We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fuerstliche Burgschenke Harburg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harburg
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“restaurant”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

It is well worth a visit.We chose not to drive and walked up the path from the village below taking in the beautiful scenery.The restaurant was well worth the climb.Decor ,food and beer was great.and can recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We found this place by accident when we needed a place to stay while traveling the Romantic Road. What a fantastic accident this turned out to be. Yes, the furniture may be a little dated, but the whole place seems to be lovingly kept up. Plus, you are staying in a CASTLE, so how could one complain! Everything was clean and comfortable. We got the room in the tower. The bedroom was in the circular tower above what used to be a prison cell. How awesome is that? After dinner we walked around the castle grounds and had the whole place to ourselves. It was like living in fairy tale.

We ate in the restaurant for dinner. Even though it was late and there was a wedding party going on, the staff sat us and provided excellent service. The food was great. I normally don't eat meat, but I did here and enjoyed it. The breakfast that came with our room rate was also very good. Everything tasted fresh and good.

We took the castle tour first thing the morning of our departure. We were the only ones there since it was so early. Our tour guide had a little trouble with English at times, but was so nice and knowledgeable that it did not matter. She obviously cared a great deal about her job and the castle, and the tour was a joy. We were provided with English language information sheets that explained things anyway. As we were finishing our tour, we noticed many people lining up to take the next tour, so I think they may be quite popular later in the day.

I loved this place so much that I would fly all the way to Germany again just to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamieberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbury
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just south of Noerdlingen on the Romantic Road lies the little town of Harburg, overlooked (I quote the Lonely Planet guide to Bavaria) by a 'humungous castle' - and the LP wasn't exaggerating one little bit. Tucked away into one corner of the castle courtyard is the Fuerstliche Burgschenke Harburg - or the Princely Harburg Inn, to give a translation. It occupies the building originally used by the Prince's castellan, who looked after the castle when his master was living in one of his other properties.

It is, basically, a restaurant with rooms: clean, welcoming and typically German. The food is first class and, once again, typically German, and the restaurant was humming with happy diners (most of them locals, always a good sign) every evening we were there. Our room was on the top floor - a long way to have to carry a suitcase, but one has to accept that lifts weren't a big thing in the 12th century - and it was clean and comfortable, if a bit on the small side. Frau Singwald showed us the tower room, which another reviewer has commented on, and it really is scrumptious; next time we are heading that way I shall try to book it. We arrived at the start of a fierce heatwave - temperatures up to 39 degrees - and (being right at the top of the building) we were pretty well broiled our first night there, we didn't mention the heat to anyone, but when we got back the following evening from a trip to Dinkelsbuehl there was a fan in our room - now that's what I call service.

Germany is not the place to visit if you're a vegetarian, but taking that into account the food was very good of its type and the staff were friendly and helpful. If you are driving down the Romantic Road, or planning a holiday in the area this is one of the best places to stay, and certainly the most atmospheric.

Room Tip: The tower room is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

If you are a fan of 70's decor ,heavy pine furniture,patterned wallpaper with a border and artificial flowers then this is the hotel for you. The bathroom was extremely small but perfectly clean and functional , however it has been many years since I have seen a shower curtain and not a screen.
The staff were very accommodating and pleasant ,the beds were clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and the food was good local fare well cooked. We would probably not stay there again as we would rather pay a little extra for surroundings more ambient for us but as a budget ,no frills,one night stop over it fits the bill. The hotel is in part of the castle but the inside of the building does not have that feel unless you count the crossed swords randomly displayed on our bedroom wall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was one of our favourite places to stay on our driving tour of Austria and Germany. We booked the tower room, which was well worth the extra cost. The breakfast was plentiful and we ate one evening meal which was also very good. You park inside the castle and it is lovely and peaceful when the day visitors have gone. We were very lucky to be the only ones on the first tour of the castle, so we were treated to a comprehensive tour in English by the excellent guide. Normally the tour is only in German, but if this is the case you obtain translation sheets.

Room Tip: The tower room is really unusual
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Just back from spending 8 days in Germany and 8 days in France. This was by far my favorite place we stayed on our trip. The reason why is quite simple, you are sleeping in a castle. The room was very comfortable and clean. I spent most of my time walking around in the courtyard and around the castle walls. The day of our leaving we took the tour of the castle which I thoroughly enjoyed. The tour was in German but our guide was very helpful and after showing the rooms to the others she would pull my wife and I aside and share information with us in English. For anyone who enjoys history I would highly recommend staying here. I’m almost certain we were in room seven. It was on the top floor in the corner of the building. I would recommend this room because it gives you great views of the courtyard.

Room Tip: I’m almost certain we were in room seven. It was on the top floor in the corner of the building. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, OK
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My husband booked this accommodation so I did not know what to expect. He told me that we were staying in a castle and I had my doubts about the authenticity of it. I was thrilled to find that the castle was a legitimate castle dating back to the 1100's. The rooms are not still in castle style- they have carpets, regular bathrooms, etc. The exterior of the castle as well as most of its interior has been preserved and I would encourage you to take the tour to see it all. It was fascinating. I was very happy we stayed here. Plus the view of the courtyard was awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harburg
10.2 mi away
NH Kloesterle Noerdlingen
NH Kloesterle Noerdlingen
#1 of 6 in Nordlingen
736 reviews
6.4 mi away
Posthotel Traube
Posthotel Traube
#4 of 6 in Donauworth
46 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Leitheim
Hotel Schloss Leitheim
#1 of 1 in Kaisheim
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Schieners Hotel
Schieners Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wemding
47 reviews
2.8 mi away
Landgasthof Weberhans
Landgasthof Weberhans
#1 of 1 in Muendling
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Zum Straussen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuerstliche Burgschenke Harburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuerstliche Burgschenke Harburg

Property: Fuerstliche Burgschenke Harburg
Address: Burgstr. 1, 86655, Harburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Harburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harburg
Hotel Class:2 star — Fuerstliche Burgschenke Harburg 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Fuerstliche Burgschenke Harburg Bavaria, Germany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing