We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle and Cow Country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Appartement Hotel Seespitz
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Seespitz for 3 nights while on a driving vacation in Southern Germany. This is a very pleasant hotel in a beautiful surrounding. The hotel is on the edge of a lake and is built in a very classic Alpine Design. Our room was large and comfortable, with a full-size balcony featuring views of the lake and Tegelberg Mountain. We went with a one bedroom with kitchen- the kitchen came equipped with a microwave oven, mini-fridge, 2 burner range top, dishes, silverware and pots and pans for cooking. There is also a bread bag that you can have filled daily with your choice of rolls, croissants or soft pretzels. There is plenty of storage in the rooms including roomy wardrobes and shelf and drawer space. Our room also had a pullout sofa bed. Coffee was supplied as well. There is no maid service and you will be charged a cleaning fee either when you make your reservation or upon check out.

The hotel is a 10 minute drive from the town of Fussen from which you can visit Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles as well as the Tegleberg luge and ski area. As we were visiting in September there was no skiing, but we did take the luge run several times (2 euro/ride) - it is a lot of fun! There is also a funicular that runs to the top of the Tegelberg peak- you can buy a round trip ticket (18 euro) or one way and hike back down. You will have to have a car to effectively travel in this area- we did see taxis, but not often. The driving is easy and parking- even in Fussen and at the castles- was not hard to find although you will do some walking.

The hotel has an Italian restaurant on-site (under separate ownership), and we enjoyed dinner one night -- we took back to our room to eat on our balcony overlooking the lake. Prices are reasonable, about 10 euro for pizza and 4 euro for soup. Breakfast is also available at the restaurant for 15 euro, but with a kitchen, there is no reason not to simply make your own.You can shop for groceries about 5 minutes by car at Lidl or Aldi or several other markets.
The hotel has garage parking, a laundry room with 2 washers and 2 dryers that are slower than American models, a small pool open 24 hours, picnic tables on the grounds and a play area for kids. There are also walking trails that circumnavigate the lake and a small park close by.
It was quite warm during our visit, and there is no air conditioning in the rooms. The hotel also controls the heat (assuming they know what makes you comfortable). When asked about this, the desk clerk was a little snarky, responding “you do not need a/c”- his answers to most questions seemed to be generally of that nature. Also, they suffered a power outage one night for about 3 hours due to a breaker going out and there was no communication from staff. Also be aware that the front desk is staffed on only limited hours and if you arrive outside of those hours, you may have to wait 4 hours to check in when they return (although sometimes they seemed to leave keys out for late-arriving guests).
Regardless, this is an excellent choice of hotel if you are visiting this area of Germany.

Room Tip: get a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solperros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

Not a good value for money. If you don't have a car the bus lines nearby do not run frequently. Not convenient if visiting Ludwig's castles or want easy access to city center. Reviews and web page made this place seem better than it was. Clean spacious room and clean. Gym/fitness center had two machines. Sauna did not work.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed next door to the Seespitz and they recommended the Italian restaurant at the Seespitz, we were not disappointed. Fantatic service, great choices on the menu, large portions sizes and the food was excellent and really reasonably priced. There was a lovely buzzy atmosphere in the restaurant and a lovely bar area. I would recommend booking as there are only a couple of places to eat by the lake and it was full. It was that good we went there again on the second night!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniewphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Of the six places we stayed in Germany on this trip, Seespitz was our unanimous favorite. The mountain and lake views from the balcony were awesome. Close proximity to Neuschwanstein was what brought us here, but we almost did not want to leave. Nice heated Indoor swimming pool with some unique water features that the kids loved. Sauna, rec room with pool table, ping pong and foosball. Outside kid playing area and lounge area in the grass. Laundry room with free machines makes this a good midpoint stop in a 10 day vacation. Our apartment was plenty big, and the kids had their own (small but nice) bedroom with two bunk beds. Wifi was free and worked well. Pizzas in the Osteria were huge by European standards and a great bargain. Food served was mainly Italian (as it seems was the kitchen staff) and a good break from a week of German food. I definitely think a lake view is the way to go.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Lake side are also quieter, since opposite side faces the street. George gives good r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

this hotel is a perfect location and great views. It is probably worth going there just for that. The room itself was very reasonable, neither big, nor small, everything one needs is there. Big balcony. The disappointment was the bathroom. It was clean but dated and really tiny. Everything in the bathroom was working all right, but it is really old to my opinion. Could be that bigger rooms have better bathrooms. we had a standard room. Access to Fussen by car is fast and simple. You can walk around the lake. the playgrounds for kids are right there. To summarize everything was good for value except the bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olgavetrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Our family stayed here mid-June for three nights. We were on our way from Munich to Switzerland for the Bernina Express, going a scenic route. When it came tome to move on towards Switzerland, and even though we knew that one of the world's best railways journeys lay ahead, we really did not want to leave.

Our two daughters (one-year & three-years) loved the space within the apartment, and there was so much to keep them occupied outside. In the playground of the hotel's kindergarten, and bigger playground down at the lake (3 mins walk). There was also the great medium-sized swimming pool inside the hotel. This was especially great as it has a very warm and shallow baby-pool.

The staff were very helpful and kind - truly happy that we were able to stay with them in their beautiful part of the world.

Neuschwanstein Castle is very close, which is a good trip, and we really enjoyed the town of Fuessen.

One small thing to mention is that the hotel charges a separate 'room cleaning' fee... although others seem to be able to include this within the standard charge. Usually this type of thing would bother me a lot, but I have to admit the overall positive experience of staying here outweighed that completely.

Room Tip: we stayed in Apartment 10, which although not overlooking the lake (and not incurring an additional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anegla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 2 days in June. The location is amazing, at the coast of a beautiful lake looking out at the alps. I took the lake side room which has a large balcony with a seating area. The rooms were very spacious and had a small kitchen with sufficient utensils. The room was clean and well lit though the bathroom was a tight squeeze. The pizzeria in the hotel is very nice and the breakfast is adequate. Its a short drive from the town of Fussen and the 2 Ludwig castles. The only negatives are that as they call themselves an apartment hotel, so there is no daily room service. I was also informed that I would pay charges like room cleaning fees which was a bit of a shocker. The hotel staff informed me that these details are not shown on the website or on the booking details, these were hidden in fine print. The reception is manned for only four hours every morning, so you are at a loss at other times of the day. Except for the let down during the checkout, an excellent stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faisal Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 41 in Fussen
1,687 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#3 of 41 in Fussen
426 reviews
3.5 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 41 in Fussen
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 41 in Fussen
621 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Hotel Filser
Hotel Filser
#14 of 41 in Fussen
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appartement Hotel Seespitz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appartement Hotel Seespitz

Address: Pfrontener Str. 45, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fussen
Price Range: £80 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Appartement Hotel Seespitz 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays in the perfect location – right by Lake Weissensee. The brilliant concept of SEESPITZ: We combine all the benefits of a hotel with the independence of a holiday apartment. You will get an excellent breakfast buffet or an a-la-carte dinner in our cosy hotel restaurant – made just the way you like it. Our apartments will be the focal point of your holiday in an outstanding location, right by the lake. The hotel has its own sunbathing lawn, which allows you direct access to a refreshing dip into the lake. An extensive playground for children and the nearby lido are located adjacent to the hotel. Our indoor swimming pool with its separate children’s pool has splendidly warm water (32 ºC) all year round. Enjoy rejuvenating walks or extensive hikes, breezy bike rides and a variety of winter sports. Everything is possible right at our doorstep. The famous royal castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau are just a few kilometres away, as is the romantic old town of Füssen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Appartement Hotel Seespitz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appartement Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing