We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“might not be the best place, but a great and recommended option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zum Franziskaner

Zum Franziskaner
Ranked #41 of 96 Restaurants in Fussen
Cuisines: German, Central European, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
251 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“might not be the best place, but a great and recommended option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The "Zum Franziskaner" was my first try at German food in general, and I liked it. The service was good and the food was very tasty as well, albeit I paid almost 20 euros for a Coke and a Wiener Schnitzel.

The place is well located in Fussen tiny Downtown area and the restaurant is very cozy. If I ever stop by Fussen again, I'd totally go to the Zum Franziskaner one more time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    46
    30
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were there on our first night in Fussen searching for typical german food. This place seemed nice with wood walls and some people inside with atractive dishes. We have to wait a lot: for the waitress to pick our delivery, for our dishes, to pick our desserts... Also, when we had finished the waitress told us we can't pay with crèdit card! - be carefull! In this town you can't use your credit card anywhere!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlesster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This restaurant restored my faith in Bavarian cuisine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Having had a couple of truly dreadful meals in Füssen, I was delighted to come across this rather unassuming eatery just inside the old city. The homemade Goulash Soup was the best of its kind that I have had outside Budapest! The wiener schnitzel is simply delicious as is the käserspätzle. Do yourself a favour, if you are staying in Füssen and you want to try some real Bavarian food, then try this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sperafucile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great service, great food, good host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

we stopped to try some traditional fare. the host was so good recommending a speciality which was just perfect. My partner had pork knuckle with potato dumpling and sauerkraut, I had pork with red cabbage. Both dishes were just excellent, the host added to the evening. We ate outside and enjoyed a local wheat beer. totally recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harlow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Nice looking restaurant, food looks good & is well presented & service is good.
Unfortunately the one & only time we visited we had the worse Schnitzels we have ever had both in & outside of Germany.
The first bite was not to bad but the crumb coating was so salty we had to remove it & just eat the meat, the saltiness killed the very good beer flat & stayed in our mouths for hours.
We did complain but there was no apology or response I do hope this was a one off as it spoiled our day at what looked like a good restaurant

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zum Franziskaner also viewed

 

Been to Zum Franziskaner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing