We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Fuchsmuehle
Ranked #2 of 35 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This past summer we toured southern Germany and had the pleasure of staying with Alex and family in their mill/inn. Our entire family stayed in the top floor flat, and were soothed to sleep at night by the sound of the running waterwheel. The breakfast was a nicely rounded selection of breads, meats, cereals, fruits, and juices. During our stay the weather was unseasonable warm (above 34 degrees most days) making Rothenburg within the walls rather warm. With the Pension Fuchesmulle being located in the valley below town, the temperature seemed to be nearly 5 degrees cooler during the day, and quite tolerable for sleeping at night. We would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerrMeurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

The reviews for this location are spot on! As long as you are okay doing the walk into town (a bit steep/dark at night), this is an amazing place to stay. The rooms and service are outstanding and the breakfast was by far the best during our 3 week Europe trip.

This location is ideal for those biking along the Romantic Road. Also an excellent choice for those that like a bit more of nature (forest, river, and outdoor beer garden are all within walking distance). It gives good access to the town of Rothenburg as well as the roads/trails along the river outside of the town. We spent some of our time going into town and we spend another day renting bicycles and riding along the road right from the pension.

The pension also has a somewhat sizable library so we were able to find some additional travel books for the area and our future destinations. We helped ourselves to the complimentary coffee and spent some time "researching" what to do, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninja13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at Pension Fuchsmuehle for one night. We were 4 adults and shared a quad room. The room was huge, with vaulted ceiling and windows that open, and hardwood floors. We had one double bed and two single beds, a table with 4 chairs, and a separate small living room with couch and TV. The breakfast was excellent and healthy. The reason we chose the Pension is to be able to walk up the trail to the fortified medieval town of Rothenburg and to come back at night with our head lamps. It was a lot of fun and beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loloP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Driving around the old city walls down to the lower valley was the first delight of our stay at Pension Fuchsmuehle. From the stone- walled entrance, flowing river nearby, to the quaint water wheel seen from the window of the breakfast room, this is a place to step back in time and savour the ambience of the old world. The room was large and comfortable for the price. We walked at night up the paved path to enjoy the quiet streets of Rothenburg. It was steep but not too difficult.
The room was clean, the bathroom was fine, the bed was not the best we had but certainly adequate for the price. The location was stunning. We made the most of our day in the old city but I would have liked a 2nd day to hike in the Tauber valley around this little hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Rothenburg ob der Tauber is a beautiful medieval town, that you should not miss. The Pension is just at the foot of the hill, nice walking though the forest to the town. Room are very clean, huge and quiet. The buffet breakfast is ample and tasty. The owners are really nice and friendly. I stayed there with my son and would highly recommend to families or anybody wanting to stay a few days in that neighborhood.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ijjuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a beautifully renovated corn-mill by the river in the Tauber valley just outside the town walls.
We were given a town map and directed to the path up to town. We chose the steep walk but there is always the option of driving. We were offered a torch in case we wanted to walk back when it was dark.
We were apprehensive that the water wheel was turning and might disturb our sleep but it is stopped at night.
The breakfast was good value at €7 and we were allowed to leave our car for a couple of hours after checking out.

I slept very well but those who sleep on their backs might find the bed too soft.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beemerboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Pension Fuchsmuehle is a lovely family-run bed & breakfast set in a charming location next to the river. We were greeted by Alex who was very friendly and helpful, and showed us to our room which was very spacious, clean and comfortable.

We only stayed one night but made the most of our time in Rothenburg by climbing the steep hill over the river early on the first evening to take a wander around and enjoy dinner. Yes it is a steep climb, but to me it adds to the special charm of this place.

Breakfast the next morning was very good and then we set off back up the hill to enjoy Rothenburg some more before moving on. We were able to leave our car parked at the pension which was great.

Pension Fuchsmuehle represented excellent value – it was one of the cheapest places we stayed in our month long European visit – and it was definitely one of the best. A special place we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmhs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#22 of 45 in Rothenburg
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Fuchsmuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Fuchsmuehle

Address: Taubertalweg 103 | Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range: £58 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Fuchsmuehle 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuchsmuehle in the Medieval town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber offers country-style rooms with free Wi-Fi internet. The historic Old Town is just a 15-minute walk away.Decorated in warm colour schemes, all of the rooms at Fuchsmuehle come equipped with satellite TV channels and a private bathroom.A breakfast buffet featuring organic and fair trade products can be booked for each morning.Drivers are welcome to use the guest house’s free parking spaces, and the A7 motorway is just 4.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pension Fuchsmuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing