We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too close to the Town Hall”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaiser Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaiser Hotel Sonne
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nordlingen
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too close to the Town Hall”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed one night at this old hotel and did not sleep very well. The accommodation is OK, with big rooms, but the location next to the old Town Hall is not so good. The bell there strike every 15 minutes. I thought it would be turned off at midnight, like in most cities, but it went on the whole night. Luckily for me I was able to take a sleeping pill, but the other members of the family had a very light sleep. The hotel manager should have a good conversation with the mayor and tell him to enter the 21st century! The house is also in need of a good restoration as the floors and stairway are leaning dangerously. The breakfast was rather thin. The city of Nördlingen is very beautiful with a middle age wall and well worth visiting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigurdsson1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Uneven staircases, bookshelves with old books, creaking pine floors... a motto painted on the wall outside says "The emperor was a guest here, and here the guest is a king."

You come to Nördlingen for the history and atmosphere, and at Hotel Sonne that's what you get, right in the center of town.

Ample sized rooms with comfortable creaky beds and carved wooden furniture, and well functioning private bathrooms, enhance a visit to this extraordinary historical town.

Hotel restaurant serves local specialties in a room filed with artifacts of the town, and in the open area in front of the fifteenth century building it occupies.

For a view of what life in the the older Nördlingen was like, be sure to watch Ernest Kleinberg's classic film "German Farm Town" on Youtube.

Room Tip: Rooms at front face town square and main church.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank kleinber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

As commented on by others, this is a very old building right in the heart of Nordlingen. Walking the corridors are an adventure in themselves as the building has settled over the past 600 years. The main stairs are a wonder, sloping and uneven and we laughed everytime we made it to the top.As far as location as access goes, the Kaiser is very good, walking distance to everywhere, and being next to the church, impossible to get lost and not be able to walk back to the spire. Free parking is available in the rear courtyard which is a great benefit.
The rooms while comfortable are dated and a bit worn. This is the balance between a very old building with great prices, so if you are desperate for super high speed internet and gleaming white bathrooms this isn't the place for you. If you want a bit of character - give it a go. The overall feeling of the Kaiser was a bit like an old coat, comforting, a bit daggy and does the job. Bathrooms are probably a mix of 70's and 80's but functional and reasonably clean.
I have to mention breakfast - it really was excellent. It was the only place in Germany that served pretzel rolls for breakfast (by this i mean round-ish rolls made from pretzel dough), and they were superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hop3fullyL0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
155 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel was built on 1405. We took the Kaisersuite on the 1st floor [no elevator] which was a dream. You may see it in the photos. It was very big with a hall and a big bathroom.Very well equipped, without ruining its 600 years... scent.Very clean.
All furnitures were replicas of good taste and comfortable.The big surprise was the bed !.
The rest of the hotel was at the same level of taste.The staff was very polite, not speaking English which made me feel that I am not a tourist [very positive].The receptionist volunteered to bring the luggage to the room [no tip]. The breakfast was good. 100 euro
We had dinner a very nice dinner which I comment in the restaurants section.
This place isn't ruined by the tourism. We wish to visit again.

Room Tip: Room 110 KaiserSuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goumaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed in this hotel during our trip on the Romantic Road. We hadn't prebooked, found it by chance. The Hotel is in the middle of the square,view from room great, the staff were lovely. We only paid 70 euro for the night b&b. The room we stayed in was fab, very large with a lovely 4 poster bed. We had a meal in the restaurant, food was top notch! There is also a wine bar downstairs. Nordlingen nice place to look around, only fully walled city in Germany I believe, and you can walk around the top of it. Would only stay one night as most sights can be seen in one day. By the way we did notice each room slightly different, the one we had was number 10.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank orladDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This place is right in the central Platz with a nice outdoor restaurant. Breakfast, indoors, was very good and plentiful. A bargain price. But you really feel its ancient age when walking the halls and stairs. Bathroom was old style. Room was comfortable but plain. Desk staff don't speak much English. No internet either.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We arrived in Nordlingen and looked for an hotel in the city center and we choose Hotel Sonne in the central square. The staff was not there when we arrived and we had to wait for a while to meet someone to talk and to ask for a room. They gave us the key of the best room and didn't record our data.
The hotel is not in very good condition, on the stairs some windows are broken and stairs are crooked, as the floor and the door. Our room was big and nice, bathroom was little and very poor but clean, as everything in the room.
Continental breakfast was included.
The position of the hotel is excellent and there is also a free car park.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeopleTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nordlingen
0.1 mi away
NH Kloesterle Noerdlingen
NH Kloesterle Noerdlingen
#1 of 6 in Nordlingen
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel am Ring
Hotel am Ring
#5 of 6 in Nordlingen
34 reviews
4.5 mi away
Landhotel Garni Engelhard
Landhotel Garni Engelhard
#1 of 1 in Kirchheim am Ries
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Dinkelsbuehler Kunst-Stuben
Dinkelsbuehler Kunst-Stuben
#3 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
114 reviews
16.9 mi away
Deutsches Haus
Deutsches Haus
#1 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
198 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#5 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiser Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiser Hotel Sonne

Property: Kaiser Hotel Sonne
Address: Marktplatz 3, 86720 Nordlingen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Nordlingen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nordlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kaiser Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing