We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uniquely themed hotel in a great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Uniquely themed hotel in a great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel Sonne lived up to it's reputation. I had booked it because the reviews on TripAdvisor have been great and it did not disappoint. I had Room 421 on the top level next to the Wellness Centre. It was quiet and the theme of the room was Red - I cannot remember the actual theme name. There were no mannequins dressed in medieval costumes in the room though which I was glad about!
The room was spacious and the amenities provided were fantastic. I loved the shower gel and moisturiser. There is a gym, sauna and wellness centre but I didn't get a chance to use.
I have to say that WIFI connection up in my room was pretty poor - it kept dropping in and out and that was incredibly frustrating.
The breakfast spread was fantastic catering to all tastes and you could sit there for hours eating.
Staff are extremely helpful and friendly and I wish I remembered the girl's name at the front desk - she was always smiling and so helpful. The only down side was that the laundry lost a pair of underwear but it was not a big deal to me. They insisted it was there but I could not find it.
For those who drive - there is a very convenient underground car park which is perfect for unloading luggage.
Highly recommend this hotel - would come back for sure.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank groovychickMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    411
    79
    14
    4
See reviews for
474
756
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The customer service was fantastic...especially Sabrina at the front desk. She helped plan out our day, and when we had a problem with our television, she came up right away with someone that could fix it.

Great location and very comfortable rooms. Just a few minutes drive to Neuchwanstein Schloss.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ihearttravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Fussen is a lovely little town and this is the ideal place to stay. Right on the main street but with its own underground car park, Really helpful and friendly staff, even the menu in the terrace bar has photos of all staff members. Excellent breakfast and a lively bar and terrace. Only downside was that it was very hot and the indoor restaurant has no air conditioning unlike the bedrooms which are lovely and cool - our room also had a balcony with a view. We liked the funky decor and corridors with costumes from an opera about King Ludwig. This also is a great town for a base to visit all King Ludwig's famous castles. The hotel organised the tickets, well worth it to avoid the queues. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delmsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

An excellent location in the heart of the old town. Easy to arrange carpark in basement. Very helpful and friendly front of house staff. We stayed in the large double room and were pleasantly surprised at the size, especially the bathroom. Air con was also a huge relief as other hotels we had stayed at didn't have air con - which meant that it was noisy with windows open - this was not a problem at Sonne. Very comfortable beds, very clean and recently refurbished room. Terrific stay, wound not hesitate recommending.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LissLoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here during the World Cup, and really enjoyed the effort the hotel went to for its guests as well as the nation's team!
The lovely bar was completely open, with marquees and at least four projection/TV screens broadcasting matches. The atmosphere was wonderful and friendly, with a mix of guests and locals taking advantage of the glorious weather and facilities to watch the games.
My husband found our room to be compact but perfectly sufficient, with a small balcony (with table and chairs) looking out on to the town.
Of course, the winner with Hotel Sonne is its location - near the famous castles.
The hotel organised our castle tickets, meaning we had no queues or confusion at the ticket office. Hotel staff were also kind enough to reserve an underground parking spot at the hotel, as requested in advance.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My husbands words were: "You did well in choosing this place - in fact, you couldn't have done any better."
Hotel Sonne fulfilled all our requirements, and if we ever return to that part of the world we will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sub-editor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed at this great hotel in Fussen. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There is a nice parking garage which is convenient to the room. The room was very clean and spacious. Although I not a big fan of looking at King Ludwig in the room. The breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adlpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a great hotel. The reception is good. Room was spacious and even though it fronted onto a busy street there was no noise from the street, and we had a good nite's sleep. Parking is in the underground garage where you have your own space. The room was spotless and well serviced. The decor was very tasteful, although I found the mannequins just at the door of the lift a little unsettling.
Breakfast was excellent, a buffet with lots of choice, hot and cold.
The hotel is right in the town, so all the attractions are at the front door. The historic castles are only 10min away - and the lakes - Forgensee and Alpsee are just beautiful.
Fussen is a good base for exploring Southern Bavaria and even venturing into Austria.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salutethesunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Alpengluehn
Hotel Alpengluehn
#9 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Property: Hotel Sonne
Address: Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fussen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing