We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Appartement Hotel Seespitz
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
LosAngeles
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Well worth the price”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Even though it may be more expensive than other hotels in the area, the hotel was well worth the price. We had a family room right on the top level facing the lake. The scenary was like cut from a fairy-tale, a beautiful clear lake framed by the forest on one side and the well maintained resort lawns on the other, the majestic mountains in the background, it was simply unbelievable. The morning stroll around the lake is one attraction that should be listed under "things to do". And if you are not up for a hike just rest on one of the benches along the path and enjoy the fresh, crisp air with the smell of wild flowers, watch the swans on the lake, listen to the birds and the sound of the creeks that feed the lake.
The hotel was meant as a resort for longer stays, with many facilities, perfect for families with children. Our child simply did not want to go anywhere else, just stay and enjoy the playground, the kindergarten and the swimming pool. They also have a nice sauna which adults will love. The pizzeria on site is very good and not expensive, their red house wine rival with top vintages.
Needless to say everything was very clean, modern and elegant. The garage was large for Europe and easy to use. Easy driving anywhere, just 10-15 minutes to Neuschwanstein and Fussen, 5 minutes to Pfronten, the next village, and if you continue 5 more minutes you are entering Tirol, Austria.
If this is your first trip in Germany, be aware that almost everything closes at 6pm. The only businesses that are open are the restaurants and the Beer gardens. But after a full day you won't need anything else!
Check out the beer gardens in Pfronten, great beer, lively atmosphere. Prosit!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lakeview room, it will make you most memorable vacation moments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LATraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    48
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
129
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Seespitz was very short but even though the price was a little high the view of the lake was well worth it!
Our room was comfortable enough, what really made my husband happy was the triple expresso machine located down stairs...free of charge!
We dined next door at the Italian restaurant and the food was delicious and very very reasonably priced!
I am sorry we didn't get to explore the lake and trails but the real reason we stayed was to go to the castle Neuschwanstein, which was only minutes away!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a great stay here. We had a lakeside room and were really glad we did; wonderful view of the lake and public park from our balcony. Very easy parking in their underground garage. Really kind gentleman at the desk. Room was spartan, but very clean. Appreciated the coffee maker. Breakfast was overpriced, but the deskman only charged my 18 year old son half price at checkout. We ate the best meal of our trip across the street and off to the right a bit. My son had a lovely deer stew and I had a whole trout in butter and pecans. Make sure you hike around the lake to the right. It's undeveloped with some lovely views. Wished we had had time to head up some of the hiking trails that spur off the lakeside path. Not an issue for us, but do be aware that a number of people swim or sunbathe in private areas of the lake nude. This was a wonderful quiet place to stay before heading off to the castle over in Fussen. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norfolkteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Restaurant (closed on Weds) has great food, Italian cooks make the Italian fare delicious. Offer breakfeast for 15 euros until 1100 each morning. Rooms are nice, with a room for the kids and a master bedroom overlooking the gorgeous lake and a deck balcony. A path was built around the whole lake in 1954, what a view of the Alps. Staff is very accomodating and professional. Plenty of onsight parking with underground access to elevator. Indoor pool, solarium and dry sauna are nice. Washer and dryer is available. Small gym does the trick. Bike path goes to Fussen, I'd recommend the hotel make bikes available. The Internet can be spotty. The kindergarten kids pool activity in the early morning can sometimes be heard from the master bedroom. 7 minute drive to Fussen, 15 minute drive to the castles. Bottom line: very comfortable and great for families of 4 or 5.

Room Tip: The lake view is incredible. Faces an 18th century church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petew41133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

we booked as this is No 2 ranking hotel here in Fussen while No 1 hotel does not have double room when we book 2months ago.

It's located alongside the peaceful lake with excellent lake view from our lakeview apartment. And it's esp. comfortable to sit at balcony to enjoy the peaceful lakeview together with fresh air. It's around 20min drive from Fussen and you can't get there without a private car though Parking is free.

Room is average but clean. We rented 1 2 bedroom apartments with living room and balcony facing lakeview. The apartment is equipped with kitchen also and good if you plan to cook yourself. Also hotel got a large restaurant on GF. It even got spa center on UG but seems not open when we arrived.

The reception only works from 8-12am and 4-6pm (we didn't know beforehand). We arrived 8pm and no staff at desk but luckily we get in by restaurant waitress and got the envelop with keys and briefing memo. However, given no staff, we missed the WIFI code they attached with the memo (we didn't realized there are 4 code for us and ended up using only 1code for 1 device).
The room without window is a bit stuffy.

Overall a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: choose lakeview room for sure. 2/F or 3F would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

We were quite happy with this hotel during our 3 night stay. Our 2 bedroom apartment was comfortable, clean and had a great view of the Weissensee below the Alps horizon. (A true picture postcard view.) The spaceous balcony was a nice place to sit in the morning/evening to just relax and take in the view. The location is out of the way from the tourist crowds of Fussen and Hohenschwanstien. Quiet, but still within 15 minutes drive of the castles & other attractions.

The proprietor is very friendly and helpful, speaking better English than our German. The room also came with a nice gift basket (sparkling wine, chocolates & coffee), Wifi internet, and bath/kitchen kit. The kitchen has all the cooking utenstils needed. There is even a little market to get food & supplies within walking distance (400m) down the road. If you just want a quiet day, the hotel has boat rentals. There is a walking or biking path around the lake. The hotel has a mineral water pool, a sauna, game room and exwecise room. You can even arrange for a chocolate massage a day in advance. Just ask the front desk for a list of things to do and how to arrange. However, beware that the staff hours are limited to no more than 12 hours daily, so do not expect to get late evening or early morning services here. If you want full service a hotel, better to stay in Fussen at 2 times the price.

The Hotel has a nice little Italian cruisine resuturant with bar. They offer good basic items like soup, pastas and pizza that are reasonably priced. The bavanian beer is all good on draft. Service is also quite friendly. However, you cannot charge to the room so expect to pay afterward.

Our lake view room was 155Euro/night, which we found reasonable compared to single room hotels in other areas visited. They do offer breakfast each morning in a small common room for 15Euro/person. We had it the first morning since we did not arrive until after the markets were closed. The traditional German style buffet breakfast of meats, cheeses, breads, etc. was good, but really not worth the price. For 60Euro you can buy several days food at a market.
An unexpected fee was the 50Euro cleaning fee added at checkout. This fee is disclosed during check-in and is in the information packet, but still can be a surprice to even a seasoned EU traveler. If not for this fee, I would have given a 5 star rating. However, dispite the fee we. would happily return for another stay if and when returning to the Fussen area. In my opinion, it is a good value, especially for the traveling family.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank J B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winscombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My wife and I have stayed here on five occasions at different times of year and always thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff are exemplary and nothing is too much trouble, the whole atmosphere is warm and welcoming.
We have always had a lake view apartment and would highly recommend as the view is just spectacular, looking across the lake to the Alps beyond from the wonderfully large balcony.
The walk around the lake is a must with plenty of seating along the way to sit and enjoy the views and wildlife.
The apartment is well equipped with everything you need and a lovely comfy bed! There is also a small general stores five minutes walk away which is very well stocked with lovely fresh local produce.
Also the hotel boasts a wonderful restaurant, I am very partial to Italian food so it's right up my street!
Getting into the town of Fuessen is very easy if you do not want to drive as there is a bus stop just outside the hotel but equally as easy to drive as there is ample parking.
The Seespitz is a great base from which to explore with so many places to see and enjoy, we have stayed here in all four seasons and it remains our favourite destination.
We could not recommend the Seespitz Hotel highly enough.

Julian & Lynn Hughes UK.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julianandlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,605 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 40 in Fussen
372 reviews
3.5 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
833 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Wiedemann
Hotel Wiedemann
#18 of 40 in Fussen
133 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appartement Hotel Seespitz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appartement Hotel Seespitz

Property: Appartement Hotel Seespitz
Address: Pfrontener Str. 45, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Appartement Hotel Seespitz 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays in the perfect location – right by Lake Weissensee. The brilliant concept of SEESPITZ: We combine all the benefits of a hotel with the independence of a holiday apartment. You will get an excellent breakfast buffet or an a-la-carte dinner in our cosy hotel restaurant – made just the way you like it. Our apartments will be the focal point of your holiday in an outstanding location, right by the lake. The hotel has its own sunbathing lawn, which allows you direct access to a refreshing dip into the lake. An extensive playground for children and the nearby lido are located adjacent to the hotel. Our indoor swimming pool with its separate children’s pool has splendidly warm water (32 ºC) all year round. Enjoy rejuvenating walks or extensive hikes, breezy bike rides and a variety of winter sports. Everything is possible right at our doorstep. The famous royal castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau are just a few kilometres away, as is the romantic old town of Füssen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Appartement Hotel Seespitz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appartement Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing