We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Room, staff and food all excellent. Had to leave early before breakfast but was given fresh croissants and coffee to take with me. Room was a good size and very well appointed. One small thing though, it would be good to have a couple more English language TV channels if possible but certainly did not detract from a perfect experience. The castle however was another matter!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank lafineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,629)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sonne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

had 2 nights here at the end of June to see the local castles. Staff and service very good, room decor is a bit 70's but cant fault anything else as one of the best places we have stayed at. Some of the large hotels need to use this place of an example of how to do things right. Fully recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marky_7623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed in the Prinzregent room, which was fairly large and had air conditioning. I think most of the other rooms do not. The air conditioner worked pretty well and was much appreciated (especially since the room faced a busy street, so opening the windows would have been noisy). The breakfast was really excellent. The room had a nice bathtub and shower. Beds were comfortable. Location of this hotel is excellent as it is very near the train station, shops and restaurants of the old town area. Hotel Sonne also had both a dinner restaurant and a beer garden as dinner options. This hotel could benefit from adding blackout curtains, as the curtains it had were pretty thin and let in a lot of early morning light. Staff was helpful and a large packet of information about the local attractions was provided.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazoo246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in everything was absolutely perfect, staff, rooms, ambiance , food,
be sure to stay here if in the area,
we will definitely be returning,
a great hotel to base your holiday and see all the castles

Room Tip: get a room with castle view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHBcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Should have posted our review sometime ago as this is a great hotel.

Stayed for one night and wished we had stayed longer. Fussen is an adventure, as old Bavarian as they come and I spent the early hours of the morning entertaining our 18 month old (whose body clock was out of sinc from our long flight) walking around the town in the dark. What a wonderful experience that was.

And we were able to do this because of the great location of this hotel. My wife slept well (lucky). The hotel breakfast, for a smaller hotel, was simply outstanding on range and on quality. One of the best we have had. Ever! We highly recommend this hotel and we intend to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were looking forward to this hotel but were disappointed. On the plus side, the breakfast is excellent and so is the hotel location. The staff are also first rate. The bathroom is good too. Our main problem was that the hotel room did not have air conditioning. Because it was a warm summer week, the heat in the room was unbearable. The staff brought us several fans but even with windows and doors open, we couldn't sleep for the two nights there. Another disappointment was the hotel gym, which only had a few pieces of equipment and more than half of it dilapidated or broken.

Room Tip: Some of the first floor large rooms were said to have airconditioning.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here at the end of the fifth and final day of walking the King Ludwig Way (a very beautiful and interesting walk, and a great way to see Bavaria). The hotel is in a good location at the end of the main street and we had a lovely big room with a really excellent bathroom. The staff were all very helpful and polite, and all spoke good English. The biergarden was charming and full of very well behaved dogs snoozing under tables. Breakfast was superb; something for everyone. We only stayed one night, but it would be a lovely place to base yourself for a week of castles and wellness. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fussen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
703 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 40 in Fussen
599 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
464 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fussen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range: £84 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing