We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
yorks
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A true delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

A great welcome at a beautiful hotel in this picturesque town. Nothing was too much trouble - other comments regarding service are absolutely correct. The hotel is very comfortable, the food great and everyone really gives the impression that they care and want to thoroughly enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjdMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    24
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
142
443
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

The staff was exceptional from the moment we arrived to our departure. The food was superb and the room was one of the best we've ever stayed in. Beautifully appointed, sparkling clean, quiet and comfortable. When we travel, we like to intersperse really nice hotels every few nights so we can be pampered and be sure of a good night's sleep and a great shower to rejuvenate. The Hotel Herrnschlosschen was perfect for that. Just one complaint: we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gjustice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

The hotel is amazing!

fantastic service in an amazing location.

staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the rooms are stunning.

food was also first class i really can't believe that this hotel is so well priced it was great!

Thankyou so much for making our stay such a memorable one!

Room Tip: stayed in i think it was the "apple room"- great size and very cute- highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dk2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Clean, beautiful, medieval, architecturally stimulating (thanks to age, thoughtful design elements
and great maintenance); warm reception, needs anticipated and supported, kind eyes with
friendly smiles; quality sheets, fantastic sauna arrangement; cobbled street and very private
garden (used even in slight rain for the revere of smoking and sipping); breakfast as continental
or, as American as you like; then, three steps after leaving for further medieval investigations in
town...hearing organ music from the church across the way. Magic has happened, a fairy tale
(your's) has begun all due to Herrnschlosschen. Advise: be sure to look into and through their mirrors; and, walk the city wall! Ps. Home-like, not slick.

Room Tip: Study the pictures. They match the rooms well. Rooms face a garden or the street. I was not often i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

The night prior to my arrival in Rothenburg I made a reservation at this hotel, specifying that I was traveling with a dog. I received an email the next morning from them saying that they didn't allow dogs. I wrote them back saying that was fine, they should cancel the reservation. They refused! They said that although I specified that I was with a dog, that it was too late (7 hours after I made the reservation) and that they would not refund my money. They were extraordinarily rude and uncooperative.

It was only after several more emails and a personal visit by my wife (who is German) that they agreed to refund my money

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank foodiemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Definitely eat dinner here if you stay at the hotel. The lamb was amazing and the service was great. It is the perfect location for walking around town and visiting the park. The rooms were very quiet and I loved the welcome drink!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
266 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Located in the heart of Rothenburg, the hotel has beautifully appointed rooms. The service is exceptional and our dinner was of Michelin star quality. Breakfast was simply spectacular, the best I have enjoyed in many years. The hosts are kind and do everything to make the visit a success. The chef made up a delicious salad for my wife that wasn't on the menu. I seldom rave about a hotel but this was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuck22SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herrnschloesschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Property: Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Address: Herrngasse 20, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Herrnschloesschen 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, see and enjoy the new herrnschlösschen, a charming trilogy of hotel, restaurant and garden. During your stay in one of Rothenburgs´ oldest houses, you will definitely sense the outstanding level of hospitality. The unique combination of history and modern spirit is most fascinating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Herrnschloesschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing