We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location But Shows its Age”
Review of Kaiser Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaiser Hotel Sonne
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Nordlingen
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This place is right in the central Platz with a nice outdoor restaurant. Breakfast, indoors, was very good and plentiful. A bargain price. But you really feel its ancient age when walking the halls and stairs. Bathroom was old style. Room was comfortable but plain. Desk staff don't speak much English. No internet either.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeslieC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

We arrived in Nordlingen and looked for an hotel in the city center and we choose Hotel Sonne in the central square. The staff was not there when we arrived and we had to wait for a while to meet someone to talk and to ask for a room. They gave us the key of the best room and didn't record our data.
The hotel is not in very good condition, on the stairs some windows are broken and stairs are crooked, as the floor and the door. Our room was big and nice, bathroom was little and very poor but clean, as everything in the room.
Continental breakfast was included.
The position of the hotel is excellent and there is also a free car park.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeopleTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We were greeted by very friendly staff in this hotel. We stayed here for just one night on our trip along the Romantic Road in Bavaria, Germany, but wish we could have stayed for longer.

We were upgraded to a larger room I believe, so that made our stay all the more better. The rooms were spacious, with a small table and fold out couch. The rooms were very neat and clean. The bathrooms were dated, but clean and serviceable.

We were able to park free of charge in the hotel car park to the rear of the hotel. We loved being woken by the church bells from the neighbouring cathedral. That added to the charm. The breakfast was reasonable, but I had expected more from this hotel. Having said that it was perfectly OK, but nothing special.

The location is excellent. It was right in the centre of town on the Market square. Looking around town, there were considerably cheper hotels though, which also looked good enough. If I had known about them, I may have stayed there instead.

Overall, we got what we paid for and enjoyed our stay.

We did have to search high and low for 'german' food in this town. There was an over abundence of Italian restaurants / Pizzerias etc but we seemed to struggle to find any thing else. We finally foung a local hotel which did German food.

The hotel has a restaurant and also an Italian restaurant next door. It also has a wine bar downstairs.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank highburychampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We found this hotel traveling along the Romantic Road with no reservations and just using our GPS to take us to the center of town. There was a small musical fest going on in the town square when we arrived plus lots of outdoor restaurant seating with people watching the World Cup so it was a very festive feel. The hotel staff was friendly and we were able to get a large triple and a double to fit our family of 2 adults and kids 8 to 12 although we could probably have all fit in the triple. The building is very old, and a bit musty, and the large staircase in the center of it canters obviously to one side, which adds some character if you are poetic, or a sense of danger probably if you are an architect. The central location was very helpful with church just to the left and the right (if you can ignore the bells), and being right off the main square, and the marketplace which opened in the morning just next door was full of fresh fruits, musicians, sausages, cheeses and baked goods and added more character to the location. The rooms were adequate, as was the breakfast in the morning, and the free courtyard parking was convenient. Overall not a bad stay if you can ignore the church bells and don't need your room to be immaculate or modern. For our family trip as a place to stay overnight and shower and be close to the center of town in the evening and the morning, this worked out well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed in Noerdlingen for 1 night prior to traveling on to Dinkelsbuehl. The hotel Kaiser Sonne was in an excellent location and very easy to find. We walked there from the train station. Our room was large and bright and looked out over the markt/rathouse platz. . The hotel staff was friendly and spoke good english. I speak some German but rarely had to use it. They allowed us to leave our luggage with them in the PM as our bus to Dinklesbuehl was late in the PM. Overall - very happy with our choice.

BTW - Noerdlingen is a gem !!!!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Patrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

The hotel is excellently located right on the market square.
It´s in a very old building with wooden floors that sounds the like.
The room was very clean but small and basic.
The restaurant was closed at the time of our visit and only opened for breakfast.
There is adequate parking inside the hotel courtyard.
Location is everything with this hotel.
Make sure to ask for a room away from the cathedral opposite the
hotel. Its bells toll loudly every fifteen minutes all through the night

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borsgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank pylorikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nordlingen
0.1 mi away
NH Kloesterle Noerdlingen
NH Kloesterle Noerdlingen
#1 of 6 in Nordlingen
759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arthotel ANA Flair
Arthotel ANA Flair
#3 of 6 in Nordlingen
38 reviews
4.5 mi away
Landhotel Garni Engelhard
Landhotel Garni Engelhard
#1 of 1 in Kirchheim am Ries
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Schieners Hotel
Schieners Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wemding
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
JUFA Hotel Noerdlingen
JUFA Hotel Noerdlingen
#2 of 4 in Nordlingen
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiser Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiser Hotel Sonne

Address: Marktplatz 3, 86720 Nordlingen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Nordlingen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Nordlingen
Price Range: £69 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kaiser Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing