We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty as a picture!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Steigmuehle
Ranked #5 of 24 Fussen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pretty as a picture!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We loved our stay here! Our room was bright, spacious, and clean, tastefully decorated in Bavarian style, with a balcony looking over a lovely lake with the mountains in the background. Absolutely perfect!
The family that runs the hotel makes everyone feel special, with such charming touches as a fridge stocking cold drinks where you can just take what you like and write down your room number - the honour system at its best! Breakfast was hearty and comprehensive with meats, cheeses, muesli, yogurt, cereals, fresh fruit, those marvellous German breads and buns, juices, tea, and coffee, all presented with a "Good morning" (in German, which I can't spell!) and a big smile! The hotel is a short drive from the castles Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein, and the cute town of Fussen. An hour away, you can be on the highest peak in Germany, Zugspitze, which is definitely worth the trip. Unfortunately, it rained heavily for the entire time we stayed here, or we would have done some hikes nearby.
We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Buhmann, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Pension Steigmuehle, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear 'FoxT',

thank You very much for Your positive review! We are glad to hear You were able to enjoy Your stay in our place and enjoyed all the local products on our breakfast buffet.

We would be delighted to welcome You back at the Steigmühle!

Best regards from Weissensee,

Familie Buhmann and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Knowing that Oktoberfest was on in Munich we thought we had better book ahead in Bavaria in case some less-hardy folk made an early exit from the biergarten.

It was not until the online booking for three nights from September 17 was confirmed that I got to read the excellent review by Steve G (below). Everything he says, about the hotel and the attractions presented by both nature and King Ludwig II, is spot on.

What I can't understand is how the Steigmühle has only attracted 12 reviews (seven rating it 'excellent' and five 'very good') before this one. We lived in Germany for more than three years until 1990 and had visited the area before, staying once on the other side of Fussen and another time in Garmisch-P. We thus knew what scenery to expect; what we had not expected was this excellent hotel.

I hadn't spoken German for more than two decades so on arrival I certainly didn't reject Matthias Buhmann's polite query: "Would you like to speak English?" In mid-September the clientele was mainly German rentners (pensioners) and I guess - viewed from a similar age - that the baby boomer generation has a lot to offer in sorties on land as well as on cruise ships.

There were calls of "Morgen" and "Gruss Gott" ringing heartily around the breakfast room after 8am each day and the meal was equally as hearty. One day boiled eggs, the next scrambled showed the attention to detail that the family puts into its business. I won't say "well, in my day" to avoid upsetting younger readers, but it was hugely satisfying that the Steigmühle still feels able to offer an honour system for drinks.

Our double room was on the first floor with a balcony and a view of the mountains (as we had been advised). It was spacious and comfortable and wi-fi was a bonus. The bathroom was spotless.

We can't praise this establishment highly enough. Apart from anything else it represents excellent value for money. Book here if you have transport and are planning a trip to take in Neuschwanstein and other scenic delights, including the Weissensee literally across the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happyladdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthiasBuhmann, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Pension Steigmuehle, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear 'Happylady',

thank You very much for Your extensive and very positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to see You had a really beautiful time and enjoyed staying with us. We are looking forward to welcoming You again!

Best regards,

Familie Buhmann and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Most holidays are booked in the hope that the destination is just as pleasant as it looked when you first saw it online.

Of course one would expect the hotel owners to make it look attractive and that there may be something behind the camera which is less so. It therefore comes as a very pleasant surprise to find that with the Steigmuhle this is certainly not the case!

The view from our room window was superb with the snow-capped Alps as a nearby backdrop to the beautiful Weissensee lake just a stones-throw from the hotel.

This is a beautifully presented, clean, spacious and secure environment from which to explore the multitude of interesting sights and activities this area has to offer. In fact there is so much of interest to see and do that it was impossible to get halfway through the things we had originally planned so I suppose it would be a great excuse to go back there. The fairytale castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau , the picturesque town of Fussen, numerous lakes and mountain walks in and around the Tegelberg are almost immediately to hand. A very nice touch was a couple of small rucksacks and walking poles plus a couple of umberellas for guest's use which are situated just inside the wood panelled entrance should you develop a mild case of Wanderlust….. which is hard to resist in such a lovely place. In fact, if you do go wandering, be sure to ask for a packed lunch to be made up for you.

One day the three of us caught the train from nearby Fussen to Munich for the day and were told that the two hour journey would cost about 32 euros for a return ticket. We assumed, wrongly, that this meant per person and not for all three of us! The train dropped us of at the main station which is a short walk from the city centre with all it has to offer.

The really nice thing about Steigmuhle is that the premises is traditionally Bavarian enough to satisfy my own tastes but without my wife and her mum feeling they were half way up a mountain in a log cabin. The room was beautifully decorated with a modern and immaculately presented bathroom which was cleaned to a very high standard every day. Free Wifi and a decent TV were included but don’t expect Eastenders to be shown.

Incredibly this business has only recently achieved a three star rating. All I can say is that the German criteria must be very strict indeed because this place is lovingly cared for and definitely worth the three stars.

Steigmuhle is a family run business and the entire Buhmann family were friendly, helpful and efficient. Always available for queries and questions they were masters of their trade and never made us feel as though we were in a commercial concern. Frau Buhmann was an excellent business woman and had a knack of knowing exactly what made each of her guests tick. She listened to my attempts at German and was patient throughout before subtly revealing, as the days wore on, that she actually speaks very good English.

This is technically a ‘bed and breakfast’ although this phrase gives totally the wrong impression. This is a quality premises and breakfast was, as you would expect, cold meats, weisswurst, cheeses, fresh bread rolls, eggs, cereals and jams with as much coffee and tea as you can manage. No lunch or dinner of course but with so many lovely restaurants in the area we would only have eaten there once or twice had it been.

There is no bar in the hotel but a fridge stocking German beers, wines and cold drinks with an honesty notepad does the trick and there is a lovely traditional pub and restaurant 25 yards away. In fact if you try the pub you must try the Allgauer Almsteaks. Highly recommended.

If you are looking for a commercial hotel with a pool and entertainment in a ‘happening’ place this venue is not for you. If you are looking to sample the true Bavaria for a while in a wonderfully scenic and peaceful location with more local culture than you can shake a stick at this is where you should stay. We will definitely go back in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthiasBuhmann, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Pension Steigmuehle, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Mr. G.,

thank You very much for Your stay and Your very positive feedback, which we also will pass on to our team.

Best regards,

The Buhmann family with team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We found Weissensee an ideal base for exploring the castles (max 15 mins drive away) and the interesting little town of Fussen (5 minutes). The location of the village on the lake is wonderful: the Steigmuhle is barely 100m from the lake, and within 200m of
3 very good restaurants: 2 German and one Italian. Room very comfortable, although not luxurious, and fantastic views on 2 sides. Staff reasonably friendly and helpful and breakfast tasty and copious. We thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetandTig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We came to this guest house for 1 night but decided to prolong staying for extra night - it is very cosy and pleasant place just opposite the Weissen See and just a few kilometers away from Fussen and another nice lake Alatsee. Castles are also close. Didn't check local transportation system but if you have a car - the guest house is strongly recommended. Hosts are very responsive and service minded.

Room Tip: ask for the room with a view to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vadim7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Wiedemann
Hotel Wiedemann
#18 of 40 in Fussen
129 reviews
3.6 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
421 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Appartement  Hotel Seespitz
3.4 mi away
Hotel Am Hopfensee
Hotel Am Hopfensee
#14 of 40 in Fussen
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Steigmuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Steigmuehle

Property: Pension Steigmuehle
Address: Alte Steige 3 | Weissensee, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Steigmuehle 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension Steigmuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing