We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful spot in Bavaria”
Review of Hotel Am Hopfensee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Am Hopfensee
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

What a beautiful location! A nice comfortable inn on a beautiful lake surrounded in the distance by mountains. What isn't there to like about this spot. The town is quiet and enjoyable to walk. You will need a car to get to and from this area from Fussen. Breakfast was very enjoyable. Quiet property for being on the road. While the rooms facing the lake have a great view, with the summer sun beating in on that side of the property and with no air conditioning, it gets very uncomfortable. Yes, even in summer Bavaria and south Germany gets hot. Limited covered parking is available; make sure you reserve in advance. Staff were very accommodating. Rooms were very clean and up to German standards.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrLFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a small hotel on the lakefront. It is well worth booking a lakeview room as the views are to die for.There is a balcony on which to watchthe sky over the lake The room was large, the bed comfortable, the water hot. However not one TV channel in English. The breakfasts are good value with a wide choice . Parking however is limited, and as we inadvertently booked for a holiday and the town was crowded, we had to park a kilometre from the hotel. Good restaurant nwext door, and the hotel has its own restaurant for evening meals. reception staff not particularly helpful or courteous. As usual in Europe the rooms are overheated at night with unnecessarily warm bedding, so this complaint is not exclusive to our hotel. Close to Fussen, and the popular castles

Room Tip: Request a lake view room and you will be pleased tou didThere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shiraleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel is not right in the town of Fussen, but in a more resort-type area nearby, right on a lake. There are several restaurants nearby, but you would have to drive into town for lots of restaurants and shops. We had a car, and it was a great location for touring King Ludwig's castles. It was very quiet. Our room was nice, but probably the smallest in the hotel, without a balcony. We would have preferred a different. room, but overall were very satisfied. The breakfast at the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were surprised to see such modern amenities in a quaint hotel. It had the charm of a small inn but the modernness of a high-end resort. Room was large. We had two end unit rooms with views of the lake. Restaurant and bar at the hotel were great. We loved walking up and down the main street of the town. Quick drive to castles, and I think there is a bus. One of the best bathrooms we had in Europe. Wifi signal worked very well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat12F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Good room over looking the lake with mountains surrounding it. Nice to swim in and walk around. Food was good friendly staff. Not far from Fussen which is a very attractive Bavarian town. An excellent first stop on the Deutsche Alpenstrasse we travelled all the way to the Eagles nest.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunriseSuperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We booked this small hotel two hours before we checked into it, and as a result got a special offer of two double rooms for the price of one apartment, which suited us just fine. The hotel is in a beautiful location at the lake, and even though there is a road between the lake and the hotel, it's not busy in the least. It's about 10 minutes from Fussen or Neuschwanstein Castle, so extremely well-located.

The rooms are modern and practical. The staff is very friendly - even with a large group of obnoxious guests who were travelling all over Europe by coach, they never lost their courtesy! Breakfast is ok, nothing special but it did the job!

I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly, particularly if you can get a good price for it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1974Tinnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful area of Bavaria. Staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble (including booking an extra night on the morning we were supposed to leave - we loved it that much!!)
Beautiful views over the lake and a lovely restaurant next door which the hotel also owned (we didn't get chance to eat in the actual restaurant and when we went in there for lunch one day it was very quiet, no music or atmosphere, so we went elsewhere).
The only negatives I have to say about this hotel are that we were informed after our booking that the spa would not be available during our stay due to water damage. Obviously this is not something that the hotel could help but no compensation was offered for the facilities that we would be unable to use.
We stayed in this hotel for only two nights but the room was gorgeous, huge bed that was really comfortable, robes and towels available. If there had been tea/coffee making facilities in the room, it would have been perfect!
I would definitely stay in this hotel again, only a very short distance from the quaint little town of Fuessen itself and only about 15 minute drive to the unmissable Neauschwanstein Castle.
All in all, a brilliant hotel, would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again - beautiful!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skunkycroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 41 in Fussen
1,687 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#3 of 41 in Fussen
426 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#4 of 41 in Fussen
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 41 in Fussen
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpengluehn
Hotel Alpengluehn
#8 of 41 in Fussen
127 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 41 in Fussen
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Hopfensee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Hopfensee

Address: Uferstr. 10, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
Price Range: £110 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Hopfensee 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Am Hopfensee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenblick Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing