Sonne
Address: Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fussen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing