We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Landhaus Kossel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Landhaus Kossel
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Fussen
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here on our visit to Fussen...We were arriving late at night so I phoned them and informed them and they said they would leave our keys outside......I honestly didn't understand where she said she would leave the keys so once we arrived we found our key sitting outside on the bench and the front door open....Our room was spacious and had a sitting area....we enjoyed every bit of our stay.... stunning and quiet area and we look forward to returning

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idreamofkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We loved the room and the location. No problems there, but the lady who talked with us on the property when we checked in told us she would come to our room "in twenty minutes" but she NEVER showed up. There was not a language barrier as I am a German speaker. About an hour later I went down to the office and was "greeted" by a snotty little twit who handed me a tourist survey about the area and the info about their WiFi....but the WiFi did not work in the building we were in. We were told we could use it in the main building, but who wants to do that! We had breakfast the next morning and it was outstanding. The lady on the intercom was serving the breakfast. The office is only from 0800 until 1200 daily. She did not want to deal with my payment then and we were going to Neuschwanstein the next day. We had already decided to not have breakfast the second day of our visit and left before 0800 . On the day we checked out the twit was on duty and had materially miscalculated our bill. After some gnashing of teeth and her failure to listen she finally discovered the error I had initially pointed out. The long and short of this is be prepared to be dealing with them only between 0800 and 1200.....but the trade-off is spending the night in extremely fine rooms on a lovely property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for seven nights as part of our Castles and Christmas Markets tour. We had a spacious one-bedroom suite with a balcony and lovely view. Everything was clean and well-kept. Breakfast was excellent, and the breakfast room was sunny and bright with windows looking out to the mountains and lake. After a day of touring, we were happy to come back to our "home away from home".

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LillaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Quiet, relaxing, clean, tranquil, large room, idyllic setting. Stayed there while on European Castle Tour. Smaller shower than I'm used to. Excellent breakfast. We enjoyed our stay and it was nice to come back to such a relaxing retreat after a full day of touring!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of European Castle Tours Christmas Markets Tour. Our stay took place in early December, so it snowed nearly every day and added to the charm of this hotel. This is almost a bed & bfast type of place, but has large suites where you can cook small meals if you like.

Located in the Bavarian countryside, this place has amazing views of the Bavarian Alps and is situated in the very quaint town of Hopfen am See. We truly loved our stay at Landhaus. The rooms were large and very clean. We had Suite 8, on the 3rd floor of the main building. It had a large bedroom with a king-esque bed, a small kitchen, small bathroom and a large living room with a deck that opened up to the south-east. The room was clean and we found house keeping did a very nice job making up the room each day.

The breakfasts were fantastic. I'm not sure if they were extra fantastic b/c we were on a tour, or if its the standard fare. Every day there were delicious meats, cheeses and croissants. Also freshly prepared eggs and bacon, and some delicious coffee.

The staff at this hotel tries to keep out of your way. Our encounters were very friendly and respectful. Given we spoke limited German, and they limited English, there wasn't much more of an opportunity for much more.

As for guests complaining about service, toilets, manure, or the church bell, I personally think they're hard to please spoiled American idiots. I'm an American, so I feel like I can say that. This place is in the German countryside, where a lot of the landowners share their homes with a barn-type structure. So its not uncommon for cows to be living amongst people, so yes there's going to be manure/smells. The hotel does their best to keep the property clean, but they can't control animals, or the lifestyle of the region. If you're going to be bothered by this, I would recommend staying in nearby Fussen or not leaving Munich. As for the church bell, well yes, its a problem at 6am b/c it rings long and loud. However, given that this is the countryside, I suspect its some sort of traditional waking of the town. If you can't get back to sleep, I HIGHLY recommend taking a walk up the road out of town and catching the morning sunrise, or enjoying your beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Room 8 is very nice and shares a nice balcony facing the Alps and the courtyard. Take a walk into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TaurusSaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

One of our new favorites in Southern Bavaria. A great home-base to do day trips from. Rooms are exceptionally large (ours included a small kitchen (sink, stove, mini-fridge), large bedroom with table and wrap around porch and large bathroom by European standards. Room overlooked the small swimming area (ideal for kids in the summer) and pastures. Breakfast was very good and more than the usual 'continental' fare with eggs (hard boiled and scrambled), assortment of cheeses and meats, cereal and yogurt, bread and brotchen, juices and more. Located one block off (and up) from the lake. Small convenience store is located nearby for snacks if needed. Family ran and we were treated very well and always with a smile. A great home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chatdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We booked this hotel primarily for price and location. Having 5 in our family and being close to Neuschwanstein castle~the price was ok and we were only staying the one night. Upon arriving around 9:30 PM we rang the door only to find the owner must have been offsite as we were only able to talk to her through the intercom and she told us to go in and where to locate our room. We were thrilled to find an entire apartment including kitchen and living area.There were 2 bedrooms and 1 cot in the living room. Very clean and it was obviously newly built/redone. It was late so some of us took a shower and then off to our respective rooms to read/sleep as we had a 9:00 AM tour of the castle. Sometime during the night the heat went out. My husband tried to see what was going on but to no avail. At around 5 AM he decided to just shower and get ready for the day and hoped to warm up. Unfortunately, no heat meant no hot water! Well, we were traveling with 3 teenage girls so THAT wasn't going to go over well in the morning. We tried contacting the owner via outside on the intercom (VERY cold outside/snow on the ground) and told her our situation of no heat and no hot water for showers around 7 AM. She suggested a few things but, having lived in Germany, we were well aware of the dials/knobs and how they worked. We were pretty cold and waited patiently to see if there was any improvement. There was not. We went outside to call her again~she finally came over and after checking things out said it was probably the heater in the basement (I don't believe this was the first time this had happened) and the whole house was without hot water/heat, it seemed. She went down to the basement and that was the problem. She turned it back on and told us to give it 15 minutes and we would have hot water. Well, of course, that did not happen that quickly and we did have to leave for our tour sans shower and quite chilled. While settling our bill the owner (finally) apologized for our inconvenience and changed our rate from 153 euro to 120 euro which we appreciated (this rate did not include breakfast). The place would have been lovely except for the lack of urgency on the part of the owner. I understand she was offsite but we were cold and 3 of us did not get showers. I would not return to this hotel though it is a nice place only because I believe this owner's lack of hospitality was probably due to her being offsite and it was inconvenient for her to come over and make sure our valid complaints were recognized.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serene4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Wiedemann
Hotel Wiedemann
#20 of 41 in Fussen
137 reviews
3.4 mi away
Appartement  Hotel Seespitz
2.3 mi away
Hotel Filser
Hotel Filser
#13 of 41 in Fussen
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am Hopfensee
Hotel Am Hopfensee
#17 of 41 in Fussen
219 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 41 in Fussen
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Geiger
Hotel Geiger
#1 of 3 in Hopfen am See
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhaus Kossel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus Kossel

Address: Hoehenstr. 8 | Hopfen am See, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fussen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
Price Range: £61 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Landhaus Kossel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Landhaus Kossel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhaus Kossel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing