We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Christine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Christine
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Rooms were perfect--clean, spacious with a nice welcoming feel. The welcome drink and fruit dish in the room were really nice after a long drive to Fussen. Breakfast was absolutely great ( opens at 8am only) and the best Kaiserschmarrn we have tasted. There is sufficient parking and easy to get to the center of town. We selected this hotel because of the price difference with other hotels located in the center and were extremely happy that we made this choice.

The owner was very nice and gave us directions on how to get to the ticket office in Hohenschwangau, it is about a ten-minute drive. An easy drive until you arrive in Hohenschwangau whereupon the number of tourists is overwhelming. we recommend to park in P4 after the ticket office. It appears as if everyone goes to the P1 and P2 areas. P4 is located right below the Hohenschwangau castle where most of the tourist buses are parked.

Room Tip: The top floor was the best for us with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Etmo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent one night here (wish it had been longer). Beautiful hotel in very quiet area - short walk to centre of Fussen which is full of character. Excellent hospitality from Kurt - received a welcome drink on arrival and helped us to the room with our bags. Room was spacious and immaculate. Large bathroom with shower and bath and views of Neuschwanstein castle from our balcony. Enjoyed a varied and delicious breakfast in a gorgeous dining room (fresh orchids enhanced the room). One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in - and we have travelled extensively - thank you Kurt for the chocolates - hope we get the opportunity to visit again sometime.

Room Tip: Room 11 - excellent view - quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was one of the best hotels of its type I have ever stayed in. It is somewhat surprisingly located in a residential area, although near Lake Forggensee. We had hardly dismounted our motorbike when Herr Ruppert’s wife came out and told us she would take her car out of their private garage so that I could put it in there. As soon as we checked-in we were giving a refreshing glass of fruit juice before going to our room. This was immaculate and the fresh fruit, biscuits and Pringles a nice touch. A great bathroom with instantly hot water meant that we could not have asked for more. In the morning breakfast was served to you rather than being a buffet and was fantastic. Fresh and different from the standard European breakfast. Then we saw Herr Ruupert’s awards from when he was a chef running a large kitchen and we realised that he still applies the attention to detail that must have required. This was only an overnight stop for us but we will go back just for the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveNKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Its been my fourth time staying here and its been excellent every time. Located close to the lake you can enjoy the tranquility of allgau region. At lovely 15 min walk and your right in town. Ask for a room with make view and you'll be able to see Schloss Neuschwanstein.
The owner Mr. Ruppert knows his job very well and always got a good advice where to go and how to get there.
You have to book breakfast you won't regret as it is the best you can get! Prepared with a lot of love and an eye for details it gives you the perfect start of the day!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank candy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at this comfortable hotel which has the charm and feel of an elegant bed and breakfast. Our very large second floor room was bright, spacious and spotless. Though we didn’t spend much time there, we enjoyed the sitting area inside and out, and also the convenience of a bar fridge. (There is a wonderful grocery store minutes away.) It was a treat to fall asleep and wake up to the view of the Neuschwanstein Castle! Herr Rupert takes great pride in his hotel and the service he and his staff provides and it shows. Upon our arrival we were welcomed with a refreshing drink in the lobby after which Herr Ruppert showed us to our room, where we found a lovely platter (adorned with a rose no less) of bits and bites including fresh strawberries and truffles. German breakfasts are known to be plentiful and delicious; however Herr Ruppert takes it to another level with his attention to detail. We felt like royalty as we walked down the stairs to the bright elegant breakfast room listening to classical music. Our table couldn’t have been more beautifully set with many dishes of beautifully presented fruit, juices, local cheeses, meats, smoked fish, breads, and much more. Hotel Christine is conveniently located; a short drive to the castles and a short walk to town on a paved, well lit walking path. It was not a huge issue but we also experienced poor WIFI.

Room Tip: Room 11 large, bright, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

AVOID. AVOID. AVOID. I can't say that enough. The owner of this hotel is rude, mutters to himself and pretends not to speak english, but he can both speak and understand it. We tried to use the little bit of German we knew and were always corrected, not like other places where we had been at least acknowledged for trying. Read the other terrible and poor reviews about this place on Tripadvisor, they are all true (pitty we had only managed to quickly read the good ones when booking this place). How it got such a high rating is very questionable. We only stayed one night and could not get out of there fast enough. This hotel is situated within the residential area of Fussen, about a 5 minute car ride into the town. We picked this place based on its price, but do yourself a favour and pay the extra to stay somewhere else. The hotel is clean and presents well but the owner had such poor personal skills it was uncomfortable and embarassing. Either he does not like foreigners (we are Australians) or hates his job. Take your pick but certainly don't pick this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mirah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a few days in Germany and had read wonderful reviews about Hotel Christine, so we checked it out. We couldn't have been more pleased. It was clean, very charming, great rooms and a tasty breakfast. Check it out - great location, close enough to all the goodies Fussen has to offer but far enough off the path to enjoy some beauty and quiet. We loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 41 in Fussen
1,662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#4 of 41 in Fussen
718 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 41 in Fussen
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Fussen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#3 of 41 in Fussen
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 41 in Fussen
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christine

Address: Weidachstr. 31, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
#9 Family Hotel in Fussen
Price Range: £109 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Christine 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Christine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christine Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing