We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely unique...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fuerstliche Burgschenke Harburg

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fuerstliche Burgschenke Harburg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harburg
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Definitely unique...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We travelled here from Rothenburg (down the Romantic Road) in December 2012, for a 1 night stay. It was extremely snowy and the little town appeared to be completely closed. We took a guess as to the location of the hotel – headed for the castle overlooking the town. It was a bit too snowy to get through the castle gate, up the cobbled path, to the top so we parked near the bottom and decided to get out and walk to explore. There was absolutely no one around – it was extremely quiet and there didn’t appear to be an obvious hotel entrance! It was very surreal. We eventually stumbled along the cafe/hotel entrance; it was quite basic and cold with a lot of dark wood around (fairly old-fashioned). There was an unfortunate smell of cafe/stale cigarettes (this permeated the whole place).
We stayed in the tower room – unfortunately it was a little cold as they hadn’t expected us to arrive so early (a lot of heat disappeared from the little tower windows, and the lower area of the room remained cooler, but it warmed up greatly during the night and was quite toasty). The bed was in a lower area and there was a small upper area with a table and chairs etc. and a teeny shower room with toilet (very basic). Unfortunately there was no wifi and no English speaking tv channels. We had a small walk in the snow and a quick drive around the town but, sadly, there didn’t seem to be an awful lot to do. We felt a little isolated.
On the plus side, it was a unique experience and the staff were lovely and accommodating (ask for a hairdryer and they’re happy to give you one). We had an early meal in the restaurant downstairs (weren’t sure where else to go!) where they had obviously made a huge effort with our table decorations (with free chocolates etc.) – it was a good choice (and appeared to be very popular with the locals). It had great service and the food was equally good (especially for the price) – the dessert of waffles, cherries and icecream was the best.
We don’t think there were many people staying in the hotel while we were there so it was nice and quiet. When we booked the tower room there was a note saying we would be ‘sleeping under the stars’. We didn’t quite understand this when we turned up and the room was your usual plastered ceiling (albeit a high one, and in a castle tower). We joked that it would be glow in the dark paint when we turned the lights off which turned out to be correct! But, put in this way would be to undersell what was a nice feature and very well done (staff inform us it was done by a famous Austrian artists and took several weeks). It was definitely a talking point and unique.
In the morning they gave us a lift, with our luggage, down to the parked car (because of the snow) which was very kind of them. Check out time was at 11am. Breakfast was a good selection of usual fare.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmkline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

A brilliant hotel located within the excellent medieval castle at Harburg. We had the tower suite which we found well worth spending a bit extra for, it has a beautiful circular bedroom and a nice living area as well. We ate in the hotel restaurant at the castle which was lovely, as was breakfast the next day. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katieko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We enjoyed a 1 night stay as traveling down the Romantic Road enroute to Fussen. The room was comfortable for our family of 4. Good restaurant to enjoy. No grounds to explore and views can only be obtained from the castle tour. Tour is not included in the overnight stay price (it should be) and no English tours available; German only.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SLP v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Never thought we would actually get to stay in a castle. We needed a Place to stay the night while driving the romantic road. You actually drive up through the castle gates to get to the hotel. Room number two has a special suprise on the ceiling once the lights go out. Would come. Back just to stay here anytime

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alldredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Although the castle is very old, the rooms are very nicely updated and very clean, comfortable and well appointed. The rooms are all walk-up and no lift is available. A very good breakfast is included. We stayed there in the off season and it was very quiet. The castle is located outside of Harburg and the town is very small so dining options are limited but the restaurant at the castle hotel was great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonsgp
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

I had a wonderful experience in the hotel. Rooms are cosy, decent-sized and clean. Most of the furniture looks new. View of the courtyard. Includes breakfast. Stay for the experience of a night in a castle albeit in modern and nicely furnished rooms!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonsgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2006

We stayed in this hotel in August 2006 as we were travelling down Germany's Romantic Road. We found out about it by pure chance, as it isn't advertised much. The hotel and restaurant are within Harburg Castle. During the day the place can be a bit busy due to visitors to the Castle but at night it turns into a peaceful little haven and we were allowed to park our car in the castle's court.
It is a family-run business and everybody was really kind and friendly. Our room was very clean and comfortable, although the bathroom was really tiny (we'd been told in advance that our room was the smallest in the hotel though and were asked if we'd rather go for a bigger room instead). As a welcome, we found a bag of jelly bears on our pillows!
We dined "al fresco" directly onto the Castle's main court and the quiet atmosphere was a real delight after the crowds of the day. The food was delicious and well presented, prices were not higher than any other mid-range place we'd been, as we would have expected considering the location instead.
After dinner we took a short walk around and saw a small and rather old-looking wooden door that had been left ajar. We opened it and found ourselves standing on a balcony built within the Castle walls, with an unexpected and magnificent night-view over the valley and the town. It may have been that we were the only ones around but it was really breathtaking.
In the morning, the buffet breakfast was abundant and lovely.
On the whole, it was a very pleasant stay and I would definitely stay in this hotel again!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Aepplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harburg
6.3 mi away
Hotel im Ried
Hotel im Ried
#2 of 6 in Donauworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
10.2 mi away
NH Kloesterle Noerdlingen
NH Kloesterle Noerdlingen
#1 of 6 in Nordlingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
6.3 mi away
Schieners Hotel
Schieners Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wemding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Meerfraeulein
Hotel Meerfraeulein
#3 of 4 in Wemding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
6.4 mi away
Parkhotel Donauworth
Parkhotel Donauworth
#1 of 6 in Donauworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.8 mi away
Landgasthof zum Weberhans
Landgasthof zum Weberhans
#1 of 1 in Muendling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuerstliche Burgschenke Harburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuerstliche Burgschenke Harburg

Property: Fuerstliche Burgschenke Harburg
Address: Burgstr. 1, 86655, Harburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Harburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harburg
Hotel Class:2 star — Fuerstliche Burgschenke Harburg 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Fuerstliche Burgschenke Harburg Bavaria, Germany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing