We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel in Town Center”
Review of Hotel Hirsch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hirsch
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel in Town Center”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights while visiting the local castles and churches. The location was great, free parking is a plus, and the decor is charming. We had the standard double on the 3rd floor, but found the room and bath to be comfortable, modern & spotless. The view from the 3rd floor terrace is very scenic. My only criticism was the low lighting in the couch area, which made reading difficult. We also found the restaurant exceeded expectations. The first night was a spring asparagus special and the chef's preparation was excellent except for a somewhat dry wiener schnitzel. We had breakfast two mornings and dinner a second night when a surprise spring snowstorm arrived, and would rate the restaurant 4 of 5.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank temeraire53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    232
    61
    10
    6
See reviews for
187
300
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our family stayed at this hotel recently during a 2-night stay in Fussen. It's a decent hotel, but I would recommend the Hotel Fantasia or Hotel Sonne instead. I had interactions with both of these hotels, and they were both very helpful even though I wasn't staying with them.

Pros:
- Good location to shopping in the historic district and 5 km from castle tours
- Breakfast was included and it had pretty good options
- Hotel staff were very friendly
- Rooms and bathrooms were very large and open (ours had a great view)

Cons:
- WiFi was hit or miss in the rooms; it worked fine at the front desk
- Parking was free in the lot in front of the hotel, but spaces are limited
- No exercise facility or swimming pool available
- Some of the rooms have beds that are awful - 4" mattress with wood boards below; the pillows are basically a rolled up sack of bedding (not a firm pillow at all - more like a beanbag)
- No self-service laundry facilities at the hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antraroony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We just returned from our family vacation to Germany, where we stayed at the Hotel Hirsch for one night before touring the Castles the next day. It is a beautiful hotel, with impeccable service. Our room was a classic Bavarian style, with a single bed in a nook for our teenage daughter, it was perfect. The bedding was so comfortable I emailed the hotel on our return to find out if I could purchase it. We had a drink in the hotel bar at night, and a delicious German breakfast in the morning. We look forward to returning here some day. Next time we will for sure enjoy a dinner in the hotel restaurant. Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom2kea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We just completed a four night stay and absolutely loved Hotel Hirsch! The staff was so great in helping us find daily bus and train connections. The stay came with a fantastic breakfast every morning. This is perfect place to hub out of to see Bavaria!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StacyCentralFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and it was so beautiful. Go for a room on the third floor if you can, close to the roof terrace, beautiful views of the amazing mountains from the bed!
Make sure you have dinner in the hotel restaurant at least one night and ask for the recommendations. The venison was to die for! Breakfast is quite typical German, lots of meat, cheeses, fruit, cereals, yogurts, bread etc. fresh juice and coffee. If you want eggs and bacon, just ask and they are only too happy to do it for you!
This is a wonderful family run business, been in the same family for generations and Eva and Harold are always on hand to help or provide advice on what you should do in the area.
We took our two dogs with us and this is certainly a dog friendly hotel. They could sit in the bar with us of an evening.

All in all a wonderful stay and highly recommended. If you need a great base from which to explore some of the best walking, castle sight seeing and sitting eating strudel(!) then Hotel Hirsch is hard to beat!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluebecks33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The Hotel is pretty close to the town center, however the local interesting area is quite small, in walking distance of most attractions.
The hotel itself is quite nice, very traditional with lots of old objects placed around the corridors and rooms. However, for a 4-star hotel one would expect higher standards. The rooms are not that big, and have nothing special, nothing that steps in the light. I stayed in a standard double room at a superior level. The bed was not double, but it was two twin beds brought together. The bathroom was clean and nice. For smokers, you can go to the 3rd level on a nice outside terrace where you can also admire the panoramic view of the town center.
In the price of one night you get the room, access to the terrace, free parking, and free WiFi, and also a very nice breakfast (don't miss it!!!).
The staff was nice and helpful, and they speak good English if you don't know German.
Overall it was good, but I would also expect something else from a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Was here in a Summer, so this place is for me really amazing... Near close to Neuschwanstein Castle, very close to Austria... No Problem. Hotel has now renovated rooms, so The quality is a little bit higher, than last years... Morning time, Breakfast have they really great, And fresh... Only The přiče was here little bit higher, no extremely...
Recommended !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDosko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fussen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#12 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirsch

Property: Hotel Hirsch
Address: Kaiser-Maximilian-Platz 7, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#4 Family Hotel in Fussen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hirsch 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hirsch Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing