We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done Hotel Am Hopfensee”
Review of Hotel Am Hopfensee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Am Hopfensee
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Stayed here during May. The hotel is overlooking the lake. The area is quite and very relaxing. I stayed for 3 nights, I had a car (by the way free parking) so being away from the city center was not an issue but rather good choice since the price per room is better than the center rate plus the service and quality of service.
The rate included a breakfast which was very good. Also I had a dinner once and I enjoined it.
Definitely I would return back.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasser F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2011

Fantastic location on the lake with lovely mountain views. Very close to Neuschwanstein/Hohenschwangau castles and the ideal location for people traveling to the castles by car. We were considering staying in Fussen or Schwangau and were very pleased by our choice to stay at Hotel am Hopfensee instead. The rooms were modernised and very clean and nice (although the suites are yet to be modernised I believe). Free parking across the road from the hotel so no need to pay for the underground parking. We had dinner at Fischerhuette Restaurant across the road from the hotel - the most amazing duck and so cheap! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lp3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Visited Am Hopfensee Hotel on the recommendation of friends and cannot praise it highly enough. The recent renovations and the brand new Spa just made everything perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and had both continental and cooked food on offer. The sister hotel next door served the most wonderful authentic Italian and Bavarian food so no need to travel into Fussen for meals in the evening. Our room 203 was spotless and spacious and tastefully decorated and had a balcony with a great view of the lake. The new Spa was a welcome relaxation after a long walk round the frozen lake. Would definitely make a point of visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tazarran99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

The only good thing about this hotel is location - right infront of the lake, good view on Alps, 5 min from Füssen and Neuschwanstein castle. But that was just it. Hotel is very old. Our triple room 105 was smelly, especially bathroom, even towels didn't feel being clean. It had nothing to do with the pictures that were placed in booking.com - we felt really cheated with so many nice guesthouses around. Breakfast was also basic, and you need to get up as early as 7 to get your croissant, otherwise you'll eat yesterday's bread. I would love to come back during the winter time but never to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anastassia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed for 6 nights in June,2010 The Hotel is under renovation at present but our room which was facing the beautiful lake was large, clean although dated.
It is excellent value for money and we would return as the area is so stunning, the friendly hotel staff make the stay very enjoyable. We opted for 1/2 pension which is a great deal as the meals were wholesome and large by Australian standards.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiulianaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Hotel is situated right next to a lake. So out of the window we had a beautiful view on the lake and mountains. If you like jogging or just walking it is a good place for it. Furniture in the room was older, but on the other hand it was clean. Bathroom was nice, clean as well. Staff at the reception was very helpful. We stayed only over night, so didnt have to pay for parking. Breakfast was very good, wide range.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ablazkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

The lady in charge (maybe owner) was very rude and unprofessional, and the staff/waiter were also not friendly. The room was not clean with heavy smoking smell and the bedding felt not changed, and many stains on the ground and walls. The smelly bathroom had no supplies except a towel. The included breakfast had very few items such as cold eggs (don't be fooled by the restaurant setting facing the lake). It had no internet connection nor wireless even though it advertised to have.

They would try to charge additional at any chance, like 10 euro for parking in front as in fact parking in the city owned lot in front (between the hotel and the lake) is free between 7pm and 9am and free 2 hour parking during daytime. The hotel is located near the beautiful lake on a road with other B&B hotels, and might be the cheapest (as it indeed feels cheap). It is about 2 miles from Fussen. I would avoid this horrible hotel and its restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank forehandwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 41 in Fussen
1,662 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#12 of 41 in Fussen
471 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#3 of 41 in Fussen
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#4 of 41 in Fussen
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Geiger
Hotel Geiger
#1 of 3 in Hopfen am See
107 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 41 in Fussen
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Hopfensee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Hopfensee

Address: Uferstr. 10, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
Price Range: £93 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Hopfensee 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Am Hopfensee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenblick Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing