We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zum Pulverer

Zum Pulverer
Ranked #41 of 112 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Wine Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This little restaurant is at the end of the main street, Herrngasse near the Tower Gate. It was a short walk from our hotel and based on the reviews here I really wanted to try it out. Wife was looking for lighter fare but hey, this is not the place for that. Still she had a tomato soup with cream that was quite excellent.

I went for their signature dish, which I couldn't possibly spell for you but has been photographed on this site. A layer of pan fried potatoes, with a piece of black bread on top, covered with two pieces of very tender but lean pork loin, smothered in crispy fried onions chopped fine and topped with a fried egg. I can promise you have never had this before! Delicious and hearty. Add a drink for her, and a small beer for me and dinner was just under €20.

Waitress couldn't have been nicer, decor is rustic and charming, carved chairs and doors are very special. They have English menus but everyone was speaking German and many seemed like locals. Other restaurants around had far more tourists than natives and that usually says something.

Highly recommended. Bring an appetite and cash as they take no cards. Also it seems that by 9pm all the kitchens in town are closed so plan to come early!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank US_Expat91364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our favourite for a Franconian feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

As soon as we saw this place we fell in love with it. It looks like something straight out of Grimm's fairy tales. We spent almost as much time checking out the decor as the menu. It's cash only, so make sure you pop to the ATM first, then put your feet up and enjoy.

The menu offers a good selection of hearty local dishes cooked to perfection and served with a smile. The waitress was very knowledgable and able to recommend wines and beers from the extensive drinks menu which perfectly complemented our meals.

Like another reviewer, we were persuaded to eat here more than once. We tried the goulash which was packed with tender meat and full of flavour, the potato dumplings will have you wishing for another stomach so you'll not leave a morsel on your plate. The schnitzel was huge, tender and mouthwatering, and the roast goose breast was so melt-in-the-mouth delicious, I had dreams about it.

Even if you are just walking through the chilly streets and looking for a cosy respite, you'll find cake and coffee to revive you. Try the colonial coffee - a gorgeously naughty blend of liqueurs and coffee - along with a slice of cream cake as big as a small car, and you'll be all set for tackling the Town Hall tower steps …or maybe just a nap back at the hotel.

Oh, just one warning - you will probably need to book!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryHoundSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prata di Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
144 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“traditional German cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

after walking around for a while and checking menus at other restaurants in the historic part of town, we ended up eating here also because it was convenient; right across from our hotel. The interior design appealed to us as we walked in and asked for a table. Very rustic! My friend is Italian and I wanted her to sample some traditional German dishes. The special was oven roasted goose with red cabbage and dumplings, which we both ordered. Plenty of food and we could have had more dumplings, had we wanted them. The gravy accompanying the goose was very tasty. We ordered some 'Federweißer', first wine of the season. The wine wasn't what I remembered it to be. Too sweet to go with dinner. It would have rather been a dessert wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
157 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“So good we ate there 3 times!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

A local recommended this place to us. So we tried it on our first night in Rothenburg for dinner. All I can say is WOW! Best food we had on our 13 day tour of Germany. It was so good we went back for lunch 2 more times.

My wife loved the cheese soup served in a bread bowl. My favorite was the pork steak served over potatoes, roasted onions, a slice of dark bread and the whole thing is topped with a fried egg. It was to die for!

The server was super friendly. The atmosphere great. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mike89t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing beer selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Friendly staff, good food and nice beer selection. Only place in Rothenburg where we found Scwarzbier.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zum Pulverer also viewed

Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Zum Pulverer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing